Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 00:41 30 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Solar : Solar electric hot water conversion

Page 1 of 2    
Gizmo

Admin Group

Posted: 12:33am 13 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi

I've been running a thrown together hot water system for a few years. It used a 330 litre tank, a couple water heating solar panels, a pump and controller. It worked ok, but for a couple of months in winter it struggled to even warm the water, and I had to cover the panels each night to stop them freezing as it often goes below zero here. Fortunately I have a on demand gas hot water heater I can switch in when the solar water heater isn't up to the job.

After some interest on the forum regarding heating water electrically, I decided to go down that path. Second hand solar panels are very abundant and cheap here in Australia, a side effect of people upgrading their grid connected solar plans. I bought 7 230watt 60 cell panels for $55 each from a guy on Facebook, and a 1000watt 48 volt heater element for about $84 delivered from https://ringhotwater.com.au/.

The existing 330litre tank was getting rusty, so swapped it for a near new 120litre tank I picked up at a clearing sale for $20.

Mounted 6 of the solar panels in a series parallel setup, plumbed in the tank with the new element fitted and wired it up. I used a 100 amp relay, driven by 12 volts from a plug pack on a timer. This 12v was switched by the water tanks existing thermostat. All worked fine the first day, the tank was heater up to 70c from cold in about 6 hours. Next day, it wouldnt work. The relay had gone open circuit, on closer inspection, the contacts had vaporised.