Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 00:04 19 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Armmite H7: 5.05.11: 4096 byte battery backed RAM

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8566
Posted: 06:05pm 09 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I've enabled the 4096 bytes of RAM that the H743 has in the RTC domain and that can be kept alive by the RTC battery. This is proper RAM so can be written and read as many times as you want and as quickly as you want.

ArmmiteH7-5.05.11.zip


New function MM.BACKUP – this just returns the address of the battery backed RAM to avoid remembering it - &H38800000

Then just use PEEK AND POKE, remember peek and poke now support INTEGER and FLOAT (8 bytes each and must be on 8 byte boundary) as well as WORD (4-byte boundary) and BYTE

Example:

POKE FLOAT MM.BACKUP+16, 72.345

Power off, then power on

? PEEK(FLOAT MM.BACKUP+16)
72.345
>
 
twofingers
Guru

Joined: 02/06/2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1133
Posted: 06:32pm 09 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sound like a great innovation!
Thanks a lot, Peter!
Regards Michael
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1646
Posted: 07:32pm 09 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Man, I need you to send me your Xmas list  

Soooo much appreciated, Pete.

Regards,

Craig.
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1345
Posted: 09:21pm 09 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Tinine said  Man, I need you to send me your Xmas list  

Soooo much appreciated, Pete.

Regards,

Craig.


X 10  

Mike.
It's all too hard.
Mike.
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1646
Posted: 05:48pm 10 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Anyone else tried the latest firmware @540? Mine doesn't run. 480 is still OK though.
And yeah, I get those odd characters at the first prompt.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8566
Posted: 06:10pm 10 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The "odd" characters are an escape sequence that tells the terminal to ignore mouse commands.

This is a no win one. If I remove the escape sequence then leaving the editor by resetting can leave the terminal getting mouse commands and then you will really see some strange sequences. Perhaps that only happens to me while developing. Using teraterm or putty you won't see the sequences because they understand them.

Try this:

ArmmiteH7-V5.05.11.zip

works perfectly for me on a ZI2 at 540MHz
Edited 2019-11-11 04:11 by matherp
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1646
Posted: 07:23pm 10 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Oh heck, only just saw this and I just left the plant.

Will test tomorrow.

The random characters are not an issue at all, just an FYI.

Many thanks, Pete. I never thought I'd use the words fast and interpreter in the same sentence. This is looking seriously good  

Cheers,

Craig
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1345
Posted: 02:08am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

FYI in case you missed the discussion on the ESC codes here: Link  to thread

Again I can confirm that Tera Term hides the ESC sequence and I also trapped it in the control options program I use.

Mike.
It's all too hard.
Mike.
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1345
Posted: 03:56am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

New H7-V5.05.11 file posted above by Peter.

H7 ZI calibrates and runs any application at 540 Mhz

H7 Z2 runs at 560 MHz, didn't try higher.

USB wireless Keyboard works on both rock sold

Actually it's better on the Z2 now as I can even hot plug the tiny USB keyboard RX dongle.

Mike.
Edited 2019-11-11 13:57 by KeepIS
It's all too hard.
Mike.
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1345
Posted: 04:15am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well this is strange, the BIN file posted above is an old version V5.05.09

I Noticed it when there was no part millisecond display from reading the timer command, so checked version and it's older as above.

Reloaded the previous downloaded version labeled the same version and it's indeed H7-V5.05.11.

?MM.VER  5.0511

Reading timer is back to the improved resolution.
 
Mike.
Edited 2019-11-11 14:18 by KeepIS
It's all too hard.
Mike.
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5878
Posted: 04:31am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just to clarify the visible escape code in MMEdit

MMEdit has 3 modes.
ASCII will show ALL characters including VT escape codes
Likewise for HEX mode.
VT mode should not display VT codes even though there are plenty that it doesn't understand.
IF you are using VT mode for anything other than brief tests, I would strongly advice to use TeraTerm.

Use MMEdit when you do want to see the raw data.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8566
Posted: 08:19am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Well this is strange, the BIN file posted above is an old version V5.05.09


Ooops  

Try again:


ArmmiteH7-5.05.11.zip
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1345
Posted: 09:21pm 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Not wanting to be pedantic but, can I clarify the correct file.

The Zipped BIN file that I'm currently using has a later time stamp and is a larger file size:


2019-11-11_040901_ArmmiteH7-V5.05.11.zip  

Contains:

ArmmiteH7-V5.05.11.bin -> 11/11/2019 12:05:39 PM -> 825 kB



The Zipped BIN file in your last post is an earlier file time stamp and a smaller size.


2019-11-11_181936_ArmmiteH7-5.05.11.zip

Contains:

ArmmiteH7-5.05.11.bin -> 11/11/2019 9:14:44 AM  -> 773 kB

 
Mike.
It's all too hard.
Mike.
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8566
Posted: 02:00pm 12 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The latest .bin is correct. The size difference is due to a different optimisation that was part of the solution to the keyboard at high clock speeds
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1646
Posted: 03:32pm 12 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Observation: Float multiplications appear to be significantly faster than integer on the H7  
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1345
Posted: 02:26am 16 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  I've enabled the 4096 bytes of RAM that the H743 has in the RTC domain and that can be kept alive by the RTC battery. This is proper RAM so can be written and read as many times as you want and as quickly as you want.

Then just use PEEK AND POKE, remember peek and poke now support INTEGER and FLOAT (8 bytes each and must be on 8 byte boundary) as well as WORD (4-byte boundary) and BYTE


Just been playing around with this new feature, it's brilliant and I can see so many uses for this now.

Mike.
It's all too hard.
Mike.
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1646
Posted: 08:50am 16 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Apologies if you've already covered this Mike but what battery are you using?
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 1345
Posted: 08:54pm 16 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm using a small AA sized Li-ion 2.6Ah 3.7v (solder tag case).

Edit for context: This battery is used in my H7 based Automated timber routing Controller. The battery keeps three digital linear position sensor micros powered for months at a time (micro amperes) to retain their Zero offset data and also keep track of any physical hardware position changes between machine usage cycles. Therefore I also make use of it to power the ArmH7 inbuilt RTC.

Mike.
Edited 2019-11-17 08:04 by KeepIS
It's all too hard.
Mike.
 
lew247

Guru

Joined: 23/12/2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1676
Posted: 02:45pm 29 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Is this the last update for the H7?
I can't find any later versions
or has this been discontinued because of the CMM2?

I've been trying to find a version of the H7 that has the ability to display graphics with the possibility of vga graphics
I've found the STM32H743ZIT6U which seems to be ideal as it has the graphics capabilities to generate vga, has a 480Mhz cpu and would be ideal for making a very high spec mm device.
Would it be possible/practical to have this chip running mm with all the functions that the latest version of MMbasic has? but include things like json parsing, wget, and other internet commands that might be needed if someone was to add a wifi interface to it?

I've seen others wanting a version of the cmm2 but with the mm command set on it, this chip (to me) seems ideal

It would be easy enough to design a board with this on it that has all the output pins available on headers, it could even be designed to take "pi hats" as there are many of those, and header pins to add a vga interface if anyone wanted it as well as ssd1963 and ILI9341/841 etc type displays, micro sd card, ram, usb and other periphials

or am I just dreaming of a device which will never be
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8566
Posted: 02:57pm 29 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Is this the last update for the H7?


Yes, it is fully functional and currently requires no updating.

The ArmmiteH7 is designed as a high speed embedded controller and has a command set targetted for that - basically the MM+ with extra goodies
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024