Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 16:45 18 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Digital potentiometer?

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
goc30

Guru

Joined: 12/04/2017
Location: France
Posts: 425
Posted: 01:54am 11 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware2 said  I have only used the 28 pin
and remember no problems .


in my prog, I have some times, bad value. Not big error, but bad (like 0.1 to 0.2v error) and after it give good value. It is an random small error.
to morrow I give you all my results on test prog
 
hitsware2

Guru

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 705
Posted: 03:52am 11 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There is bound to be some small error in the resistance.
As with any resistance ( temperature as one factor )
Look Here
Edited 2020-04-11 13:57 by hitsware2
my site
 
goc30

Guru

Joined: 12/04/2017
Location: France
Posts: 425
Posted: 08:22am 11 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

hi

my values on test with mx170 28 pins
pot is between 3.3v and gnd
pot=1 give 3.v


const pincs=26  'Chip Select
const pinrel=16  'I have led on this pin
const pinvl=6  'analog pin in

dim i as integer
dim valpot as integer
dim valin as float

setpin pinrel,DOUT
SetPin pincs,dout
setpin pinvl, ain

Pin(pincs)=1
Pin(pinrel)=1
valpot=&h1  'value to output

SetTick 500, task1,1    ' task toggle led each 500ms
do
Pin(pincs)=0  'active cs
SPI open 10000000,0,16  'spi mode 0 in 16b
spi write 1,valpot   'adresse 0 + value
Pin(pincs)=1
SPI close
valpot=valpot+1
if valpot=>256 then valpot=1
pause(50)
  valin=pin(pinvl)
 print "pot=";str$(valpot);"   lue:";str$(valin)
loop


sub task1()
pin(pinrel)=(pin(pinrel) xor 1)
end sub


result

pot=3   read:3.2371
pot=4   read:3.11505
pot=5   read:3.1828
pot=6   read:3.21344
pot=7   read:3.27366  <--- error
pot=8   read:3.11129
pot=9   read:3.18064  <--- error
pot=10   read:3.13441
pot=11   read:3.1543  <--- error
pot=12   read:3.04892
pot=13   read:2.93226
pot=14   read:2.82151
pot=15   read:2.9914   <--- error
pot=16   read:2.82796
pot=17   read:2.87204  <--- error
pot=18   read:2.73763
pot=19   read:2.91398   <--- error
pot=20   read:2.88118  <--- error
pot=21   read:2.73387
pot=22   read:2.7172
pot=23   read:2.82527  <--- error
pot=24   read:2.67634
...



same prog in explorer64

RUN
pot=2   lue:3.251612856
pot=3   lue:3.224731136
pot=4   lue:3.199999954
pot=5   lue:3.174193503
pot=6   lue:3.148387051
pot=7   lue:3.1225806
pot=8   lue:3.096774149
pot=9   lue:3.070967698
pot=10   lue:3.045161246
pot=11   lue:3.019354795
pot=12   lue:2.995161247
pot=13   lue:2.968279527
pot=14   lue:2.941935441
pot=15   lue:2.918817162
pot=16   lue:2.893548345
pot=17   lue:2.867741894
pot=18   lue:2.841935443
pot=19   lue:2.816666626
pot=20   lue:2.793010712
pot=21   lue:2.767741895
pot=22   lue:2.741935444
pot=23   lue:2.716128993
pot=24   lue:2.692473079
pot=25   lue:2.664516091
pot=26   lue:2.640860177
pot=27   lue:2.616128994



Edited 2020-04-11 18:40 by goc30
 
goc30

Guru

Joined: 12/04/2017
Location: France
Posts: 425
Posted: 09:21am 23 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Tinine said  @goc30
Is there a known problem with the SPI on the 28 pinner? It's this device that I am intending to use.

Regards,

Craig



I found the origin of my value imprecision problem with digital pot.
this comes from the fact that I had not wired the 8Mghz quartz (with 2x22pf), so everything was more or less unstable. With quartz it became correct
 
goc30

Guru

Joined: 12/04/2017
Location: France
Posts: 425
Posted: 06:43am 24 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  goc30 said  

I found the origin of my value imprecision problem with digital pot.
this comes from the fact that I had not wired the 8Mghz quartz (with 2x22pf), so everything was more or less unstable. With quartz it became correct


after doing a reverse test, it seems that the problem would not come from the presence or not of quartz, but perhaps from an instability of my power supply.
I will continue to test other configurations to find out where the problem comes from

Matherp

chip select on 26 or on 22 take same result
Edited 2020-04-24 16:45 by goc30
 
goc30

Guru

Joined: 12/04/2017
Location: France
Posts: 425
Posted: 01:41pm 25 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I confirm that after several tests, the problem concerning the imprecision of the output values, came from the poor quality of power converter

So be careful to choose this kind of circuit
for information: circuit to avoid
 
CaptainBoing

Guru

Joined: 07/09/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1984
Posted: 08:28pm 25 Apr 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

SM PSUs of all types can be noisy. I replaced a mains 9V PSU in a Rugby MSF clock for my mother with one of these type of modules and it couldn't lock onto the time source at all. Took it out and built up one using a transformer, bridge and a 7809 regulator... good as gold, locked on right away.

I suspect PSU in most cases where weird stuff is happening - not always on the money but a good portion of the time.

Definitely still room for a good old-fashioned linear PSU.
Edited 2020-04-26 06:29 by CaptainBoing
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024