Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 15:39 20 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : CMM2: Page Copying vs. Swapping

Page 1 of 2    
Nelno

Posted: 02:15am 24 Jan 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm new to the CMM2, so forgive me for anything I've gotten wrong here.

After a few nights of reading through CMM2 documentation and fiddling with some BASIC programs to figure out different ways of synching to refresh to avoid any tearing (and having varying results -- what I have is still not perfect across all modes), I'm wondering why there's no actual page swap capability.

The reason I'd like a swap is, of course, to avoid the copy from other pages to page 0. While the copies do seem fairly optimized, it's still costly, taking anywhere from 2.5 ms to and up. (I'm copying in the mode command's vblank callback right now, so I'm not sure what other threads of execution this might be blocking right now, but it's certainly time spent somewhere).

From reading Peter Mather's excellent post on CMM2 graphics, my understanding is that this is probably because there's only 512KB of STM32H743IIT6 to allocate to the frontbuffer.

Assuming the LTDC's read address can be updated during a vertical blank to point to another page, is the speed of the SDRAM just too slow to support refreshing the screen directly from SDRAM?

Even if that is the case, it seems that two 640x400 pages would fit perfectly in the 512KB allocated for the frontbuffer now, so this might be a reasonable approach for that mode (swapping instantaneously between two 640x400 pages, each 256KB in size). Clearly, there would be even more pages available for 320x200 modes.