Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 19:00 19 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : PicoMiteVGA does 3D

Author Message
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8567
Posted: 07:54am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Coming soon
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9051
Posted: 07:57am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Very interesting!  
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 372
Posted: 08:22am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,

impressive how smooth this works! Before I clicked the video I thought it would be more like 2-3 frames per second. Just impressive!

Greetings
Daniel
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8567
Posted: 09:06am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The video is with CPUSPEED at 126MHz. At 252MHz it is doing 60FPS, i.e. it is limited by the VGA refresh rate
 
Bleep
Guru

Joined: 09/01/2022
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 409
Posted: 09:35am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I can see I'm going to have to build a PicoMiteVGA; maybe I'll try Mixtel90, as he's in the UK, see if he's got any spare boards? :-)
Edited 2022-05-22 19:37 by Bleep
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3496
Posted: 10:49am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nice Peter!
What subset of CMM2 have you ported?
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8567
Posted: 11:23am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

One more demo before I tidy the code

Now with added layer

Note the complete absence of flicker
Edited 2022-05-22 21:24 by matherp
 
Mixtel90

Guru

Joined: 05/10/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5705
Posted: 11:30am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Both demos are very impressive! :)
And that's on a PicoMite VGA? lol!  It's not supposed to do that, Peter...


@Bleep
I'm sure we can find something..
(If you are too impatient to wait for the next version. :) )
Mick

Zilog Inside! nascom.info for Nascom & Gemini
Preliminary MMBasic docs & my PCB designs
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8567
Posted: 11:40am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Code for second demo

For i=0 To MM.HRes-1 Step 10
 Line i,0,i,MM.VRes-1
Next
For i=0 To MM.VRes-1 Step 10
 Line 0,i,MM.HRes-1,i
Next
FRAMEBUFFER create
FRAMEBUFFER layer
FRAMEBUFFER write f
j=0
Do
 y=Sin(Rad(0+j))*MM.VRes\3+MM.VRes\2
 For i=1 To MM.HRes-1
   yp=Sin(Rad(i+j))*MM.VRes\3+MM.VRes\2
   Line i,y,i,yp,1,RGB(green)
   y=yp
 Next
 Inc j
 FRAMEBUFFER copy f,l,b
 CLS
Loop
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3830
Posted: 11:40am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Mixtel90 said  Both demos are very impressive! :)
And that's on a PicoMite VGA? lol!  It's not supposed to do that, Peter...


Wonderful programming, and I don't want to take anything away from Peter's achievements, but of course it can do it with sufficient firmware support. It's a 100+ MHz CPU, I remember X-Wing running on a 486 DX-33. Assuming you aren't loathe to use CSUBs and you don't mind the resolution and colour depth limitations then within the scope of programs manageable by a single developer the limiting factor on what can be achieved with the PicoMite VGA is the limited memory, and with fast storage even that is manageable ... the one exception (I think) being fully double-buffering the screen.

YMMV.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3830
Posted: 11:43am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  matherp said  Code for second demo


... OK, that looks like you've found enough memory to double-buffer the screen ? I'm assuming that's using 320 x 240 / 2 / 1024 = 37.5 K of the variable RAM.

Or am I making a fool of myself ?

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8567
Posted: 11:47am 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1773
Posted: 12:35pm 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

These are excellent enhancements.

For the layers, I can imagine often only one colour might be needed per layer. So borrowing from the Mode 1 Tiles idea, could the option of assigning a single colour to each layer be available to save memory? Or is that pushing things too far?
 
Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 372
Posted: 04:02pm 22 May 2022
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Some time ago I read that there will be NO MMBASIC for the Raspberry Pi Pico and now we have gotten so far, thanks to everyone involved! This is so amazing!

Greetings
Daniel
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024