Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 04:15 08 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Doctor for bricked AVRs

vasi

Guru

Posted: 10:21am 30 Mar 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

As a beginner, I bricked an ATmega32 40 pin microcontroller. It was my first attempt of going beyond Wiring language. The story is a little longer but to tell only a summary, I tried to write something on a 16x2 LCD using some "C" example. I got only garbage on display so, as a Microchip PIC programmer, I thought it may have something to do with the frequency settings (as you do bit configuration inside PIC). Of course, I got the fuse bits wrong and ignoring a warning message, I disabled the possibility to program the chip any further and disabled also the reset capability because my "math" was "correct" and I knew "better" than anyone. I threw the chip in my toolbox, got an ATmega644P to transform it into a Sanguino, and this time, I got it right.

But I want to use also the ATmega32 as I need to test the portability of my libraries/applications so, I searched for a parallel, high voltage programmer as it is the only method to revive an ATmega. I found that any option regarding a full featured HVP programmer is expensive or relatively difficult to build. So, I tried to find some automated "revivers". Those are some kind of HVP programmers but they manage only the fuse part (erasing chip, reading, writing, verifying fuses). It does need only a 12Vcc power supply as the firmware inside contains a little database about the chips it covers.