Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 20:59 07 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Maximum size of IF/ENDIF routines?

Author Message
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9067
Posted: 07:18pm 04 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

FULL SIZE MAXIMITE - NOT MICROMITE!

I have run into this error a few times with large IF/ENDIF routines:

[304]Error: IF without matching ENDIF

This despite there being an endif at the end:

[code]
if asc(key$)=148 then
MenuBox (Blue)
Font 2:Print @(50,17) + CLR$(Yellow) "READ A LOG:":Font 1
Print @(25,65) + CLR$(Purple) "CURRENT LOGFILE IS:"
Print @(25,75) + CLR$(White) Mid$(LFILE$,8,7)
Print @(17,100) + CLR$(Green) "Enter date of logfile you want to"
Print @(17,115) + CLR$(Green) "read. Press [ENTER] to read the"
print @(17,130) + clr$(Green) "current log, or [ESC] to exit."
Print @(25,160) + CLR$(White) "--> "
GETIN (50,160,DEFAULT,1)
if giflag<>0 then goto start
if lin$="" then lin$=mid$(LFILE$,8,7)
FN$="B:\LOG\" + lin$ + ".LOG"
Mode 2,1:settick 0,DAT,1:Cls:FlagMode=1
Open FN$ For input As #3
If MM.Errno<>0 Then goto errors
RESET (0)
DO
Font 2:Print @(150,5) + CLR$(Red,Yellow) "ACTIVITY LOG:":Font 1
Print ""
For x=1 To 27
Line Input #3, T$
If T$="" Then
close #3
Font 2
Print @(50,360) + CLR$(Red) "No more data in the logfile."
Print @(1,380) + CLR$(Black,Yellow) "Press any key to return to the menu."
timer=0
Do
key$=Inkey$
if loc(#2)<>0 then mode 4:goto Activity
Loop Until key$<>"" or Timer>=HALFMIN
RESET (1):goto start
else
Print clr$(Green) T$
Next
Font 2:Print @(1,380) + CLR$(Black,Yellow) "SPACE = more, any other key to abort."
Font 1:timer=0
Do:key$=Inkey$:Loop Until key$<>"" or Timer>=HALFMIN
If Asc(key$)<>32 Then RESET (1):goto start
cls
loop
endif
[/code]

However, if I take this large routine, and plop it under a label, it runs fine:

[code]
ViewLog:
MenuBox (Blue)
Font 2:Print @(50,17) + CLR$(Yellow) "READ A LOG:":Font 1
Print @(25,65) + CLR$(Purple) "CURRENT LOGFILE IS:"
Print @(25,75) + CLR$(White) Mid$(LFILE$,8,7)
Print @(17,100) + CLR$(Green) "Enter date of logfile you want to"
Print @(17,115) + CLR$(Green) "read. Press [ENTER] to read the"
print @(17,130) + clr$(Green) "current log, or [ESC] to exit."
Print @(25,160) + CLR$(White) "--> "
GETIN (50,160,DEFAULT,1)
if giflag<>0 then goto start
if lin$="" then lin$=mid$(LFILE$,8,7)
FN$="B:\LOG\" + lin$ + ".LOG"
Mode 2,1:settick 0,DAT,1:Cls:FlagMode=1
Open FN$ For input As #3
If MM.Errno<>0 Then goto errors
RESET (0)
DO
Font 2:Print @(150,5) + CLR$(Red,Yellow) "ACTIVITY LOG:":Font 1
Print ""
For x=1 To 27
Line Input #3, T$
If T$="" Then
close #3
Font 2
Print @(50,360) + CLR$(Red) "No more data in the logfile."
Print @(1,380) + CLR$(Black,Yellow) "Press any key to return to the menu."
timer=0
Do
key$=Inkey$
if loc(#2)<>0 then mode 4:goto Activity
Loop Until key$<>"" or Timer>=HALFMIN
RESET (1):goto start
else
Print clr$(Green) T$
Next
Font 2:Print @(1,380) + CLR$(Black,Yellow) "SPACE = more, any other key to abort."
Font 1:timer=0
Do:key$=Inkey$:Loop Until key$<>"" or Timer>=HALFMIN
If Asc(key$)<>32 Then RESET (1):goto start
cls
loop
[/code]

In the above example, I just have IF ASC(KEY$)=148 THEN GOTO ViewLog

I was hunting around in the manual for MMBASIC - page 16 lists a lot of the can's and cant's, but I do not see anything there about the maximum length of an IF/ENDIF routine.

Obviously, MMBASIC does not like the taste of these kinds of routines past a certain point, as I have had this "Error" several times, as routines get bigger and bigger, then trip that error saying there is no endif when there is.

It is a very easy fix - move all the code under a label like I have done, and then refer the IF/THEN to the label, but I would be interested to know how long IF/ENDIF type routines can be....


Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
paceman
Guru

Joined: 07/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1328
Posted: 07:53pm 04 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think in the first listing you're missing an ENDIF in this section aren't you Grogs.
If T$="" Then
close #3
Font 2
Print @(50,360) + CLR$(Red) "No more data in the logfile."
Print @(1,380) + CLR$(Black,Yellow) "Press any key to return to the menu."
timer=0
Do
key$=Inkey$
if loc(#2)<>0 then mode 4:goto Activity
Loop Until key$<>"" or Timer>=HALFMIN
RESET (1):goto start
else
Print clr$(Green) T$

All the other IF's are one liners, apart from the first so they don't count.

Greg
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9067
Posted: 08:35pm 04 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Bloody hell, Greg - you are so right - totally missed that one!

Another bug squashed - thanks.

I moved the routine back to within the IF/ENDIF, but with the extra ENDIF needed, and bugger me - it works fine!

Yay! - Thanks for the prod.

I would still like to know if there is any limitation on how big these routines can grow within a single IF/THEN/ELSE/ENDIF structure....Edited by Grogster 2014-04-06
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5915
Posted: 09:25pm 04 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I don't think the size would be a problem but there is a limit to the number of nested loops.
From the micromite manual:

Maximum number of nested FOR…NEXT loops is 10.
Maximum number of nested DO…LOOP commands is 10.
Maximum number of nested GOSUBs is 30.
Maximum number of nested multiline IF…ELSE…ENDIF commands is 10.

The Maximite also has limits.

Jim
Edited by TassyJim 2014-04-06
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3165
Posted: 12:58pm 05 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There is no limit to the number of lines that you can have within a single IF/THEN/ELSE/ENDIF structure (other than program memory space).

Geoff
Geoff Graham - http://geoffg.net
 
shoebuckle
Senior Member

Joined: 21/01/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 189
Posted: 06:02pm 05 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Running your code through one of the formatting programs, Format.bas in MMLib or loading into MMEdit, will often find an error for you, as in this case, as the resulting indentation will not be as expected.
Cheers,
Hugh
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9067
Posted: 08:51pm 05 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi there - entire code developed inside of MMEdit, with full indenting, but the bug was still missed.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
panky

Guru

Joined: 02/10/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 1098
Posted: 11:12pm 06 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hey Grog,

Absolutely no offence meant but your code looks pretty convoluted - we used to call it spaghetti code1 It would be a lot easier for both yourself and anyone else assisting you if you made more use of subroutines and tried to limit multiple exits out of loops (the old contentious goto argument).

Modular code, while taking some practise to get used to, makes program support just so much easier.

Again, no offence meant.

Regards, Doug.

... almost all of the Maximites, the MicromMites, the MM Extremes, the ArmMites, the PicoMite and loving it!
 
BobD

Guru

Joined: 07/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 935
Posted: 11:18pm 06 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Panky,
that sounds like an opening for a smart young man. What about putting together a few tips for Grogs and the rest of us.
Bob
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9067
Posted: 11:30pm 06 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Seconded, although, in MY case, it is planned to be closed source, so I don't really care that much if it is "Convoluted", so long as I can understand it!

However, the above notwithstanding, please do impart your specific ideas.
I already have the main parts inside subs, so thought it was reasonably slick anyway, considering that before, I had GOTO's all over the place...

Example: NONE of the IF/THEN/ELSE/ENDIF routines existed at all - it was all goto this, and goto that. I understand that GOTO is considered bad coding practise, so I moved(and learnt how to) all the the major routines inside IF/THEN loops, and did away with the GOTO's.

All this is working fine now, but apparently, I still am not doing it right... *sigh*
Edited by Grogster 2014-04-08
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
MOBI
Guru

Joined: 02/12/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 819
Posted: 12:20am 07 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Its always a slap in the ego when someone picks on your hard thought out programming that you were immensely proud of, but if you can learn from it, you will be a better programmer for it.
David M.
 
Grogster

Admin Group

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 9067
Posted: 12:15pm 07 Apr 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Oh, I'm not offended, and panky was very clear that no offence was to be taken, so I fully acknowledge that obviously it needs some tidy up.

I would still like panky to chime in here with thoughts on what parts of the code I listed, shuold be subs. I already have subs for getting the keypress with a timeout(GETIN) and for enabling or disabling the reset button(RESET). The RESET sub just enables and disables the interrupt on the reset button, which calls a WATCHDOG 1 command to reset the PIC32. I did it like this, cos we DON'T want someone pressing reset, while the SD card is being written primarily, but I simple elected to prevent the reset button from doing anything, if ANY card reading or writing was going on. I also use it in other parts of the code, like in the example above, so that you can disable the reset button in certain screens.Edited by Grogster 2014-04-08
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024