Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 11:40 07 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : pin soldering problem

Page 1 of 2    
klsmurf

Posted: 04:57am 04 May 2017
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi all,

Newbie here. I have one of Grogster's E-28 modules and have soldered the header pins on.

Never done this before, but it seemed to go well and all looked good. I tested the

pins and found a couple that didn't work. I re-melted the solder, but that didn't help.

I'm looking for suggestions and mind you I have no special tools.

This is just a hobby/learning tool, so if I loose a couple of pins, no big deal.

One of the pins however, is pin 3 and this is SPI out on this board. I have a small

touch screen I was going to connect. Am I now SOL or is there a work around.

Thanks Kevin

WhiteWizzard
Guru

Posted: 06:44am 04 May 2017
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Kevin, and welcome onboard

There are a couple of versions of the E28 - any chance you can take a quick picture of your module (nothing fancy!).

If it is the newer version (it has a larger SOIC version of the PIC rather than a small square QFN PIC) then is it possible for you to also just run your iron over the PIC pins. Occasionally these may get missed during manufacture (rarely - but possible).

By the way - 'SOL' ? Sorry - trying to work it out

WW
For everything Micromite visit micromite.org

Direct Email: whitewizzard@micromite.o

klsmurf

Posted: 09:16am 04 May 2017
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi WW

It's a QFN chip and they all look to be soldered. By the way, I have no clue how you guys solder those chips.