Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 02:25 24 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Electronics : I wasn't even hunting - but look what I bagged!

Page 1 of 2    
rogerdw
Guru

Posted: 01:37pm 05 Aug 2021
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I mentioned this on another thread but thought I'd expand over here as it may interest others looking for toroids.

I went to order some sheet metal and have some bending done for my solar heater project and the guy was quite interested and asked lots of questions. Seems he lives off grid out in the scrub and has an interest in alternative technology.

Anyway, when I said what I did for a living (repair circuit boards), he pulled out his phone to show me a photo  ...  and said he'd been looking for someone to fix the board in his inverter, but because he couldn't find anyone, he had to buy a new inverter.

He just couldn't get his head around throwing the old one away  ...  and then asked if I wanted it. Anyway, of course I took it home  ...  and after having a look, discovered that it was a 12 y/o SMA built SMC6000A Sunny Mini Central  ...  even though it was dressed up in a nice green BP Solar case. Good for 6000 watts.

The photo he showed was of a couple smd components burnt on the main board  ...  but being alongside the main IGBT suggested that it was blown.

Half a dozen screws and the board was out and IGBT exposed and sure enough it had burst at the seams.

Then I realised that the front section of the unit was pretty shallow and started to wonder what was in the rear  ...  especially seeing it was so heavy  ...  63 kg.