Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 21:14 29 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Picromite 5.05.04: Buster + Pi4

     Page 2 of 3    
Author Message
led-bloon

Senior Member

Joined: 21/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 203
Posted: 07:35am 15 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

@volhout
When you ssh into the Pi try: raspberrypi.local port 22
(this is assuming the hostname is raspberrypi -> default)
Then the IP is irrelevant.
led
Miss you George
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3015
Posted: 12:33pm 15 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  @Lizby: when I connect the headless pi through USB to a laptop, it shows up like a second network port. That is achieved by booting it different (you change to config).
You can simply ssh into it (i.e. 10.42.0.80 on port 22). So it works like using a serial terminal with an MX, only using ssh.


Can you point to a link which explains this? I had a pi-ZW to which for some reason I couldn't connect using the headless wifi process, so I set it up (on the SD card) for serial console using header pins and connected via putty (and I was then able to set up the wifi). But the serial link didn't give me an IP to connect to (so far as I know). That's why I'm interested to see in more detail what you did.
Edited 2019-10-15 22:36 by lizby
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3534
Posted: 03:09pm 15 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Lizby,

Here is the post I used:

https://desertbot.io/blog/headless-pi-zero-ssh-access-over-usb-windows

There are several others, just google "pi zero headless USB" describing the same.

It did not work for me immediately, until I configured this new network port to "shared between 2 computers". Probably because I did not install avahi (Linux) or Bonjour (windows).

Currently I (Linux) check the new network port with ifconfig.
The new network port always has 10.42.0.1 on my laptop. Your milage may differ...

Then I use nmap to scan for the pi zero an note it's IP address
nmap -sS -p 22 10.42.0.0/24


Then I ssh into it using it's IP address.
ssh pi@10.42.0.xx


password "raspberry"

I think the above runs automatically when you install avahi/Bonjour, so you can ssh into the pi using
ssh raspberrypi.local


I hope you can use this...

Volhout
Edited 2019-10-16 01:17 by Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
lizby
Guru

Joined: 17/05/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3015
Posted: 04:59pm 15 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Volhout said  I hope you can use this...


Good link--thanks for that.

Now I just have to figure out exactly what I would want to do with a Pi-zero not on my network.
PicoMite, Armmite F4, SensorKits, MMBasic Hardware, Games, etc. on fruitoftheshed
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3534
Posted: 06:02pm 15 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The pi  zero is full of surprizes. Just discovered that the analog video output is enabled when there is no hdmi connected. I had picture on an old TV. Terminal screen. Lets see if we can find a keyboard, an a wired ethernet interface, or wifi dongle...
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
ceptimus
Senior Member

Joined: 05/07/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 130
Posted: 08:53pm 22 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm running V 5.05.04 on a Pi Zero W using the HDMI screen.

print MM.Device$, MM.Ver
Pi-cromite running on H/W version: 9000C1    5.0504

I've noticed a couple of things in the Editor (EDIT)

The F3 (Find) function works first time with the prompt:

Find (Use SHIFT-F3 to repeat):

...but Shift-F3 actually makes the program RUN (same as F2) rather than doing a 'repeat previous search'.  I also tried the F6 key (what the DOS version of repeat search uses) but that does nothing.

Not a major problem, but unlike other 'mite editors, pressing Home twice doesn't take me to the top of the file, nor End twice to the bottom.
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3534
Posted: 06:31pm 09 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Picromasters,

After several evenings trying to connect my pi zero to the internet, wired, and wireless, just to get pigpio installed, I am on the edge of giving up. Tried Raspbian lite first, and bought a wifi dongle. Drivers where missing. Bought a wired usb-ethernet dongle. Drivers match, but get no ip adress when connecting to router. Folowed several threads that deal with modifications of /etc/dhclcd.conf.. tried fixed ip, nothing worked. Today installed noobs, and full raspbian. Again, no success. In dmesg saw that ethernet swiched on/ off carrier constantly. Tried powered hub, no succes. Bought 3A usb power supply, no success. All in all I spend some 50 dollars on this 5 dollar pi, that should only run MMbasic headless.

Is there someone who can provide me with working image of buster lite with pigpio (and MMbasic)?

I will be gratefull for ever.

Volhout.
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
PeterB
Guru

Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Posted: 11:13pm 09 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

G'Day Volhout.

I have an advantage over you blokes. I have no idea what I am doing.
But this worked for me.
I could send you my SD card or a copy if you like.

Peter

guymcswain/pigpio-client
Code
Issues 0
Pull requests 0
Projects 1
Wiki
Security
Insights
Document your code

Every project on GitHub comes with a version-controlled wiki to give your documentation the high level of care it deserves. It’s easy to create well-maintained, Markdown or rich text documentation alongside your code.
See pricing for teams and enterprises
Install and configure pigpiod
Guy McSwain edited this page on May 9 · 8 revisions
Install from Raspbian package manager

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install pigpio
pigpiod -v

This last command display the version of pigpio installed. If not the latest …
Install latest version

If not already installed, you'll need the build-essential package

sudo apt-get install build-essential

Next, run the following shell commands and grab a cup of coffee:

rm master.zip
sudo rm -rf pigpio-master
wget https://github.com/joan2937/pigpio/archive/master.zip
unzip master.zip
cd pigpio-master
make
sudo make install

Running

sudo pigpiod -s 1 \       # GPIO sampling interval in microseconds
            -f \         # disable pipe interface (ie PIGS)
            -n 10.0.0.11 # connect exclusively to this client

This will fork pigpiod and run it in the background. A better way is to run pigpiod as a service so you never have to attach a terminal to the RPi controlling your IO.
Running as systemd service

wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/joan2937/pigpio/master/util/pigpiod.service
sudo cp pigpiod.service /etc/systemd/system
sudo systemctl enable pigpiod.service
sudo systemctl start pigpiod.service

Henceforth, pigpiod will start and run whenever the system is rebooted. Note, Raspbian ships pigpiod.service with remote connetions disabled (-l option). You will want to edit the service file to remove the -l option and add your other preferred pigpiod configuration options. See all pigpiod parameter descriptions here.

Here's an example of what I'm currently running:

[Unit]
Description=Pigpio daemon
After=network.target syslog.target
StartLimitIntervalSec=60
StartLimitBurst=5
StartLimitAction=reboot

[Service]
Type=simple
ExecStartPre=/sbin/sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_time=300
ExecStartPre=/sbin/sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_intvl=60
ExecStartPre=/sbin/sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_probes=5
# Don't fork pigpiod
ExecStart=/usr/local/bin/pigpiod -g
ExecStop=
Restart=always
RestartSec=10

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

Pages 4

Home

Install and configure pigpio daemon

APIs

Error Messages
Clone this wiki locally

   © 2019 GitHub, Inc.
   Terms
   Privacy
   Security
   Status
   Help
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3534
Posted: 09:23am 10 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi PeterB

Thans for the procedure you wrote down. I cannot perform this procedure since the first "apt-get" needs internet. My problem is I cant connect my pi zero to internet. That is a problem for pigpio package.
MMbasic can be copied onto the card, but pigpio needs to be installed.
I tried downloading the zip for pigpio and install it manually, but it requires also other packages that must be installed from the internet.

I am not sure what capabilities you have to clone your card. Simplest would be to use any linux system and us "dd" to make a ".img" file and put that on dropbox or so.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
PeterB
Guru

Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Posted: 10:34am 10 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Sorry, I should be more careful.
I think I just plugged my OTG cable into a USB to ethernet cable to my modem and it just worked but it was a couple of weeks ago and I forget these things. I do have a linux machine (and zorin) so I will see what can be done.
Failing that, if you are not in too much of a rush I will send you my sd card. I'm not sure I will ever use my pi stuff.

Peter
 
Tinine
Guru

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1646
Posted: 11:11am 10 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Quick question re: Picro-mite:

I haven't really followed because I'm not crazy about the relatively slow-booting of an OS but I remember, ages ago, mention that serial comm's were a bit flaky. Is this still the case? What is the maximum BAUD?
 
PeterB
Guru

Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Posted: 07:00am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Volhout.

I did warn you that I am not particularly clever. I have had a quick look at dd etc.
If it is OK with you, how about I put all my pi zero stuff in a box and send it to you.
I am fairly sure I will never get into pi so the stuff will sit in a box for ever. I got the stuff as part of my DUMB DISPLAY thread which has come to an end.
If you pm your address I will see what I can do.

Peter
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3534
Posted: 10:23am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi PeterB,

Thank you for your help. But please wait a little.
I found someone in the city I live in, who has a PI3. I will try to use his pi3 to install pigpio on my sd card.

Then put it back into my pi zero....

I have confidence that works.

Volhout

P.S. I am overwhelmed by your offer to send a complete pi all around the globe (Australia - Europe) just to get me up and running. PeterB, you're a nice man.
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
goc30

Guru

Joined: 12/04/2017
Location: France
Posts: 425
Posted: 11:28am 11 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi to all

If you have some problems to install mmbasic, don't forget:
on strech, new mmbasic don't work (it work only on buster), you need to install older versus (2018-12-09) and before re-install Pigpio (you must also delete ".option" file)
 
PeterB
Guru

Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Posted: 08:46am 12 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

V.
my offer is still open but I am bothered that you are unable to connect to the internet. So, I went through the procedure again to remind myself.

To Install mmbasic  on RPI ZERO

Down load raspbian buster lite to win7 desktop
Format SD card. I used SD Card Formatter.
Use balenaEtcher to burn buster to SD.
Insert SD into RPI and test.

Move SD to linux machine.
Download mmbasic .zip
Add pi/micromite folders to home on SD.
Open micromite and move mmbasic.zip to it.
Unzip mmbasic.

Move SD to RPI.
Connect RPI to internet using:

USB OTG cable to USB to Ethernet cable (which has 3 USB ports) Ethernet cable to MODEM.

Plug in keyboard.

Follow instructions from my earlier post.
I think they came from Peter Mather.

goc30 says mmbasic and pigpio should be in the same folder micromite.

And just show you learn something every day, I know what pigpio means.

You must be almost there (or mad   )

Peter
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3534
Posted: 10:07pm 14 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi PeterB,

With help of the Pi3, I managed to update the buster_lite image with pigpio.
The version that get's installed is 71 (7.1 I guess).
Copied mmbasic onto it.

mmbasic started without any error codes. Tested some pio pins with a simple blink program, all fine.

set pi zero up for autologin and start up mmbasic at poweron.

I am testing the image now, if all works I will post the image so all benefit.

Volhout
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
PeterB
Guru

Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Posted: 10:35pm 14 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

G'Day Volhout

As usual, I am confused. That's my normal state.
I don't understand what the pi3 was needed for but if it works who cares?
I suspect I am now stuck with an ice cream container full of pi bits.

Peter
 
PeterB
Guru

Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Posted: 05:30am 16 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

G'Day Volhout again

I think I understand why you needed a pi3. You needed to connect a keyboard and the pi zero only has 1 USB connector. The device I used is below and the bloke handed it to me with the words "you need it for a pi zero".
I do wonder if a USB hub would have done just as well  
The pi cost $10 and the cable $25 but as I tell my wife "If I played golf or had a mistress it would cost more"

USB 2.0 NETWORK ADAPTOR WITH 3 PORT HUB
Cat. Qty 1+ Qty 4+ Qty 10+
USB 2.0 YN8407 $24.95 $22.35 $19.70
USB 3.0 Type-C YN8409 $39.95 $35.90 $31.90

Peter the slow learner.
 
PeterB
Guru

Joined: 05/02/2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Posted: 11:33pm 02 Jan 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Good morning All

I have finished playing with PI and now have several bits in an ice cream container and they will stay on the floor unless somebody wants them. If somebody wants to get started with RPI ZERO this is your chance. I will post them for free but Australia will be cheapest.
PM me if you are interested.

Peter
 
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3534
Posted: 05:30pm 03 Jan 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Peter,

Sorry to replying so late. It was due to Being frustrated with the pi zero. I thought I had it all worked out, and it did work. But at the next reboot the pi refused to start.
In my head a fuse burned and I put the pi aside in an ice container, and I am not going to use of anymore with raspbian and mmbasic.
The thing refuses to cooperate. It was all in all an expensive disapointment.

We both have an ice container with pi part. And both are disappointed. Lets drink to that.!
PicomiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS
 
     Page 2 of 3    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2024