Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 08:07 26 Oct 2020 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Just for fun Emulating trs-80

Author Message
ksdesigns

Senior Member

Joined: 25/06/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 143
Posted: 07:07pm 17 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post





Running on a chipKIT Max32
Compiled Z80em (z80 emulator) and using a Level II Basic rom
Captured writes to the video buffer and sends them out the serial port
and serial in to keyboard scan
have not done any speed test but it don't seem to bad
ken

 
vasi

Guru

Joined: 23/03/2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 1697
Posted: 07:22pm 17 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Is an excellent job Ken, that's great!

Vasi
Hobbit name: Togo Toadfoot of Frogmorton
Elvish name: Mablung Miriel
Beyound Arduino Lang
 
donmck

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1308
Posted: 07:58pm 17 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  vasi said   Is an excellent job Ken, that's great!

Vasi


I'll have to endorse that Vasi. That is really amazing Ken.

So the procedure is Z80 emulator thrown at ROM image, then fix up the 1001 other things that differ from the original I/O mapping.

Does this now open up the PIC32 as a possible platform, for every z80 computer that was ever produced?

Just wondering how the Microbee re-launch is looking now.

Cheers Don...
https://www.dontronics.com
 
Nick

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Posted: 08:47pm 17 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  donmck said  So the procedure is Z80 emulator thrown at ROM image, then fix up the 1001 other things that differ from the original I/O mapping.

Does this now open up the PIC32 as a possible platform, for every z80 computer that was ever produced?

Just wondering how the Microbee re-launch is looking now.


Not quite that easy Don. The more complex the system, the more complex the remainder of the emulation will be. A computer like the TRS-80 is easy. Microbee a bit harder. An MSX computer harder still (Colour hires graphics modes, sound chip, sprites etc)

The difference with the Microbee launch is that it will be 100% legal (ROMS, programs, logos etc).


 
vasi

Guru

Joined: 23/03/2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 1697
Posted: 08:49pm 17 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think that for the video and audio part can be used a second PIC32... or something else...
Hobbit name: Togo Toadfoot of Frogmorton
Elvish name: Mablung Miriel
Beyound Arduino Lang
 
donmck

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1308
Posted: 11:14pm 17 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Nick said  
Not quite that easy Don. The more complex the system, the more complex the remainder of the emulation will be. A computer like the TRS-80 is easy. Microbee a bit harder. An MSX computer harder still (Colour hires graphics modes, sound chip, sprites etc)

The difference with the Microbee launch is that it will be 100% legal (ROMS, programs, logos etc).


Sure Nick,

I realize that a lot of what is thrown around is hypothetical. The reality can be very different.

Cheers Don...
https://www.dontronics.com
 
ksdesigns

Senior Member

Joined: 25/06/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 143
Posted: 08:14am 18 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Now with video
Using Don's Maximite EV board
Need to update with correct fonts still


ken

 
Nick

Guru

Joined: 09/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 512
Posted: 08:42am 18 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

All that's missing is the battleship gray case.

Next step is to also emulate the hi-res graphics add-on.

Can in run CMD files yet? I'd like to see it run some of my old M/L games I wrote.

Nice touch using the original TRS-80 monitor BTW.
 
vasi

Guru

Joined: 23/03/2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 1697
Posted: 12:41pm 18 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ken,

You are making history here .


Hobbit name: Togo Toadfoot of Frogmorton
Elvish name: Mablung Miriel
Beyound Arduino Lang
 
aargee
Senior Member

Joined: 21/08/2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 251
Posted: 11:52pm 18 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

This is all turning out like MAME for the vintage PC world!
For crying out loud, all I wanted to do was flash this blasted LED.
 
ksdesigns

Senior Member

Joined: 25/06/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 143
Posted: 12:53am 22 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Now were dancing

Dancing Demon running a little fast still need to tweek that .
Still remember going to radio shack and paying 10$ for that tape
Not the best video was done quick
Youtube video
ken
 
Gizmo

Admin Group

Joined: 05/06/2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 4819
Posted: 01:01am 22 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Now that was fun.
People say 2020 is a terrible year, with the bush fires, COVID 19, and riots. But I see it as the year we woke up to ourselves.

JAQ Software
 
VK6MRG

Guru

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 347
Posted: 01:53pm 24 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

THAT'S AWESOME!!
Can it run on a standard Maximite?
Its easier to ask forgiveness than to seek permission!
............VK6MRG.............VK3MGR............
 
Xiongmao

Regular Member

Joined: 25/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 48
Posted: 11:55am 25 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Dammit!

You just caused me to waste a whole hour watching original apple II and commodore 64 ads....
 
ksdesigns

Senior Member

Joined: 25/06/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 143
Posted: 07:46pm 25 Aug 2011
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes it will run on standard Maximite hardware
I just need to add the SDcard support then will post it all on my site ..
should be in the next few days .
ken
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2020