Home
JAQForum Ver 19.8.18
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 08:52 23 Sep 2019 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : (MM/DM/UBW32) Invaders

     Page 1 of 4    
Author Message
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 02:52pm 02 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Hi ,

This morning i have want some fun ,
then i program me a little Space Invaders
No Mistery ship and Bunkers atm .. but it's playable.
I have use AniMite to create the Invaders sprites.

they are 3 buttons:
PIN 13 : Left
PIN 14 : Right
PIN 15 : Fire

Enjoy




2012-01-03_004727_INVADERS.zip
2012-01-03_004916_invader_fnt.zip


Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 04:37pm 02 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Hi again ,

I have made some improvements in the game.
And now we have the Mistery ship too ...

2012-01-03_023728_INVADERS.zip

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
Olimex
Senior Member

Joined: 02/10/2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 226
Posted: 09:03pm 02 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

cool :)

if one want to use keyboard instead of buttons the modification is as follows:

670 PRINT "press ANY key"
680 DO WHILE (INKEY$ = ""): LOOP
1115 KEY$ = INKEY$
1120 IF (ASC(KEY$) = 130) THEN
1180 IF (ASC(KEY$) = 131) THEN
1240 IF (ASC(KEY$) = 32) AND (Fire = 0) THEN

so you can go left and right with the PS2 keyboard left and right arrow and fire with the Spacebar
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 10:03pm 02 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

He he , i was sure someone will found this cool

I made all other needed improvements.
bunkers are here , and the menu screen is
most like the original one








2012-01-03_075258_Invaders.zip

@ Olimex , they was some change in the latest version.

Now the correct line for play with Kb are :


1130 IF (ASC(KEY$) = 130) THEN
1190 IF (ASC(KEY$) = 131) THEN
1250 IF (ASC(KEY$) = 32) AND (Fire = 0) THEN
...
6100 DO WHILE (INKEY$ = "")
...
6800 LOOP



if you just use the KB then you can delete this too :

610 'Setting the joystick pins
620 'PIN 13 = LEFT
630 SETPIN 13,2
640 'PIN 14 = RIGHT
650 SETPIN 14,2
660 'PIN 15 = Fire Button 1
670 SETPIN 15,2




Cheer.



Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1111
Posted: 10:08pm 02 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

That is really cool...
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
rhamer
Senior Member

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 174
Posted: 11:30pm 02 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Ive been writing software for nearly 30 years for all sorts of platforms and all sorts of tasks, but never games.

If you offered me $1,000,000 I wouldnt know where to start to achieve that.

Well done!

Cheers

Rohan
Rohan Hamer
HAMFIELD Software & Hardware Solutions

Makers of the Maximite Expander.

http://www.hamfield.com.au
 
Olimex
Senior Member

Joined: 02/10/2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 226
Posted: 09:38am 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

this is amazing I will put link to this in next DuinoMite user manual :)
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 09:42am 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Great game
In the early 1980's I was a technician/programmer for TAITO Australia
and our number 1 game was the Original "Space Invader" machine.
I have loved the game since then.
C'est Magnifique!
I have linked to it on my Maximite site.
Edited by djuqa 2012-01-04
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
crackerjack

Senior Member

Joined: 11/07/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 164
Posted: 10:18am 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Wow! What a start to the new year!! MMBasic 3, Space Invaders and the CGMMSTICK1. I can hardly wait to see what happens next. Well done all. And big respect to you Darthmite.
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 10:18am 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

@djuga,

in the latest zip i have posted they are the source and the 2 fonts
i have made.
On your page it's the 1st version and not completed game.

Cheer.

Edited by darthmite 2012-01-04
Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
VK6MRG

Guru

Joined: 08/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 347
Posted: 10:22am 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Job well done!
Thank you for your hard work.
Its easier to ask forgiveness than to seek permission!
............VK6MRG.............VK3MGR............
 
djuqa

Guru

Joined: 23/11/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 447
Posted: 10:23am 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

  darthmite said   @djuga,

in the latest zip i have posted they are the source and the 2 fonts
i have made.
On your page it's the 1st version and not completed game.

Cheer.

fixed thanks
VK4MU MicroController Units

 
MM_Wombat
Senior Member

Joined: 12/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 139
Posted: 12:40pm 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Wow, great implementation.. well done Darthmite

Could you just make it easy and have a variable that lets us play with keyboard or joystick.

like

135 Keyb= 0 ' Set to 1 to use a keyboard

then have your code work it out. 2 different checking routines, uses one or the other.

also I noted that the invader on the start screen comes out 1 line above where the upside down 'Y' in PLAY is. This is intentional? If so ignore my fix..

if not I changed the code on lines


6200 Line (px1 , 38) - (px2 , 49) , 0 , BF
6210 pause 5
6220 locate AnimX , 38 : print CHR$(Spr);

Changed 38 to 50 and 49 to 61

also on lines

6370 & 6390 , 6490 , 6520 & 6540, 6680 & 6700 and 6760

I wrote a Font editor, Called it 'MaxiFont' that I have sent to Geoff, for the library. So if you want, you can pick my programming errors..

Link to MaxiFont http://members.iinet.net.au/~dpwyatt/MAXIFONT.zip

I too created an invade.fnt

As I said before, great implementation, well done
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 12:56pm 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Heya Wombat,

Do you have see this one ? :
Animite





for the change on the line 6200 to 6750 it can be that we
get a difference between Composite PAL and VGA.
Here i use the PAL connection to the TV.
For the variable to use the KB , just do it , it's free to all to modify
and made it better.

Cheers.

Darth.

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
MM_Wombat
Senior Member

Joined: 12/12/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 139
Posted: 01:24pm 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

I haven't actually seen this editor before, but it looks awesome.

My font editor is written on the maximite for the maximite..

Screen 1


screen 2




But yours looks better( color )

Hasn't been tested on a composite display....
Edited by MM_Wombat 2012-01-04
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 03:00pm 03 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Bah ! ,
It just look better because it's done on windows ,
Your have give you more fun to write because it's directly in MM Basic
I never have write any game on windows but i want made allot on MM ...
In the next future i will probably add the VGA connector to my DIY maximite
so i can see if my soft work in all possible configuration.
Anyway your MaxiFont will be a good add-on in the MM Library

Cheers.

Darth.

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
crackerjack

Senior Member

Joined: 11/07/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 164
Posted: 12:37pm 04 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Super-Awesome font editors both. I really like it when Maximite tools and utilities are developed in MMBasic. Nice one! I'm really enjoying the new full-screen editor in V3.0 too - and the demise of line numbers is a reason to celebrate!

Cheers guys...
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 07:33pm 04 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Hello

Today i have optimize the Invaders game code.
It's more readable now , and the game is faster too.
Now each level is harder with faster Invaders and
more of them are able to shoot when the next level
start.
I have found why it was different in start screen between composite
video and VGA.
That was just the 'Press fire to start' who was to low on screen and
then moved everything up ;)

So ... enough babbling ... here it is ...

2012-01-05_053029_Invaders.zip

I hope you will enjoy

Darth.

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1111
Posted: 07:38pm 04 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

You do EXCELLENT work!
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
darthmite

Senior Member

Joined: 20/11/2011
Location: France
Posts: 240
Posted: 03:43pm 05 Jan 2012
Copy link to clipboard 

Hi

Here the 'Space Invaders' for Maximite V3.0

2012-01-06_014321_Invaders.zip

Enjoy.

Darth.

Theory is when we know everything but nothing work ...
Practice is when everything work but no one know why ;)
 
     Page 1 of 4    
© JAQ Software 2019