Home  |  Contents 
Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Multiple Microbridges on one Computer Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 2 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
kg4pid
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 08 March 2015
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 7:38am | IP Logged Quote kg4pid

Would there be any problems using more than one microbridge on one system? Linux or Windows. Not for programming but for USB to Serial. Are all microbridges going to have the same serial number? I've had problems with some of the cheap USB to Serial converters over the years changing ports. I want to make sure my ports stay the same across reboots. My 16F1455 chips are on order but haven't shipped yet so I can't do any testing.

Thanks in advance, Max


Back to Top View kg4pid's Profile Search for other posts by kg4pid
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5166
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 8:14am | IP Logged Quote Grogster

I don't see any reason why not. Try it and see. Windows will assign a VCP COM port number to any new USB-serial adaptor you plug in, even if one of exactly the same type is still plugged in. Therefore, if one you have plugged in was COM4 for example, you could plug in another one, and windows SHOULD assign a new COM port number to that - say COM5 or something. I have often had multiple CP2102 USB-serial adaptors plugged in at the same time, and windows does not care - it just issues another COM port number.

Linux should have no issues at all. It should just show up as a duplicate folder under /dev/ if you already have one plugged in and working.

On Linux, provided Linux sees them at all, you are less likely to have the changing port numbers problem. Windows loves to change COM port numbers on you all the time, depending on what it thinks you have plugged in and where. I think there is a system setting you can change to force Windows to NOT assign COM port numbers higher then a certain point, but that still means the actual number a USB-serial adaptor gets assigned by Windows is at the discretion of the operating system - it's a pain, actually, to be honest.

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
kg4pid
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 08 March 2015
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 10:07am | IP Logged Quote kg4pid

Most higher quality USB devices have a unique serial number which allows you to use two or more of the same type of device on a system. But not all USB devices are created equal. As I already stated I can't test yet bcause my parts are in shipment. If I know for sure one way or the other I can plan ahead. Since there is only one hex file I have a feeling it may be a problem, unless it is in the chip itself. I couldn't find anything in the 16F1455 datasheet that said for sure.

Max
Back to Top View kg4pid's Profile Search for other posts by kg4pid
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5166
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 10:35am | IP Logged Quote Grogster

I will plug in several E28's all of which use the 1455 chip, and let you know.
I am still not expecting a problem, but you may in fact be correct so I will post back shortly.

EDIT: Plugged in two E28's and one MMX all with 1455 chips. All running at the same time, all of which were assigned unique COM ports, and I can talk to all of them. Here is a shot of my accessing two different 1455 projects at once:





Edited by Grogster on 06 December 2017 at 10:45am


__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
MicroBlocks
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2012
Location: Thailand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2034
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 10:46am | IP Logged Quote MicroBlocks

Should not be a problem.
The first part that is used to identify one is the VID/PID.
After that a serial number.
If those are the same (which is often) then it will be enumerated according to which USB port it is connected to.
If you have a USB-HUB it will also use that as part to uniquely identify it.



__________________
Microblocks. Build with logic.
Back to Top View MicroBlocks's Profile Search for other posts by MicroBlocks
 
kg4pid
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 08 March 2015
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 10:47am | IP Logged Quote kg4pid

On page 10 of the MCP2200 datasheet it says 2.2 "The MCP2200 is supplied from the factory with a serialied USB serial string."

Itn't the MCP2200 the same chip with simular code? Was this the code that was used and modified to create the microbridge?

Max
Back to Top View kg4pid's Profile Search for other posts by kg4pid
 
kg4pid
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 08 March 2015
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 10:52am | IP Logged Quote kg4pid

MicroBlocks wrote:
Should not be a problem.
The first part that is used to identify one is the VID/PID.
After that a serial number.
If those are the same (which is often) then it will be enumerated according to which USB port it is connected to.
If you have a USB-HUB it will also use that as part to uniquely identify it.



If I understand you correctly I'll be ok as long as I don't move them to a different USB port.

My FTDI USB to serial converters don't do that, they stay the same. But they cost a whole lot more.

Max
Back to Top View kg4pid's Profile Search for other posts by kg4pid
 
kg4pid
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 08 March 2015
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 11:58am | IP Logged Quote kg4pid

Grogster, try moving them to different USB Ports. Does the same 1455 get the same port or does it move? I think that will tell me what I need to know.

Thanks, Max
Back to Top View kg4pid's Profile Search for other posts by kg4pid
 
JohnS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 November 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1562
Posted: 06 December 2017 at 8:33pm | IP Logged Quote JohnS

Linux should be happy. It knows enough (like its internal path to the physical USB port) to make it just work (even if there is no unique serial #).

John
Back to Top View JohnS's Profile Search for other posts by JohnS
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5166
Posted: 07 December 2017 at 8:18am | IP Logged Quote Grogster

No, it assigned it a new COM port number. It was COM11. I move it to another USB port, and it is still accessible, but has been assigned COM14 not COM11.

I don't THINK there is much you can really do about that. Windows assigns the VCP number when you plug the USB thing in, and you don't get a choice as to the actual number that the operating system assigns to that adaptor.

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
kg4pid
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 08 March 2015
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Posted: 07 December 2017 at 1:25pm | IP Logged Quote kg4pid

Thanks Grogster, as long as the OS assigns the same port after a reboot I'll be OK.

Max
Back to Top View kg4pid's Profile Search for other posts by kg4pid
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5166
Posted: 07 December 2017 at 1:28pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

So long as you stick to a certain USB port physically, the COM port number SHOULD stay the same. Note I said 'Should'..... Windows does odd things.

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 


Page of 2 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1091 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.09