Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Micromite and Chromebook Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 3 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Posted: 05 April 2018 at 12:00am | IP Logged Quote SteveA

I'm trying to get a Micromite and MM+ working with my Chromebook.

I can connect to the MM and enter commands etc.

But I can't get the built in editor to work, I can enter a program, move the cursor around and using 'backspace' delete characters. However, the Chromebook doesn't have function keys, so I can't save, run, etc.

There are two ways to access function keys on the Chromebook, either by holding the search key and pressing 1 thru 9, -, and +. Or by reassigning the top row of buttons which are used by chrome to func. by changing a setting in the keyboard dialogue. Neither work!

Pressing what should be F1 sends 'OP', F2 - 'OQ', F3 - 'OR', etc.

I've tried a couple of different serial terminal apps, BeagleTerm and SerialTerm for example but they all behave the same way.

Does anyone know how to get the function keys working?




Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Online
Posts: 2502
Posted: 05 April 2018 at 12:24am | IP Logged Quote matherp

Page 33 of the manual

You can also use control keys instead of the functions keys listed above. These control keystrokes are:
LEFT Ctrl-S RIGHT Ctrl-D UP Ctrl-E DOWN Ctrl-X
HOME Ctrl-U END Ctrl-K PageUp Ctrl-P PageDn Ctrl-L
DEL Ctrl-] INSERT Ctrl-N F1 Ctrl-Q F2 Ctrl-W
F3 Ctrl-R ShiftF3 Ctrl-G F4 Ctrl-T F5 Ctrl-Y
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Posted: 05 April 2018 at 12:46am | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Thanks Matherp that works a treat.

A case of RTFM!
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Posted: 05 April 2018 at 1:48am | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Following on from the above, I can see from SerialTerm that the MM is on /dev/ttyUSB0, it would be great to get MM Edit working!

So using Crouton (Chromium OS Universal Chroot Environment) I installed Ubuntu with a KDE desktop and GtkTerm.

At first GtkTerm couldn't access the serial port, but entering 'sudo chmod 666 /dev/ttyUSB0' in the terminal did the trick. GtkTerm can communicate with my MM, so I know Ubuntu is working.

Next I installed Wine and MM Edit. MM Edit starts up but doesn't find ttyUSB0.

So I needed to tell it where to look for the MM, in the terminal I entered:

'ln -s /dev/ttyUSB0 ~/.wine/dosdevices/com7'

MM Edit now works!

I hope this helps others.

Steve




Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 276
Posted: 05 April 2018 at 6:25am | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

Hi SteveA

Here you can find MicromiteCons v.0.933 which is optimized to work with wine.
To make sure you can add a COM on Linux platform port just double click in the "UART LIST (0)" section and add a number. For example digit only 7 to add in list COM7.
Here you can find discussion on MicromiteCons.
Thanks
Antonio

Edited by sagt3k on 05 April 2018 at 6:28am
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Posted: 05 April 2018 at 7:10pm | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Looks very interesting Antonio, I give it a try.
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 12:58am | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Hello Antonio,

I had the the time to try your program, it runs, but unfortunately it doesn't detect any of the UARTS on my Chromebook, the drop down list is empty.

GtkTerm (Linux) and MMedit (Windows) both list all the available ports and allow me to select one.

It works on my Windows machine, so I'll have a play with it on that instead.

Steve

Added:

I,ve reread your post and had another quick play. I can double click and assign a port number, then when I click connect the program thinks its connected, buts it's not!

In the terminal window I get the following:-
fixme:ntdll:server_ioctl_file Unsupported ioctl 1b0048 (device=1b access=0 func=12 method=0
fixme:comm:set_queue_size insize 4096 outsize 4096 unimplemented stub

Edited by SteveA on 10 April 2018 at 1:48am
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 276
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 1:33am | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

Hi SteveA

Generally COM (only on Windows) are recognized by extracting from the list of "COMx" strings.
I read the list from regedit "HLM\hardware\devicemap\serialcomm"
What kind of UART HW/USB are you using?
Thanks
Antonio

Edited by sagt3k on 10 April 2018 at 1:34am
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 1:50am | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Our posts overlapped!

<quote>What kind of UART HW/USB are you using?</quote>

Micromite plus.
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 276
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 2:02am | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

SteveA wrote:
Our posts overlapped!

<quote>What kind of UART HW/USB are you using?</quote>

Micromite plus.


Hi SteveA
Are you using wine on linux?
Antonio
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 48
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 2:52am | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Yes, wine running on Ubuntu with KDE desktop,running in a chroot on ChromeOS.
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 276
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 5:17am | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

Hi SteveA

I try on Devian with a VMachine. My system see MicromitePlus connected by USB as "ttyACM0". Then in Linux I try with "ln -s /dev/ttyACM0 ~/.wine/dosdevices/com7".
Then start "wine MicromiteCons.exe" , add COM1 and I connected with console.

Antonio
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 


Page of 3 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1094 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.09