Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Micromite and Chromebook Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 3 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 47
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 5:55am | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Quote:
My system see MicromitePlus connected by USB as "ttyACM0". Then in Linux I try with "ln -s /dev/ttyACM0 ~/.wine/dosdevices/com7".


I did exactly the same and gtkTerm and MM edit can connect to the MM.

Quote:
Then start "wine MicromiteCons.exe" , add COM1 and I connected with console.


This is the bit that doesn't work, the program runs but the dropdown list isn't populated and although I can add a port it doesn't connect.

There is obviously something very obscure going on between wine/ubuntu/chromeOS! I'm not a Linux expert, and I don't think I'll get to the bottom of it, so I'll carry on using MM edit.

Thanks for your help.

Steve




Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 220
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 3:48pm | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

Hi SteveA
Ok, thank you gor sharing you experience. Now I will work to give more suport on linux/wine.
Antonio
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 
robert.rozee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1271
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 6:45pm | IP Logged Quote robert.rozee

hi steve,
i'd be interested to hear if you have any success with gfxterm:

http://www.thebackshed.com/docregister/ViewDoc.asp?DocID=22

this also uses the registry to locate comm ports.


cheers,
rob :-)
Back to Top View robert.rozee's Profile Search for other posts by robert.rozee
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 47
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 8:12pm | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Quote:
i'd be interested to hear if you have any success with gfxterm:


No problem, it runs but says 'No Serial Ports Found'
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 220
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 8:25pm | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

Hi SteveA
If you use wine on linux,you need execute a link between /dev/ttyXXX and logic link comx win compatible
Antonio
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 47
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 8:46pm | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Quote:
If you use wine on linux,you need execute a link between /dev/ttyXXX and logic link comx win compatible


I've been doing this:

'ln -s /dev/ttyUSB0 ~/.wine/dosdevices/comx'

where 'comx' is the port number I want to assign, for example com1..com2..etc

Is that what you mean?
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 220
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 9:10pm | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

Hi SteveA

With command dmesg in linux you can see exatly how your device is,recognized. Micromite Plus perhaps it seen a ttyACM0.
Antonio
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 47
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 10:53pm | IP Logged Quote SteveA

MM+ show as ttyACM,USB to serial adaptors show up as ttyUSB.

Edited by SteveA on 10 April 2018 at 11:38pm
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
sagt3k
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 01 February 2015
Location: Italy
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 220
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 12:22am | IP Logged Quote sagt3k

Ok SteveA.
Can you summarixe what kind of hw you are using, which micromite etc?
Back to Top View sagt3k's Profile Search for other posts by sagt3k Visit sagt3k's Homepage
 
Volhout
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 March 2018
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 35
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 1:14am | IP Logged Quote Volhout

I own a chromebook (ACER C720) that I run Elementary OS on, based on ubuntu.
I used the exact same method as described here and I can use both gtkterm as well as putty to connect to the Micromite, and also the Maximite.

The only difference with he system you describe is that I have removed Chrome OS, and have reflashed the BIOS.

Another thing I can think of is there may somewhere be a conflict with rights. I did not run into this since all modifications I make in the Ubuntu environment always start with a "sudo su".....
That is a habit after working with Puppy Linux, where you are root unless specified otherwise, and you simply get used to that.

I can confirm that the chromebook function keys give different keycodes, and you have to use the CTRL-Q/CTRL-T keys to work with the editor build in into the Micromite.

Regards,

Volhout


Edited by Volhout on 11 April 2018 at 1:17am


__________________
If nothing goes right ... turn left
Back to Top View Volhout's Profile Search for other posts by Volhout
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 47
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 9:31pm | IP Logged Quote SteveA

Quote:
Can you summarixe what kind of hw you are using, which micromite etc?


28 pin Micromite (MX170) -> CP2101 USB to Serial adaptor -> Dell P22T Chromebook

dmesg shows cp210x attached to ttyUSB0

or

64 pin Micromite+ (MX470F512H) -> Chromebook

dmesg shows Product: Micromite Plus, Manufacturer Silicon Chip ttyACM4: USB ACM device

Software versions:
Chrome OS 66.0.3359.79
Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS
Wine 1.6.2

Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 
SteveA
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 10 March 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 47
Posted: 13 April 2018 at 8:03pm | IP Logged Quote SteveA

GFXterm now works!

Using the info here: Set Up The Serial Port In Wine

I added
[Hardware\\Devicemap\\Serialcomm] 1231984861
"Serial0"="COM1"
to ~/.wine/system.reg

The serial port is found and GFXterm works.


MicromiteCons also now finds the port, but it still doesn't talk to the Micromite.
Back to Top View SteveA's Profile Search for other posts by SteveA
 


<< Prev Page of 3 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.0488 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.05