Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: TFT cannot be calibrated Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 3 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
miyek.ard
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 March 2018
Location: Malaysia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 1:23pm | IP Logged Quote miyek.ard

Hi All,

I am using MM+ with ILI9341 LCD panel.

My TFT able to display everything, but unable to trace any touch on the screen. This comes out when I write 'OPTION LIST'
OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9341, LANDSCAPE, 2, 23, 29
OPTION TOUCH 1, 3

When I write 'GUI CALIBRATE', something is not right. If I touch target without any hold, sometimes incorrect calibration, sometimes no errors (as shown below)
Warning: Inaccurate calibration
Deviation X = -106, Y = 0 (pixels)

Done. No errors
Deviation X = -2147483648, Y = 0 (pixels)

However, when I touch the target AND HOLD, there is error as shown below.
Error: Touch hardware failure


So, I decided to just touching the target without any hold. Once there is no error, I proceed with 'GUI TEST TOUCH' command. But then, there is no white dot appeared on the display.

How should I fix this?


Back to Top View miyek.ard's Profile Search for other posts by miyek.ard
 
palcal
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1003
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 6:27pm | IP Logged Quote palcal

Hi Aimi,
Can you give more information, which Backpack / Chip are you using?
Why are you on your third Backpack? ( from previous thread).
What pins are you using for T_CS and T_IRQ. Have you read page 19 of the Manual about Calibrating the screen. Do you get the coloured balls when you use 'GUI TEST LCD PANEL'
Paul.

Edit... I usually let the more experienced shedders reply but I know what it is like to post and not receive a reply for a while.

Edited by palcal on 10 April 2018 at 6:30pm


__________________
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
Back to Top View palcal's Profile Search for other posts by palcal
 
Geoffg
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2337
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 6:43pm | IP Logged Quote Geoffg

The "Touch hardware failure" error is generated when the touch controller chip reports that the first calibration point (top left) is the same as the top right calibration point (within 16 pixels). The controller chip does not give a reliable indication that it is working correctly so this is the only way that the firmware can detect a problem.

This could be caused by bad wiring but it also can be caused by something on the SPI bus responding at the same time as the touch controller chip because its CS line is left floating. One other cause is when the constructor squeezes the LCD into a case that is to small and the edges of the box are pressing on the display.

Finally, it could be a dead display.


Edited by Geoffg on 10 April 2018 at 6:48pm
Back to Top View Geoffg's Profile Search for other posts by Geoffg Visit Geoffg's Homepage
 
miyek.ard
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 March 2018
Location: Malaysia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Posted: 10 April 2018 at 7:09pm | IP Logged Quote miyek.ard

Paul,
I am using Micromite+ LCD Backpack (purchased here). T_CS = pin 1, T_CS = pin 3. I read how to calibrate the screen already. Colored balls comes out when I write 'GUI TEST LCDPANEL'.

Hi Geoff,
I am not using SD card. I checked the continuity, it has a good connection.
Back to Top View miyek.ard's Profile Search for other posts by miyek.ard
 
palcal
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1003
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 7:27am | IP Logged Quote palcal

OK it should work. The only thing I can think of is a damaged screen. I had one that had a crack in the glass, it still displayed but touch would not work.
Paul.

__________________
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
Back to Top View palcal's Profile Search for other posts by palcal
 
miyek.ard
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 March 2018
Location: Malaysia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 11:19am | IP Logged Quote miyek.ard

I am sorry but I guess my TFT is just fine, the problem might comes from the Micromite itself.

I tried to connect that Micromite with another TFT, the same problem still occurs
Back to Top View miyek.ard's Profile Search for other posts by miyek.ard
 
miyek.ard
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 March 2018
Location: Malaysia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 1:19pm | IP Logged Quote miyek.ard

SOME UPDATE!

I write 'GUI CALIBRATE' and then touch the targets, the result is
Done. No errors
Deviation X = 0, Y = 0 (pixels)

Then I write 'GUI TEST TOUCH'. When I randomly touch the screen, somehow there are 3 dots appeared.

Back to Top View miyek.ard's Profile Search for other posts by miyek.ard
 
palcal
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1003
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 4:06pm | IP Logged Quote palcal

Hi Aimi,
Rather weird, It has definitely calibrated OK, I usually just drag my finger nail across the screen and it draws a trace. I take it the plastic is to stop the camera flash reflecting. Other than that maybe Matherp can help, or send a PM to WhiteWizzard.
Paul.

Edited by palcal on 11 April 2018 at 4:10pm


__________________
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
Back to Top View palcal's Profile Search for other posts by palcal
 
miyek.ard
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 March 2018
Location: Malaysia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 4:14pm | IP Logged Quote miyek.ard

Hi Paul,
I drag my finger nail across the screen but no trace drawn on the screen. Is there any other solution?
Back to Top View miyek.ard's Profile Search for other posts by miyek.ard
 
miyek.ard
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 March 2018
Location: Malaysia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 4:31pm | IP Logged Quote miyek.ard

SOME UPDATE!

I try to run GUI Tabbed Page(refer to Phil's code). When I touch the screen, "TouchDown" popped out at the prompt.

I guess, my TFT able to trace there is a touch on the screen, somehow unable to trace which part of the screen has been touched.

Back to Top View miyek.ard's Profile Search for other posts by miyek.ard
 
palcal
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 October 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1003
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 6:33pm | IP Logged Quote palcal

I really think that it is a job for Matherp, he is the TFT wizzard as well as most other things.
Paul.

__________________
"It is better to be ignorant and ask a stupid question than to be plain Stupid and not ask at all"
Back to Top View palcal's Profile Search for other posts by palcal
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2156
Posted: 11 April 2018 at 8:17pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

The touch function is common to all types of MM. It is highly unlikely that there is any sort of firmware issue. The key is getting a clean calibration. Use a plastic stylus (not a finger). Dwell on the points for about a second and then release cleanly before moving onto the next.

Once calibration is successful try using a very simple program to test

do
Print touch(x), touch(y)
pause 300
loop


if this doesn't give sensible results then you have either a
faulty LCD
faulty MM
faulty wiring
compromised wiring (something affecting the connections to the touch controller.)

There is nothing else possible

Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 


Page of 3 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1416 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.12