Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: HC-12 old vs new module.... Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 12
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
TassyJim
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2567
Posted: 20 May 2018 at 1:15pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

Andrew_G wrote:

If I understand the attached picture correctly, the remote HC-12 transmits at ~400Hz above 433.4MHz (shown as "Incoming") and the HC-12 on my test rig is transmitting at ~300Hz below (shown as "Outgoing").

Should they not BOTH be at 433.400MHz?

Andrew

I am not sure what transmission protocol is used but you are likely to be seeing two peaks from the one device.

You will not have the local and remote devices transmitting at the same time, so if there is a difference, you will see the peak (or pair of peaks) shifting slightly depending on which device is transmitting.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm


Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
Andrew_G
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 18 October 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 224
Posted: 20 May 2018 at 1:51pm | IP Logged Quote Andrew_G

Hi Jim, thanks,
all my HC-12s are set to 2400, FU2 on the first channel (433.400MHz). I'm pretty sure that the RH "Incoming" peak is the the remote network reporting in every 10 seconds and that the LH "Outgoing" is the re-broadcast from my local test rig - if I turn the rig off I still see the RH peak BUT not the LH one ('cause its not being sent).
(the peaks are a different height because the RH one, which is a split second older, had decayed a little before I took the screen shot)

Does that make sense or am I very confused?

Cheers,
Andrew
Back to Top View Andrew_G's Profile Search for other posts by Andrew_G
 
Chopperp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2018
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 237
Posted: 23 May 2018 at 9:58pm | IP Logged Quote Chopperp

The HC-12's I ordered from Andrew_G's link arrived yesterday. They look the same as one in pjmart's photo so I assume they are the clones.

Searched previous posts on how to set them up etc. Found the stuff I needed. Thanks guys.

Connected up to a USB to TTL converter & programmed 2 using Roberts prog. Easy when you know how etc.

Now to see if they will talk to each other. Try tomorrow maybe.

__________________
ChopperP
Back to Top View Chopperp's Profile Search for other posts by Chopperp
 
Chopperp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2018
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 237
Posted: 24 May 2018 at 6:58pm | IP Logged Quote Chopperp

As Grogster says, "Just plug them in & away they go".
Tested two from a GPS module to a MM no worries.

__________________
ChopperP
Back to Top View Chopperp's Profile Search for other posts by Chopperp
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5960
Posted: 24 May 2018 at 7:43pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

Yes, even the clones seem to work just fine - they are just off frequency.

This really only presents a problem, if you need the clones to co-exist with other GENUINE ones in the same network - as I have had to.

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
Chopperp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2018
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 237
Posted: 26 May 2018 at 6:47pm | IP Logged Quote Chopperp

I've borrowed an ICOM IC-PRC1000 Comms Receiver, & tuned to one of my HC-12's on Ch1, 433.4MHz transmitting GPS data once a sec, using the ICOM software.
The frequency spread is about 40kHz & appears to be centred at about 433.403MHz, but according to the meter, the maximum signal level is at about 433.420MHz.

So really none the wiser as to weather it is off frequency or not. Need to compare it with a known good one.






__________________
ChopperP
Back to Top View Chopperp's Profile Search for other posts by Chopperp
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5960
Posted: 08 June 2018 at 9:48am | IP Logged Quote Grogster

I have received my genuine HC12's from hc01.com.





There are two layers of 25pcs here. One is missing in bottom-right of the photo, as I promptly put one on test.

Interestingly, THESE ones have the crystal marked as "30.000MHZ"!!!!





They ARE spot-on frequency though, as would be expected with the genuine article. So either hc01 tweaked their firmware to work with those crystals, or they are simply genuine crystals rather then off-spec clones or manufacturers duds. Most likely the latter.



__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 


If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Search the forums using Google.
<< Prev Page of 12
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1230 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.12