Home  |  Contents 

Windmills
  Forum Index : Windmills         Section
Subject Topic: Cable/Wire sizing AC/DC Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
BarkyJ
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 April 2018
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 113
Posted: 11 May 2018 at 10:28am | IP Logged Quote BarkyJ

Hi All

Just doing some planning.
What is typically done for power cable from the windmill to whatever interface you guys use, and do you normally run 3 phase AC down the pole and rectify it at the ground, or rectify it on the windmill and run DC down the pole?

I found a good youtube clip which has an attached excel sheet for doing calculations which is quite useful.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS7CyTxAA4o

Based on this, my estimation whether I run AC or DC down the pole, I am in the region of requiring AWG 8 cable, which isnt cheap stuff.
My estimation so far is 15m one way, so 30m of cable (assuming DC 2 wire).

Curious what others are using and where you sourced the cable from.

Thanks



Back to Top View BarkyJ's Profile Search for other posts by BarkyJ
 
BarkyJ
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 April 2018
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 113
Posted: 11 May 2018 at 11:40am | IP Logged Quote BarkyJ

http://www.nzev.co.nz/10mm-flexible-cable/

This is what I am currently looking at.
Back to Top View BarkyJ's Profile Search for other posts by BarkyJ
 
Warpspeed
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 August 2007
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1946
Posted: 12 May 2018 at 10:42am | IP Logged Quote Warpspeed

You do not say what your system voltage is, or the expected current.

Ten mm squared cable has a resistance of .00172 ohms per linear meter, so 30m of that cable will have a resistance of .0516 ohms (at 20 Celsius).

The "normal" current rating for 10mm cable is 50 amps.
I squared R gives a power loss of 129 watts at 50 amps for 30m of cable.
Voltage drop at 50 amps would be 2.58 volts.

I have no idea if those are significant figures for your intended application.

__________________
Cheers, Tony.
Back to Top View Warpspeed's Profile Search for other posts by Warpspeed
 
BarkyJ
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 26 April 2018
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 113
Posted: 12 May 2018 at 3:03pm | IP Logged Quote BarkyJ

Sorry the system voltage at this stage is 36V.
Back to Top View BarkyJ's Profile Search for other posts by BarkyJ
 
Warpspeed
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 August 2007
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1946
Posted: 12 May 2018 at 4:16pm | IP Logged Quote Warpspeed

So its going to have about 7% loss at 50 amps.

__________________
Cheers, Tony.
Back to Top View Warpspeed's Profile Search for other posts by Warpspeed
 


If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Search the forums using Google.
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You can vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1094 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.11