Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Model Railway DCC... Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 3
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5960
Posted: 08 June 2018 at 3:48pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

When I leave the ground-plane in place, which I usually do, I use that ground-plane as a ground connection for circuit ground. On this PCB, it was so small, that whatever GP was left over, was not connected to anything anyway, so I just routed a ground track for this board instead. IE: It would have been just about impossible to connect all the broken-up GP together on this size PCB and still keeping to two layer. And it was also just a personal choice kinda thing also to some extent.

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!


Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
Chopperp
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 03 January 2018
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 237
Posted: 08 June 2018 at 4:29pm | IP Logged Quote Chopperp

Thanks Groggs,

I thought that was the case. I haven't delved deep enough into actual PCB software or had the need to worry about ground planes.

__________________
ChopperP
Back to Top View Chopperp's Profile Search for other posts by Chopperp
 
Revlac
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 182
Posted: 08 June 2018 at 7:16pm | IP Logged Quote Revlac

Thats looking good Grogster.
Have been watching for a bit, Have read that Hornby use there own type of DCC system.
We had a Hornby Mallard live steam loco running on the bench years ago, much fun, however the controller took a fair bit of practice and patients getting use to it.
It used a series of pulses to get it moving, and other things.
Do you want to know what happened when someone els has a go at it without prior practice.?

__________________
Cheers Aaron
Off The Grid

Back to Top View Revlac's Profile Search for other posts by Revlac
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5960
Posted: 09 June 2018 at 7:40am | IP Logged Quote Grogster

By all means......

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
Revlac
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 182
Posted: 09 June 2018 at 9:07am | IP Logged Quote Revlac

Well after I had a Run with it I parked the loco just at end of the bench coming on to the straight bit of track.
Give the Old Man the controller, first he give it a few pulse's to start it off... nothing happened, so the next idea was to hold the throttle lever on for a moment and that got it going... I mean REALLY Got Going, that thing could fly....could not take the bend at the end and flew about 6 feet off the end of the table to the ground.
The wheels and rods where still going so fast it was just a blur to see.
Quite spectacular to watch, but it was still a bugger picking up all the pieces. We did get it running again though.

So I can see a reason to have good steady controls on these things.
went back to using PWM speed control for a bit on the G scale layout, they are big but more to put things in them.
I know some people criticize G scale for there own reasons, seen holes in walls of some houses for the track and loco to run through, All is forgiven when you see a train coming from the kitchen with a load of beer.

__________________
Cheers Aaron
Off The Grid

Back to Top View Revlac's Profile Search for other posts by Revlac
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5960
Posted: 09 June 2018 at 10:08am | IP Logged Quote Grogster

Ha,ha!

I plan to allow for a maximum throttle setting and emergency shut-down in the controller, which will all be touch-screen based on a MM plus. Simulated inertia on forward and reverse can be switched off or on on the LCD controls. Up to one thousand locomotives will be supported - I doubt anyone should need more then that in one layout!

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 


If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Search the forums using Google.
<< Prev Page of 3
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1094 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.11