Home  |  Contents 

Windmills
  Forum Index : Windmills         Section
Subject Topic: Fp640 on ebay Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 2 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 22 May 2018 at 10:03pm | IP Logged Quote Thai

Hi I'm new to this web site but been working on turbine for awhile now. I recently purchased an fp640 off of eBay. It's the fisher and paykel turbine. I installed the thing and spun it with my hands and noticed the blades felt like it had brakings connected. I have zero brakes installed. I then unplugged one mc4 wires from the three phases that's connected to the turbine and it starts to bounce or shake violently. Then I thought it was the bridge rectifier, which I moved wires around, tested each phase and they all worked. I even tried my other rectifier to see if it was a bad one. It seem it wasn't the rectifier at all. I then unplugged the grid tie 10.8-30v from the outlet and same problem. Then I plugged it back in and took off the positive terminals, it now spins normally. Can you guys tell me what's wrong and what can I do. I had it on with a thermodye ultra core pma and it worked perfectly. As soon as I used the fp640 on it just went to sh*t.


Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 22 May 2018 at 10:16pm | IP Logged Quote Thai

Can someone please tell me why some people use 3 bridge rectifier on their turbines? I never seen that before until I got into the fnp world.
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 22 May 2018 at 10:31pm | IP Logged Quote Thai

I forgot to mention that I insulated the state with an electrical red dielectric varnish. I don't think that's the problem because it says it can be used for field magnets and coils. I never used this spray before so I thought I threw it out there for more info.
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
Madness
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 08 October 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2055
Posted: 22 May 2018 at 10:37pm | IP Logged Quote Madness

The motor is a 3 Phase AC device that is why it needs a 3 Phase rectifier.

__________________
Staying in my backshed where it is more peaceful!
Back to Top View Madness's Profile Search for other posts by Madness
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 22 May 2018 at 11:57pm | IP Logged Quote Thai

Why not just use one 3phase bridge rectifier?
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 23 May 2018 at 6:40am | IP Logged Quote Thai

Can someone please let me know if the fisher and paykel turbine has a load on it will it be hard to turn by hand like having a car steering wheel without steering fluid. Is this normal or is there differently something wrong. I've been trying to fix the problem for days now and I can't figure it out.
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 25 May 2018 at 3:15am | IP Logged Quote Thai

The 10.8v-30volt couldn't handle the load so I switch to 22-60volt and seems to work OK.
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
BarkyJ
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 26 April 2018
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 93
Posted: 25 May 2018 at 9:33am | IP Logged Quote BarkyJ

Hi Thai,
I am also fairly new to all this, but I am assuming the builds you have seen with multiple rectifiers, are likely due to either multiple stators, or staggered stators or something like that. When you have different voltages coming out of the stator in AC, then you need to use its own bridge rectifier as the stators wont be exactly in phase (or something like that) or at the same AC potential. You then combine the DC side, hence multiple rectifiers.

Unsure exactly what you are referring to though, so if you have a link to show which builds you are referring to with multiple rectifiers, that will help.
Back to Top View BarkyJ's Profile Search for other posts by BarkyJ
 
Gizmo
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Administrator

Joined: 05 June 2004
Location: Australia
Online Status: Online
Posts: 4569
Posted: 25 May 2018 at 9:34am | IP Logged Quote Gizmo

If its hard to turn by hand without a load, then something has been wired incorrectly. If you disconnect the rectifiers and it spins freely, then the first place I would look is the rectifiers.

Check your wiring, draw it on paper.

We use 3 single bridge rectifiers instead of a single 3 phase rectifier because its cheaper.

Glenn

__________________
"If it dont fit, use a bigger hammer."

The Back Shed
JAQ Software
Back to Top View Gizmo's Profile Search for other posts by Gizmo Visit Gizmo's Homepage
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 25 May 2018 at 12:56pm | IP Logged Quote Thai

I think I saw a guy that had 1 single status and was using multiply rectifier. I believe it's to help it spin at low rpm. But I'm hoping to get an experts opion.
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 25 May 2018 at 12:59pm | IP Logged Quote Thai

Thanks gizmo. I figured it out... It was the small 10.8 volt grid tie. Some reason I wasn't able to handle or was a mismatch o that inverter. I went a step up to 22 to 60 volts but it seems weak still but it spins alot easier. Maybe when I get this figured out I'll get the 45 to 90volt gti.
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 
Thai
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2018
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 28
Posted: 25 May 2018 at 1:04pm | IP Logged Quote Thai

Not saying I'm not appreciated by your comment though barky J(very cool thanx). I'm really hoping to figure this out before the weekend.
Back to Top View Thai's Profile Search for other posts by Thai
 


Page of 2 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You can vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1094 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.11