Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Difficulties with pic32prog Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Benzol
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 07 January 2015
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 60
Posted: 09 August 2018 at 5:00pm | IP Logged Quote Benzol

Hi all.
I am trying to upload the newest version of the Micromite firmware to an old Micromite via the Backpack V2.
I keep getting the following message;



Can anyone offer a suggestion as to what has gone wrong?

TIA


Back to Top View Benzol's Profile Search for other posts by Benzol
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6132
Posted: 09 August 2018 at 5:40pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

Have you pressed the MODE button before trying to upgrade the firmware?

In normal mode, the 1455 on the backpack will operate as a serial connection.
You have to put it into programming mode, by pressing the MODE button once - the LED just above the USB socket will light and stay on to indicate it is ready to accept a new program.

If you DON'T put the 1455 into programming mode, you will most definitely get that error.

Edited by Grogster on 09 August 2018 at 5:42pm


__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
Benzol
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 07 January 2015
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 60
Posted: 09 August 2018 at 6:35pm | IP Logged Quote Benzol

AWESOME Grogs
Thank you.
That's mentioned in the SC article on the Microbridge but the specifics are not in the Backpack article.
Something new I've learnt today.
Cheers
Back to Top View Benzol's Profile Search for other posts by Benzol
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6132
Posted: 09 August 2018 at 6:38pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

You are welcome.
I kinda thought that MIGHT be the case......

If you never really do firmware updates, you could be forgiven for totally forgetting about that MODE button.

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 


If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Search the forums using Google.
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1250 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.12