Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Micromite MMBasic Ver 5.04.10 Beta Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 6 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Zonker
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 18 August 2012
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 702
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 11:49am | IP Logged Quote Zonker

V5.04.10 beta test update...

I finally got some play time with the new beta release and I think I found something strange... I was working with the EIS panel design (PDF schematic above) and loaded up the beta firmware to have a go with the new bar gauge GUI objects...

The design uses the onboard USB for the console talking to Teraterm. So, after loading, I setup the onboard 2.2" LCD Display - option lcdpanel ILI9341,L,28,31,27

After rebooting, the USB port stopped working with windows.. Whats going on I said...
I re flashed the MPU again to be sure... Yep, same thing...

I had originally did the program work using the v5.04.08 release of the firmware...
I had not downloaded the v5.04.09 release, but did so now to go back one step...
After flashing it and setting up the display, it did the same thing.. (USB quit working).. By now, I was thinking.. Did I somehow brake the hardware..??

Nope..! I went back to v5.04.08 release and after flashing and display setup, everything is back to normal... All hardware working as expected....

So, next I went back and repeated the same sequence of version flashing to confirm what I had observed... Same results... So, I wanted to post my findings here to provide the feedback on this thread... Interesting stuff... I didn't think that v5.04.09 would behave the same as v5.04.10...

Edited by Zonker on 19 August 2018 at 11:51am



Back to Top View Zonker's Profile Search for other posts by Zonker
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Online
Posts: 2755
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 12:35pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

@Zonker
I assume you are NOT using Windows 10.
There is definitely some issue with recent firmware that the USB driver used by all versions of Windows except W10.

This post covers it:
https://www.thebackshed.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=10722&PN=1

I don't have any diagnostics that will run on XP, the only Windows I have except W10, but I expect that it is a timing issue.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
Azure
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 09 November 2017
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 446
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 1:00pm | IP Logged Quote Azure

@Zonker

Just out of curiosity what MM Hardware setup are you using?
Back to Top View Azure's Profile Search for other posts by Azure
 
Geoffg
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2446
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 1:16pm | IP Logged Quote Geoffg

I did make a small change to the USB interface in V5.04.09. I cannot remember exactly what it was now so I will have to dig back through my records. Can anyone else replicate this issue?

Geoff
Back to Top View Geoffg's Profile Search for other posts by Geoffg Visit Geoffg's Homepage
 
Zonker
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 18 August 2012
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 702
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 1:43pm | IP Logged Quote Zonker

Wow.. Thanks Jim..! I did not know that... Currently using Win 7 here...

I read through the thread you posted, but I am a little confused by it all...
Why does everything work ok until I setup the ILI9341 display..??

I am running the board off of USB power from a powered USB hub..
I can provide external power to see if that works...
I am using the Silicon Chip driver for win 7...

Also, why is it when I go back to v5.04.08 that everything works OK..??

I wasn't planing to "upgrade" this computer to Win-10...

Not sure what the next move should be... I do want to try out v5.04.10 firmware and play with the new GUI bar gauge objects but not sure what my options are to resolve this issue... Thanks in advance for any insight you could provide..!!

EDIT: - Thanks everyone for responding.. I was away for a bit and didn't refresh the page to see the new post entries from Geoff and azure

Edited by Zonker on 19 August 2018 at 1:51pm
Back to Top View Zonker's Profile Search for other posts by Zonker
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Online
Posts: 2755
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 1:45pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

I think Zonker makes 4 including me who have posted here. But I only used the USB as a test, never use it normally.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
Zonker
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 18 August 2012
Location: United States
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 702
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 2:40pm | IP Logged Quote Zonker

Ok... I will wait for Geoff's response before going any further..

@Azure
Quote:
Just out of curiosity what MM Hardware setup are you using?


I designed a set of boards that fit into a DIN panel box I can get from Turkey..
I wanted to code up an EIS to use for Ultralight aircraft use... It has 3 boards in the design, the MPU engine board, power plus board and the temp input board..



the 2.2" LCD display fits just right and after doing several other design projects, I am trying to get back to work on this one.. I like the box, as it is still small enough to not take up to much room in the cockpit panel of the airplane and has a simple set of buttons to change display screens without using "touch" on the display...

If others are interested, I can layout different PCB's for the 2 other boards and just provide a "sea of holes" to allow prototyping of what ever you want on them...

Externally, the box lets you have 2 12 pin connectors to interface to the "outside world"...

Here is the info on the 2 boards I made that plug into the MPU engine board...

2018-08-19_143731_DIN_Panel_PWR-PLUS_Plug-in.pdf

2018-08-19_143819_DIN_Panel_LTC2983_Temp_Plug-in.pdf

I hope this answers your question..!

Back to Top View Zonker's Profile Search for other posts by Zonker
 
Azure
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 09 November 2017
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 446
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 2:52pm | IP Logged Quote Azure

Sorry I should have been clearer in my question, I got half the answer, now what MM chip you are using?

Only asking so I can have a play as well (I don't normally use the USB interface). That will be when I have a moment (working on a film set today, so cannot do it right now).
Back to Top View Azure's Profile Search for other posts by Azure
 
Azure
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 09 November 2017
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 446
Posted: 19 August 2018 at 3:28pm | IP Logged Quote Azure

Zonker wrote:
I wanted to code up an EIS to use for Ultralight aircraft use... It has 3 boards in the design, the MPU engine board, power plus board and the temp input board..


Not sure if you have seen it or if this SC Project is of any use (you will only be able to see a preview of it).
Back to Top View Azure's Profile Search for other posts by Azure
 
Volhout
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 05 March 2018
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 84
Posted: 22 August 2018 at 7:00pm | IP Logged Quote Volhout

Dear Geoff,

This is basically a feature request.
For this MMBasic release could you think of a fix for te command line problem with defines in a library.

I currently use a 170. 5.04.09.
In MMBasic the chip pin no's are used to define the IO pin.
In Maximite Basic the header pin no's are used to define an IO pin.

If I want to put the 170 on a board, I will route the chip pins to header pins.

My question is a possibility to translate the header pin number (i.e. H1) to the chip pin number (i.e. 26) that works in RUN mode, but aso in command line mode.
I usually do a lot of prototyping on command line, try out things before I start writing the program. I would like to store these "translations" in a library, so they are available at cold boot.

Regards,

Volhout


__________________
If nothing goes right ... turn left
Back to Top View Volhout's Profile Search for other posts by Volhout
 
robert.rozee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1315
Posted: 24 August 2018 at 12:48am | IP Logged Quote robert.rozee

is this a bug, or just a case of GIGO (garbage in, garbage out):


> Input "1) X10"+Chr$(13)+Chr$(10)+"2) VT200", a$
1) X10"13)10)"2) VT200



cheers,
rob :-)
Back to Top View robert.rozee's Profile Search for other posts by robert.rozee
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 April 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2698
Posted: 24 August 2018 at 5:15am | IP Logged Quote WhiteWizzard

Volhout wrote:
My question is a possibility to translate the header pin number (i.e. H1) to the chip pin number (i.e. 26) that works in RUN mode, but aso in command line mode.


Check out the MicroMite User Manual and look at Library and especially read about MM.StartUp within the 'Special Functions and the Library' section (Pages 45 & 46 in v5.4 manual).

This was something I needed in the very early development days of the Library feature and it seemed to work just fine (both at RUN time and at Command Prompt )

I do however remember that the Library feature was developed further after my initial tests so I hope this will still perform in the same way for you.

WW

__________________
For everything MicroMite visit MicroMite.org

Direct Email: WhiteWizzard@MicroMite.org
Back to Top View WhiteWizzard's Profile Search for other posts by WhiteWizzard Visit WhiteWizzard's Homepage
 


<< Prev Page of 6 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1406 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.12