Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Armmite H7: Full release & documentation Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 16 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2340
Posted: 02 October 2018 at 5:07pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

When I do a port I start by commenting out all code that won't work on the new platform, then as I implement the features one by one I either re-instate or replace the code as required. I left in a commented SD card initialisation on the CWD$ function

Should work now:

2018-10-02_170533_Armmite1.3.zip

As Jim explains, in order to save command tokens I've removed all the deprecated Basic statements like WHILE/WEND. It should give a better error but the problem is that WHILE is still a valid keyword just not in that context.

Quote:
Another question - when using the display drivers in 8 bit mode, are data bits D7 to D15 available for general use?


No: the only advantages of the 8-bit drivers are that they are RGB888 rather than RGB565

Edited by matherp on 02 October 2018 at 5:19pm



Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 204
Posted: 02 October 2018 at 7:05pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

matherp wrote:
When I do a port I start by commenting out all code that won't work on the new platform, then as I implement the features one by one I either re-instate or replace the code as required. I left in a commented SD card initialisation on the CWD$ function

Should work now:

2018-10-02_170533_Armmite1.3.zip


Yes I guessed that WEND had been dropped and it only took a few minutes to convert.

Like I said, everything is running great, screen is perfect and I only mention the things I find like CWD$ in case it was an oversight, and again, an easy work around, thanks again for all the ongoing work and the updated files.

Mike.

__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2340
Posted: 02 October 2018 at 7:54pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
I only mention the things I find like CWD$ in case it was an oversight


Please do raise everything you find.

The attached should give a better error message with WHILE for which thanks to Geoff who sent me the code change to properly get rid of WHILE/WEND

2018-10-02_195332_Armmite1.3.zip
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 204
Posted: 02 October 2018 at 8:17pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

Thanks again, and I will be using these for all my projects from now on.

So slightly off topic - but - the program I wrote for the MM-100+ that controls what is basically a dual axis CNC with 3 steppers and SYNC generating and decoding of two Digital positioning slide scales went across with only the pin numbers changed in the header constants for the 25 I/O pins and dual PWM channels.

I just wired up the two Digital scale slides and they worked perfectly first time, the speed difference in timing and sync clock generation is like night and day between the 120 MHz MM-100 and this thing, it absolutely flies.

I spent almost 2 days mapping every pin on a large colour print out of the two main board headers, so once done, pin selection for the 25 I/O pins literally took seconds. No conflicts, every port works first time and I'm just blown away, glad I stuck at it.

Thank you again for all the effort that is going into making this Armmite such a fabulous platform for Geoffs wonderful MM.Basic and the effort in porting it across and getting this device working with it.

Mike.



__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
2001cpx
Regular Member
Regular Member
Avatar

Joined: 03 October 2013
Location: Canada
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 50
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 7:40am | IP Logged Quote 2001cpx


Very Great Jobs!! Thanks,

This Is a Very Low Cost Devboard,Buyed at Element for 30$.

VGA out Option Will Be Great!

__________________
"Using CGmm Color Maximite ,Duinomite-Mega,Duinomite-mini,CGmmStick,GCmicroboard2b,Micromite + explore 100,LCD backpack,TFT Backpack,Micromite Extreme"
Back to Top View 2001cpx's Profile Search for other posts by 2001cpx
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 204
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 4:12pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

Latest Armmite1.3.zip

NOTE: If you put the card back in while it's locked, the CTRL-C prompts suddenly reappears and/ or the EXIT button will now work.


   Option default none
   Option explicit
   
   Font 4 
   GUI BUTTON 2,"EXIT",100,100,80,100,RGB(white),RGB(RED)
   
   DO
      IF TOUCH(REF) = 2 then END
  
    TEST_SD()
      
   LOOP
   
   
SUB TEST_SD()
local TMP as string
   on error ignore
   TMP = CWD$
   on error abort
END SUB



Without an SD card this locks the system and only a reset will get it back to the prompt - CTRL-C will not work OR plug an SD card back in.

I've updated the code make it easier to test.

Take out the GUI and it will run without locking.

NOTE It's not just CWD$ but Chdir will do the same, anything that tries to see if an SD card is present without crashing to the prompt won't work, it works in the MM-100.

Hopefully someone else can try this and confirm.

EDIT: It also needs to be in a Procedure for it to lock, does not lock in the main loop as easily.


Edited by KeepIS on 03 October 2018 at 4:34pm


__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2673
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 4:41pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

You have tight loop
Put a pause in the main loop and it works OK.
Quote:
OPTION DEFAULT NONE
OPTION EXPLICIT

FONT 4
GUI BUTTON 2,"SETUP",100,100,80,80,RGB(WHITE),RGB(RED)

DO

TEST_SD()
PAUSE 1000 ''''''''''''''''''''''''
LOOP


SUB TEST_SD()
ON ERROR IGNORE
PRINT CWD$
ON ERROR ABORT
PRINT "123"
END SUB


Without the PAUSE, there is no time to check the console/keyboard.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 204
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 4:56pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

I had a longer pause in there initially, but stripped everything out that was not needed, in my system I can CTRL-C out first time every time without any pause.

I've changed the code I posted to show how it appears to hang without the SD card but starts working once a card is inserted. Like I said - I need to check for a card error without crashing to the prompt, I've been doing this for ages, now it no longer works.

__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2673
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 5:12pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

My version loops happily and prints 123 without the SDcard inserted and 123 and the CWD with it inserted.
RUN
123
123
123
R:/
123
R:/
123
R:/
123
>

Output when started without the SD card then continues when the SDcard is inserted.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2340
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 5:45pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Need more info. What is the objective here? I can understand a single test at the start of a program as to whether the SDcard is inserted but to continue to check over and over again? Are you using CD?

It would be possible to create a system variable MM.SDCARD that gives the status of the SDcard rather than the coarse technique of trying to access it.

Checking the SDcard is easy enough if CD is wired. If it isn't you have to send a command and wait for a response or timeout. This wastes processor time so I have only set this to happen every 65536 Basic statements.
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 204
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 6:02pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

This is a tiny crappy test program to show that trying to check if the SD card is working causes the program to NOW appear to hang until a card is inserted.

!: The SD card is ONLY checked ONCE in the main program and normally bring up a message box alerting the user that the SD card cannot be read.

2: It ONLY appears to hang if GUI elements are declared.

3: I'm using the SD slot on the LCD.

4: In the previous version I got my message box if the card was faulty or removed.

5: In the latest version I don't, it never get to the message box because it sits somewhere in MM.Basic until a SD card is eventually inserted OR reset is pressed.



__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2340
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 6:05pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
In the previous version I got my message box if the card was faulty or removed.


Which version?
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 


<< Prev Page of 16 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1387 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.14