Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Armmite H7: Full release & documentation Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 21 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 6:34pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

Should have said the previous ZIP that fixed the display problem.


__________________
It's all too hard.


Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 03 October 2018 at 7:00pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

Look like I was wrong I didn't check with no card on the previous version.

So the only solution is to just plug in a card or a new card and wait for whatever is happening outside of the main program to see a card, and then it returns back to the next line in the main program.

__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
TrevorH
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 06 April 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 72
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 7:30am | IP Logged Quote TrevorH

Hi Peter,

The last changes to touch on page 12 you wrote:-
Quote:
Please try the attached and let me know if it improves things

2018-10-01 191415 Armmite1.3.zip

Well it worked for for me also.. Many Thanks!!!

Have you one of the daughter boards V1.3 available??

Trevor.
Back to Top View TrevorH's Profile Search for other posts by TrevorH
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 12:24pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

The last word on the SD card - I promise.

I did a rewrite of the main SD check code so that swapping the SD card from the MM-100 into an Armmite and back the other way always works even though the drive letters are different.

First off, I realise that the following would likely not happen if I had a card detect line on the LCD SD slot.

The same complete application is running on both units:

MM-100 with CD Disabled for this test.

MM-100 no SD card:

Pops up a program message box with an error (takes about 2 seconds to appear) click OK and the program opens with default set-up values.

Armmite no SD card:

Will sit forever inside the Basic interpreter and will never come back to the next line.

HOWEVER: Every so often on a restart it will continue and bring up the program Message box.

Both the Armmite and MM-100 handle a newly formatted SD card with no files or directories. They both open the correct message boxes and make the missing directories and setup files as needed.

NOTE: The SD program code runs with "ON ERROR IGNORE" and checks for errors accordingly. There is never a dump to the prompt no matter what the error. On exit from the SD code "ON ERROR ABORT" is set.

So it's all good, I'll get an small SD reader with CD and use it instead of the LCD unit, which is not that good at holding the SD card anyway.

__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2497
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 5:26pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

I've just run this version of your test program

Quote:
Option default none
Option explicit
CLS
Font 4
GUI BUTTON 2,"EXIT",100,100,80,100,RGB(white),RGB(RED)

Do
If Touch(REF) = 2 Then End

TEST_SD()

Loop


Sub TEST_SD()
Local TMP As string
On error ignore
TMP = Cwd$
On error abort
End Sub


I can't find anything wrong either with or without CD defined (SDcard on backpack 1.3)

In all cases (start with no card, start with card, start with card then remove, start with card and then insert) I can stop the program either with the gui button or ctrl-C.

The only difference is that when the card is not inserted the time to respond to the GUI button or ctrl-C is longer (c 0.5 seconds) as you must wait for the timeout of the SDcard failed initialisation. In the case of the GUI button it must be kept "touched" for this period.

If you reset the uP without the SDcard, then type FILES you will see a short pause before you get the "SD card not present" error. By putting a statement like "TMP=CWD$" in a real program, this pause in processing is happening every time -BAD!!!!

If CD is connected then of course this pause doesn't happen

Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 6:43pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

Yes I see that behaviour with files and am aware of the delay, I have waited minutes, I've re flashed the Armmite, done a full erase, but the program will not run, the only thing I haven't checked is what the shared lines are doing without the SD card inserted - Although I don't see how this could cause this behaviour.

Are you trying the SD card on a 7" display? There may be a problem with the 7" displays and their SD card slot? I can't get out as yet due to injury to get another SD card holder.

I'm glad you have it running as it means that I can look elsewhere - as above. But with an SD card it's working faultlessly as far as read writes go. I'm not concerned about it, it's just one of things that I would like to get to the bottom of when I get a chance.

BTW I'm so impressed with how my large Milling controller program is running on the Armmite that I've ordered two more Units - love them and the work you have done.

Thanks.

Edited by KeepIS on 04 October 2018 at 6:48pm


__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 6:54pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

matherp wrote:
By putting a statement like "TMP=CWD$" in a real program, this pause in processing is happening every time -BAD!!!!


Like I said, it's a piece of crap that I just chucked up to highlight the error I had. I would NEVER do anything like this in a real program.



__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
Vito
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 October 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 8:04pm | IP Logged Quote Vito

matherp,

Is there any longer term support plan for this STM port?
Is source code going to be available or is it closed source?

Under what license is this firmware distributed?

From memory there was an earlier STM port for STM32F4 but support for it didn't last long.

Thanks
Back to Top View Vito's Profile Search for other posts by Vito
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2497
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 8:49pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
Is there any longer term support plan for this STM port?

Plan - No. Will I support it for the foreseeable future - Yes. However, like all firmware it will work at a particular version level with the functionality of that level and the bugs of that level as long as working chips are available

Quote:
Is source code going to be available or is it closed source?

It can be made available, subject to Geoff's agreement, on exactly the same terms as he makes other versions of MMBasic source available. But note, to compile it you need the same development environment as I use and I have no interest in helping set this up for third parties so you would be on your own. This is an issue for all modern chips. Development environments are becoming increasingly complex (CubeMX/HAL or MPLABX/Harmony) and source itself is only one component of the infrastructure necessary to build the firmware.

Quote:
Under what license is this firmware distributed?

Free to use but not to modify - same as all other MMBasic implementations

Quote:
From memory there was an earlier STM port for STM32F4 but support for it didn't last long.

As per my first reply, the port still works within the limitations of the version. However, the chip became less interesting as the PIC32MZ and other faster chips became available and also the development environment COIDE/non-CubeMX is no longer supported.
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
Vito
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 October 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Posted: 04 October 2018 at 8:59pm | IP Logged Quote Vito

Thanks,

Appreciate clarification.
Back to Top View Vito's Profile Search for other posts by Vito
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 05 October 2018 at 9:58am | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

I'm breaking my promise, one more post on the SD card holder fitted to the 7" touch displays.

It's FIXED. The problem with apparent program lock-up at start-up when no SD card was inserted or SD card loose is solved.

I stated a few times in previous posts that it only appeared to happen when a GUI element was defined in the program. I wondered if the shared Touch controller lines were causing a problem when the SD card was missing, could defining a GUI which requires touch, enable or change the behaviour of the Touch I/O control lines and therefore cause a problem with the now missing SD card data in line to the Armmite (shared) making it think that never ending data was coming from the SD card?

I decided to pull the shared Touch-Data + SD-Data out line low (as in, make it a lower impedance line) using a 10K resistor to GND, wondering if there was either leakage / crosstalk / noise from other LCD lines or if the LCD + SD slot board layout when the SD card was not connected (loading) the line was the problem, BINGO - everything now works perfectly and pops up the correct message box if the SD card is missing, loose or unreadable for any reason.

I also did this test: I disconnected the resistor and reset the Armmite with no SD card inserted, as usual I appeared to have a frozen main GUI screen, I waited and waited and waited and waited, finally I connected the resistor, like magic MM.Basic then returned to the program, my error message box displayed, I pressed OK and the program ran with defaults as it always has.

Mike.


Edited by KeepIS on 05 October 2018 at 1:55pm


__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 15 October 2018 at 9:39am | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

The Armmite_H7 manual says a USB keyboard can be plugged into the micro-USB port of a Nucleop-H743ZI. Am I correct in assuming that this means the one USB port defined in the Pinouts - pin (103) USB D+ and pin (104) USB D- ?

BTW I tried a micro SD card holder from Jaycar and it works perfectly without any noise issues, looks like the SD slot on the 7" LCD is just way to noisy due to board layout to use reliability - at least in my case anyway.

__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 


<< Prev Page of 21 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1563 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0.05, 0, 0, 0.11