Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Armmite H7: Full release & documentation Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 21 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 5:16pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

Yes, nice to have others willing to test so quickly. Fortunately I have two boards but I'm leaving one in it's virgin state until I get everything running, very handy to compare.

__________________
It's all too hard.


Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2755
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 5:29pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

Grogster,
You could have stopped my code by holding down the user button long enough.
I agree that not being able to ctrl-C to stop is not good.
One for Peter who is going to be pleased that there are now a lot more testers!

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2502
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 6:13pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Thanks for the testing and feedback.

I'll make a change so that OPTION AUTORUN give an error if included in a program. It does a write to 128kBytes of flash whenever you change an option which takes time and could cause all sorts of issues so it is better if I block it.

Ctrl-C works perfectly when autorun is on - the program aborts as requested.

BUT it then runs from the beginning again

This may be tricky to fix as the code appears to be correct so there is something different about the STM32 that I haven't understood. I'll fix this once I understand it. In the meantime testing a pin and then exiting is a good workround.

Edited by matherp on 25 September 2018 at 6:13pm
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 6:29pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

It's a shame there is no way to make Ctrl-C turn Autorun off, I've had issues in the past with the MM-100 in some cases.

Thanks for the great work you are doing - I'm not worried about spending lots of time testing before I get to put it to some real use, it will be worth it in the end and nothing compared to your work time and knowledge needed in coding and porting this.

Mike.

__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2502
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 7:17pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

OK found it - try this

2018-09-25_191711_Armmite1.3.zip
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 8:08pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS


SetPin 7,inth,aa1
SetPin 137,dout

Do
Pause 1000
Pin(137) = 0
Pause 1000
Pin(137) = 1
Loop

Sub aa1
Print "end"
End
End Sub


why does autorun cause an error on restart but the program runs fine when run is typed at the prompt.

error is label not found.

Mike

__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2502
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 8:29pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
why does autorun cause an error on restart but the program runs fine when run is typed at the prompt.


In technical jargon it is called:

a bug

Try this:

2018-09-25_202858_Armmite1.3.zip

Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
KeepIS
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 13 October 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 8:36pm | IP Logged Quote KeepIS

Thanks, I'll download the new version in the morning.



__________________
It's all too hard.
Back to Top View KeepIS's Profile Search for other posts by KeepIS
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6307
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 9:59pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

While playing around with the ARMmite tonight, I find that the editor does odd things quite often. As you are typing, it will suddenly move to the next line and you typing continues. If you try to backspace, the cursor does not move, but typing another character moves the cursor along. Pressing F1 to save works, but then the code is corrupted if you go back into the editor.

I am using Rob's GFXterm. It might be the problem. I will try with TeraTerm tomorrow, and also update to the latest you posted here.

Has anyone else with an ARMmite seen that kind of odd behaviour in the editor?

I am treating the ARMmite as an Alpha release at this stage, so I know there will be bugs to chase.

But you have created a very powerful MM, Pete!

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
CaptainBoing
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 September 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 687
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 10:35pm | IP Logged Quote CaptainBoing

Hello Peter, hope you are well.
2018-09-25_223439_code.zip
I have been playing with the ARMmite for a day and I left a bit of code running just to exercise it and it throws an "out of memory" error on a Function define line, as shown below:


> RUN
 946685842      01-01-2000 00:17:22
 946685843      01-01-2000 00:17:23
 946685844      01-01-2000 00:17:24
 946685845      01-01-2000 00:17:25
...
 946685962      01-01-2000 00:19:22
 946685963      01-01-2000 00:19:23
 946685964      01-01-2000 00:19:24
[218] Function Now(opt As Integer) As string ' d$ is a dummy string to make the function syntax work nicely
Error: Not enough memory
>


seems to run for around two minutes each time.

Code is attached

anything you need me to do please say.

regards

h

Back to Top View CaptainBoing's Profile Search for other posts by CaptainBoing
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2502
Posted: 25 September 2018 at 11:46pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
it throws an "out of memory" error on a Function define line, as shown below:


Oops: One optimisation too far

Please find attached V5.04.31 which rolls up the various bugs found since 5.04.30

2018-09-25_234603_Armmite1.3.zip

STILL NOT CORRECT, MORE WORK REQUIRED - COMPILER BUG!!!

Edited by matherp on 26 September 2018 at 12:51am
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
CaptainBoing
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 September 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 687
Posted: 26 September 2018 at 12:55am | IP Logged Quote CaptainBoing

Hi Peter.

same error at the same spot - sorry.

always on the 1020th attempt if that helps, odd because it isn't doing anything spectacular.



The below is simply a tight loop to print the Now() return value, no delay


...
01-01-2000 00:19:44
01-01-2000 00:19:44
01-01-2000 00:19:44
01-01-2000 00:19:44
[219] Function Now(opt As Integer) As string
Error: Not enough memory




I have pared the code right back to just the following:



     do
          Print now()
     loop

     Function Now(opt As Integer) As string
          If opt=0 Then
               Now=Date$+" "+Time$
          Else
               Now=Right$(Date$,4)+Mid$(Date$,3,4)+Left$(Date$,2)+" "+Time$
          EndIf
     End Function
     
Back to Top View CaptainBoing's Profile Search for other posts by CaptainBoing
 


<< Prev Page of 21 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1914 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.17