Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: LCD Panel Help Needed Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 5 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
panky
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 12:01pm | IP Logged Quote panky

Hi all,

I have a need for a large display so after some research, I purchased a 9" TFT LCD panel from BuyDisplay.com. It is based on an SSD1963 controller and has an XPT2046 touch controller.

Using OPTION LCDPANEL_7A, it all works after working out the wiring differences on the plug between a real 7" and the 9". Display is clear, no tearing and is centred and touch works fine.

The only problem is the colours - green comes out as blue, red comes out as a greenish yellow, grey comes out almost white, white comes out as pale cyan and so on.

The display is completely stable and looks great except for the colours.

I tried LCDPANEL_7 and again, while the display was fully stable, the colours were off but in a different way.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

panky.

Error in above.
I did use the correct setups -
OPTION LCDPANEL SSD1963_7A,L,48,6 (Explore 100 board)
... and also tried
OPTION LCDPANEL SSD1963_7,L,48,6

panky


Edited by panky on 06 October 2018 at 12:04pm


__________________
DonTSM1,Duinomite,CGCMM1,CGCMM2,2xDimitech,3xWWuMites,MicksMuP,Grogster1A,4xPeterMuM+,Zonker DIP-600,3xCGuKits,CGuBoard2,SnadPic100,SCBP64 & Exp100,PMMZ144,PMMZ100 .. and loving it![:D


Back to Top View panky's Profile Search for other posts by panky
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6128
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 12:39pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

I'll be watching this thread with interest, to see what Geoff or Peter say, but it was my understanding that the MM+/MMx/ARMmite/PiCromite don't support LCD's bigger then 8" maximum. You might simply have an LCD geometry which the MM does not support, and so that is what is corrupting the colours.

I might well be wrong, but I seem to recall reading that 8" is the current maximum.
I also did not think that the 1963 controller chip could support bigger then 8" either, so how they have got a 9" one working on it, could be anyone's guess.

Do you happen to have a schematic for your 9" LCD?
BuyDisplay are pretty good there, especially if you purchase from them, so ask them to zap you the schematic if you don't already have it. That might reveal something.

If you CAN make the 9" display work, that would be ideal for my next project, so yes - watching this one with interest!

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
panky
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 1:31pm | IP Logged Quote panky

G,

Yes, I do understand the current limit of 8", however checking the specs of the 7", 8" and 9" panels, they all are 800 x 480, all use the SSD1963 and XPT2046.

Looking at the example code for use with Arduino, they all appear to have very similar setups with some minor variations on timing which I assume is just related to physical size. The only major difference is the pinout but I have that worked out and flying leads across to an Explore 100.

So I took the chance to have a play around and try to get it to work

The fact that the display is completely stable with complex text and GUI elements displayed would indicate that in genereral, it is 99% compatible - the only issue is colour and in fact it is red that is missing although I do get some white (ish) elements displayed. I have tried varying combos of colour using the CLS command but most turn out to blue through green. Could be timing related to passing colour info?

Screenshot is as shown below


Ignore the striations - they are an artifact introduced by the camera. All colours, while wrong in colour are solid blocks and bright and clear. The needle in the circular gauge should be gray but comes up as off white with a blue tinge. The blue in the centre of the gauge should be darkish gray as should the background on the engine frame and so on and so forth.


panky.


__________________
DonTSM1,Duinomite,CGCMM1,CGCMM2,2xDimitech,3xWWuMites,MicksMuP,Grogster1A,4xPeterMuM+,Zonker DIP-600,3xCGuKits,CGuBoard2,SnadPic100,SCBP64 & Exp100,PMMZ144,PMMZ100 .. and loving it![:D
Back to Top View panky's Profile Search for other posts by panky
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2673
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 1:46pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

It is possible that your display is in the wrong mode. You can have 8080 or 6800 mode.
I don't know what mode the 'normal' displays use.
Assuming I have looked at the correct board, there is a pair of resistors R3 and R4 on the display board that are used to set the mode.


I would check with Peter or Geoff before attacking the board.

The pixel data mapping appears to be the same for both modes so I could be wrong.

If it can be got working, it will be a popular choice.

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
shallowal
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 July 2018
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 1:50pm | IP Logged Quote shallowal

Looks to me like red is not displaying at all.
Faulty panel?
Back to Top View shallowal's Profile Search for other posts by shallowal
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2673
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 2:44pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

Something to try is:
OPTION LCDPANEL SSD1963_8,L,48,6


The 8inch is not documented but might be in the firmware.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
panky
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 3:16pm | IP Logged Quote panky

Bingo Jim you're a wizard!

I thought I had tried that earlier but obviously not.

I can report that the 9" TFT LCD from BuyDisplay.com part number
ER-TFTM090 v10
9"-800xRGBx480 Dots TFT LCD Module with SSD1963 and Touch Controller XPT2046

works straight out of the box using
OPTION LCDPANEL SSD1963_8,l,48,6
(the last two numbers are for my Explore 100 that I am driving it with).

Diagram of the pinout as below


panky



__________________
DonTSM1,Duinomite,CGCMM1,CGCMM2,2xDimitech,3xWWuMites,MicksMuP,Grogster1A,4xPeterMuM+,Zonker DIP-600,3xCGuKits,CGuBoard2,SnadPic100,SCBP64 & Exp100,PMMZ144,PMMZ100 .. and loving it![:D
Back to Top View panky's Profile Search for other posts by panky
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2673
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 3:24pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

Good news.
One happy Guinea pig.

Which interface did you get 6800 or 8080?
3.3V or 5V?

They seem to have a few options to choose from when ordering.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
panky
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 4:09pm | IP Logged Quote panky

8080 and 5V. Am running the whole thing off 5V that is feeding the Explore 100. Full brightness on the LCD plus the Explore 100 pulls 580mA.

The unit can operate as 8080 or 6800 and 5V or 3V3 with both cases settable by jumpers. Default shipping is 8080 and 5V.

The unit I ordered initially was the 10" but the controller was different so I emailed BuyDisplay.com and said what I needed was a 9" with SSD1963 and XPT2046 resistive - I didn't ask for the pin header or any font chips but as I had over ordered (and paid for the 10") they threw in the pin header and the touch chip.

The BuyDisplay.com folks were extremely helpful and responsive and although it cost extra, they shipped Fedex and it took just 10 days from start to finnish.

Good experience all around. I am now working on an adaptor board that will connect to the 7" header and re-map to a header for the 9". Have not had a chance to test on MMX or ARMMite platforms yet but hope to get to that over the next few weeks.

Cheers,
panky.


__________________
DonTSM1,Duinomite,CGCMM1,CGCMM2,2xDimitech,3xWWuMites,MicksMuP,Grogster1A,4xPeterMuM+,Zonker DIP-600,3xCGuKits,CGuBoard2,SnadPic100,SCBP64 & Exp100,PMMZ144,PMMZ100 .. and loving it![:D
Back to Top View panky's Profile Search for other posts by panky
 
panky
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 02 October 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 549
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 4:13pm | IP Logged Quote panky

Forgot to add, SD card on the LCD is a 4 bit paralled and I understand this is not supported so if you need an SD card and want to use this unit, you will need one on the main PCB like Grogsters 1D Explore 100 board.

panky.


__________________
DonTSM1,Duinomite,CGCMM1,CGCMM2,2xDimitech,3xWWuMites,MicksMuP,Grogster1A,4xPeterMuM+,Zonker DIP-600,3xCGuKits,CGuBoard2,SnadPic100,SCBP64 & Exp100,PMMZ144,PMMZ100 .. and loving it![:D
Back to Top View panky's Profile Search for other posts by panky
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2340
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 5:26pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
SD card on the LCD is a 4 bit paralled and I understand this is not supported


You should still be able to use it in SPI mode

D0 = MISO
CMD = MOSI
CLK = CLK
D3 = CS
D2 = N/C
D1 = N/C
CD = CD if wired
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6128
Posted: 06 October 2018 at 6:22pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

VERY interesting. Please post some new photos if you get time.
I might just have to check these ones out. I assume these are the ones you got:

9" LCD LINK

EDIT:

@ panky: From 9" PDF manual for this display, page 10, section 4.3:





Edited by Grogster on 06 October 2018 at 6:32pm


__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 


Page of 5 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1250 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.11