Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: Driver for clock pendulum Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 2 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Dabbler

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 04 November 2018 at 6:06pm | IP Logged Quote Dabbler

Hi, I am a beginner programming the Micromite. I am having difficulty getting it to do some simple things, so I am obviously missing something very basic.
I think it is probably best if I can explain what I am trying to do and how I am going about it as I may be approaching it in a less than optimal way!
I am making a pendulum clock where the pendulum takes 1 second to go from one side to the other. I want to generate a pulse of a varying duration to power an electromagnet that will repel a permanent magnet on the pendulum and thus keep the pendulum going. I want the pulse to adjust so as to regulate the amplitude of the pendulum swing -- keeping it fairly constant.

My approach is to use a Hall Effect Sensor centred at the middle of the swing. This turns on a shortly before the pendulum reaches the central position and turns off shortly afterwards. The duration of this pulse will be shorter when the pendulum is swinging widely and longer when the pendulum’s arc is shorter.
From a programming point of view, I have set pin 16 as INTH sending to a SUB that records the time as a variable, then resets the TIMER to 0. The recorded time will measure the period of the pendulum that should stay constant. (Knowing this helps to adjust the pendulum length and hence accuracy of the clock. )