Home  |  Contents 

Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: MM Plus restart? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
davematt
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 38
Posted: 09 November 2018 at 2:31pm | IP Logged Quote davematt

Hi all, I have 2 MM Plus mites running 5.04.09 running a counting program that reliably goes for 5 mins exactly and then restarts itself. Problem is, it's not supposed to! Can post the code, but truly, it's nothing but increment a counter and print.
Mites are freshly flashed, can see nothing to imply some sort of timeout. Can anyone help?
TIA, Dave


Back to Top View davematt's Profile Search for other posts by davematt
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2712
Posted: 09 November 2018 at 2:47pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

Try the latest beta.
There were a few problems with calling SUBs if that is what you are doing.
There were also problems with the USB console if that is what you are using.

Jim


__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6229
Posted: 09 November 2018 at 3:09pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

Yes, or go back to the last STABLE release: 5.04.08

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
davematt
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 38
Posted: 09 November 2018 at 4:59pm | IP Logged Quote davematt




Hopefully this shows both code and result...
Thanks Jim and Grogster. Above is using 5.04.04. I cant find 5.04.08 in the archive, is it available somewhere else?
Will try the latest beta.
2 extra thoughts...
This test was on a brand new chip in an adapter socket, no change.
Can't see how this didn't emerge earlier, been playing with mm plus for years.
Only change my end has been a switch to Win 10. Oh hell...
Back to Top View davematt's Profile Search for other posts by davematt
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2712
Posted: 09 November 2018 at 5:24pm | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

NO problems running the same code here on 5.4.10 beta 13
but I don't use the USB port



Edited by TassyJim on 09 November 2018 at 5:24pm


__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
erbp
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 03 May 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 68
Posted: 09 November 2018 at 7:14pm | IP Logged Quote erbp

I have test run your code on my early style E64 module (without the 1455 USB interface). I did 2 runs - first used an external Microbridge (1455) module to interface the serial console pins to the PC USB cable, the second used the USB cable connected directly to the USB socket on the E64 module. Both cases used an external 5v PSU. Both tests ran over 7 minutes without any hint of a restart and I'm sure they would have just continued running if I hadn't stopped them!

My E64 is running firmware version 5.04.08 and my PC is running Window 10 ver 1803.

Cheers,
Phil.
Back to Top View erbp's Profile Search for other posts by erbp
 
Geoffg
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 06 June 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2427
Posted: 09 November 2018 at 10:56pm | IP Logged Quote Geoffg

The problem could be the 10uF capacitor connected to the VCap pin. A faulty VCap has been known to cause intermittent restarts. Powering the MM+ from a PC or USB charger can also cause the same problem. Try using a solid lab supply or three fresh batteries in series.
Back to Top View Geoffg's Profile Search for other posts by Geoffg Visit Geoffg's Homepage
 
davematt
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 38
Posted: 10 November 2018 at 3:29pm | IP Logged Quote davematt

Hmmm, not sure if this classifies as solved, but problem was cheap power supply with almost no current reserve at all. Spot on 5 minutes the mite (with nothing else connected!) will draw enough current to drop the supply voltage and crash itself. Any normal quality supply will handle this, just not mine.
But I would just love to know what's happening here. Anyone?
Back to Top View davematt's Profile Search for other posts by davematt
 


If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Search the forums using Google.
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1113 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.11