Windmills
  Forum Index : Windmills         Section
Subject Topic: 24V 48Step Mitsumi Stepper Motor? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 2 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
b.r.b.

Online Status: Offline
Posted: 03 October 2008 at 2:12am | IP Logged Quote b.r.b.

Hi everyone - I'm going to build the mini mill to get my feet wet so I just found an old laser printer with a 24V 48 Step (7.5 degrees) stepping motor in it.

http://www.digchip.com/datasheets/parts/datasheet/304/M42SP- 5.php

Because the steps are so low - can I reasonably expect this to charge a 12V battery? I do plan on doubling the volts to 48 by using two full wave bridge rectifiers.

I'm very new to this and am excited to try this tiny one out - so if anyone can give me guidance - that would be great!

I'd like to have this motor charge a 12V battery that will be used to power a handful of white LED lights - so I can light up my barn. Is that doable with this thing?

I live on the coast of Maine - and get a lot of ocean wind - not sure how hard but enough to spin this thing, I think.

John

Edited by b.r.b. on 03 October 2008 at 2:36am

Back to Top View b.r.b.'s Profile Search for other posts by b.r.b.

KiwiJohn
Guru
Guru

Posted: 03 October 2008 at 6:33am | IP Logged Quote KiwiJohn

There is only one way to be sure John! Of course we dont know how big your barn is or how much wind your get or how often you would have the light one, or... etc etc!

I suggest you go ahead and build the mini mill as one thing for sure, apart from the fun of it, you will know more at the end of the exercise.

You wont get the placard volts, at least not all the time, but there are various ways of arranging things to trade amps for volts.

So go ahead, build the mini mill and keep us informed of progress and I am sure there will be plenty of suggestions to help as you go along.

John

Back to Top View KiwiJohn's Profile Search for other posts by KiwiJohn

b.r.b.