Home  |  Contents 

Windmills
  Forum Index : Windmills         Section
Subject Topic: WAAAAAAAAA Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Bryan1
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 22 February 2006
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 878
Posted: 29 September 2007 at 10:37am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote Bryan1

Hiya Guys,
Well Murphy is really giving me a hard time with wind gennies. First I got hardly any wind and when the genny did turn the best I saw was 6 volts so I've defenately stuffed up the re-wire somehow. Anyway Murphy came with a venegance on thursday night as the pic's show. My tower was made from 2" thick wall water pipe as per Glenn's tilting tower. I must admit I should of put guy wires on the top section but I never though murhpy would come around and bend that pipe like it was a pipe cleaner.






Back to Top View Bryan1's Profile Search for other posts by Bryan1
 
Gizmo
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar
Administrator

Joined: 05 June 2004
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 4659
Posted: 29 September 2007 at 11:37am | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote Gizmo

Wow!

Well at least it proves the the blades were working well, she must have been going fast when that happened. And it means your guy wire anchors worked too.

My top guy wires are attached to the tower just below the bottom edge of the blade diameter. The 2nd set of wires attach at the pivot point like yours do. Been a tilt tower, yeah it means I need to disconnect two of the top guy wires before I can tilt over the tower, but the bottom guy wire are strong enough to take the load so long as the wind is light.

Nice looking windmill.

Glenn


__________________
"If it dont fit, use a bigger hammer."

The Back Shed
JAQ Software
Back to Top View Gizmo's Profile Search for other posts by Gizmo Visit Gizmo's Homepage
 
vasi
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 23 March 2007
Location: Romania
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1697
Posted: 29 September 2007 at 12:52pm | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote vasi

This guy, Murphy, is very strong. Next time watch him carefully. Anyway, he needs medical help ... don't let him alone.



Yes, the propeller resisted!
Back to Top View vasi's Profile Search for other posts by vasi Visit vasi's Homepage
 
Bryan1
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 22 February 2006
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 878
Posted: 29 September 2007 at 3:57pm | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote Bryan1

So Glenn can you maybe suggest why my F&P was only making 6 volts at best when I reckon the blades were doing 200 + rpm. I've double checked everything and there's no shorts etc, the f&p is a 100sp I got from Dennis and for the life of me I don'y know why it's outputting low volts. Now when I'm doing the voltage checks the genny is free wheeling, :- not connected to any load. I'm going to replace the top section and put guy wires on it and put a 100s with no mod's and see how that goes.

Cheers Bryan

Edit: Sorry if the above post caused some confusion, I got a 100s F&P off Dennis and did the re-wind myself. Once again sorry for the confusion.

Edited by Bryan1 on 09 October 2007 at 9:32am
Back to Top View Bryan1's Profile Search for other posts by Bryan1
 
KiwiJohn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 December 2005
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 691
Posted: 29 September 2007 at 6:10pm | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote KiwiJohn

Hmmm Bryan let me think about this for a minute or two ... possible causes of low voltgage:

Not enough coils in series.
Some coils wired 'anti phase' so that the voltage of some coils is working against the voltage of others.
Rectifiers stuft, maybe causing a short circuit over some phase(s).
Short circuit, genny should be very hard to start and get hot when running at 200 rpm.
High resistance somewhere in the circuit. (That would show a high volts open circuit but falling to low volts as soon as current starts to flow).

You have checked for short circuits and double checked everything so my best guess is a high resistance point. This will show high volts when open circuit but low volts when connected to anything (same as a dirty battery terminal in your car). I would suggest shorting the output and seeing if it is easy to turn, if it is then it is not really a short circuit and you should look for the high resistance point which could be a cold (or dry) soldered joint or even just too long wires or too thin wires.


Good luck.


Edited by KiwiJohn on 29 September 2007 at 6:11pm
Back to Top View KiwiJohn's Profile Search for other posts by KiwiJohn
 
FandPwithPVC
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 09 September 2006
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 64
Posted: 29 September 2007 at 8:03pm | IP Logged Copy link to clipboard   Quote FandPwithPVC

Hi Bryan For the record I have never rewired a 100S to make a 100SP. The speed required to drive a 100SP in Star and get 24 Volts is above 700 RPM and not achievable with sufficient torque. Keep up the good work
Regards Dennis L
Back to Top View FandPwithPVC's Profile Search for other posts by FandPwithPVC
 


If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Search the forums using Google.
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You can vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1250 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0.02, 0, 0, 0.11