Home  |  Contents 
Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: uM2(+): Wifi replaces USB for console? Post ReplyPost New Topic
Page of 5 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1765
Posted: 10 March 2016 at 6:33pm | IP Logged Quote matherp

There are so many uses of the ESP8266 and today I thought I'd try using it as a simple Wifi to UART converter.

There is some nicely written code freely available here . I just downloaded the binaries (no need to install the Arduino IDE or compile anything) and used the NodeMCU Flasher 64-bit windows program to load it up. There is also a 32-bit version available

Depending on what you have been running on your ESP8266 it is worth completely erasing it before loading new firmware. This program has the option to do that. I found that the program wouldn't overwrite ESP8266 Basic without completely erasing first.

Once you have downloaded the Wifi/Uart binary run the NodeMCU Flasher and set up the three bits of the binaries to be flashed on the "Config" tab





The instructions on Github are quite good but miss the issue of where to load "Blank.bin". On a 1MB ESP load it to 0xFE000. On a 2MB version use 0x1FE000. On a 4MB one use 0x3FE000. I haven't tried using one of the early 512MB ESP8266.

Set the Flash size on the "Advanced" tab. The ESP8266 will automatically adjust to the baudrate set but 115200 works well




Finally, go back to the "Operation" tab and click "Flash"

As always when flashing an ESP8266 GPIO0 needs to be connected to GND. I also find that after clicking "Flash" then briefly grounding the RESET pin on the ESP8266 will result in 100% success in flashing.




Once the ESP is programmed follow the instructions on github to configure it for your wifi network. Remember to remove the GND on GPIO0 and reset the ESP.

Then use your favourite console program (it is MMEDit I assume) and create a Telnet connection to the IP address that the ESP software reported. I then create a fixed IP allocation for the device's MAC address on the router so I know it will always be on the same address.





From then on you have normal console access to the Micromite as though it was wired via USB - excellent . Programs download from MMEdit just as normal allowing easy remote program update.

IMPORTANT

the github code sets the ESP8266 to run the UART at 115200 baud so you must use OPTION BAUDRATE 115200 on the Micromite before connecting via Telnet



Edited by matherp on 10 March 2016 at 6:57pm



Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
MikeO
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 133
Posted: 10 March 2016 at 10:22pm | IP Logged Quote MikeO

Totally agree with Matherp. I have been using this program very successfully for some time, see my earlier post. One caveat, whereas MMEdit chat communicates fine I usually use Teraterm in conjunction with MMEdit and I could not get teraterm to work reliably in this case (I have used teraterm over TCP/IP previously ok). In my post I do refer to another Terminal program I found however and it works very successfully it even has macros and file transfer so I am still able to use Tassy Jims excellent "Crunched" file transfers.
By the way if you still want to use 38000 baud you can set the serial rate in the ESP8266 programs Web page.
My unit in use on my weather station.



Mike


__________________
http://www.codenquilts.com.au
Back to Top View MikeO's Profile Search for other posts by MikeO Visit MikeO's Homepage
 
Phil23
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 March 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1094
Posted: 03 April 2016 at 10:08pm | IP Logged Quote Phil23

Am I correct in assuming this would be a suitable device?

ESP8266 Serial WIFI Wireless Transceiver Module

And this?
It seems to be more of a development board, but the seller has really good delivery time, so might suit me, but not if it won't do the job.

NodeMcu Lua V3 WIFI Networking development board Based ESP8266

Haven't looked at the China suppliers yet, but they generally take 2 or 3 weeks to deliver & would prefer something I can order today & receive later in the week.

Thanks.

Back to Top View Phil23's Profile Search for other posts by Phil23
 
bigfix
Regular Member
Regular Member


Joined: 20 February 2014
Location: Austria
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 52
Posted: 04 April 2016 at 6:39am | IP Logged Quote bigfix

Nodemcu LUA has an integrated 340 type USB to TTL serial converter
You need native TTL serial to connect to the MMite

Back to Top View bigfix's Profile Search for other posts by bigfix
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1765
Posted: 04 April 2016 at 6:45am | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
Am I correct in assuming this would be a suitable device?

ESP8266 Serial WIFI Wireless Transceiver Module


Yes that is what I am using
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 
MikeO
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 133
Posted: 04 April 2016 at 9:38pm | IP Logged Quote MikeO

@ Phil23

I get mine at here , good delivery, prices and LOCAL.

Mike

__________________
http://www.codenquilts.com.au
Back to Top View MikeO's Profile Search for other posts by MikeO Visit MikeO's Homepage
 
JohnS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 November 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1525
Posted: 04 April 2016 at 9:58pm | IP Logged Quote JohnS

If you're not in a hurry they come from China at about a fifth the price (and I suppose local ebay seller within days for a half/third the price).

There are lots of variants, depending exactly which features you want.

They're a bit power hungry when active for some uses.

John

Edited by JohnS on 04 April 2016 at 10:00pm
Back to Top View JohnS's Profile Search for other posts by JohnS
 
Phil23
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 March 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1094
Posted: 06 April 2016 at 11:20am | IP Logged Quote Phil23

MikeO wrote:
@ Phil23

I get mine at here , good delivery, prices and LOCAL.

Mike


Thanks Mike,

Is there a specific you recommend, there seems to by a fair variety of options.

As mentioned, I'd prefer to configure it separately on a PC & then connect it to the MM once setup, to avoid needing code on the MM.
Back to Top View Phil23's Profile Search for other posts by Phil23
 
Phil23
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 March 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1094
Posted: 07 April 2016 at 7:09am | IP Logged Quote Phil23

Just trying to get past first base with the device I received today.

Got it connected to a FTDI device. It's powered with 3.3 Volts, TX & RX pins swapped.

Notice it's marked for 3.6 to 5.5 volts, but tried 5 Volts too.

Was expecting to be able to see a response to the AT commands in Teraterm, but nothing.

Tried a range of Baud rates in the Terminal.

Do they need to be set from device manager?

Thanks

Edit:-

I also have a CP2102 device I haven't used yet.


Edited by Phil23 on 07 April 2016 at 7:32am
Back to Top View Phil23's Profile Search for other posts by Phil23
 
JohnS
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 November 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1525
Posted: 07 April 2016 at 7:20am | IP Logged Quote JohnS

Please post details of what you bought (a link, preferably) as some come preprogrammed with such as Lua so don't do AT commands. (You can reflash.)

John
Back to Top View JohnS's Profile Search for other posts by JohnS
 
disco4now
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 18 December 2014
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 181
Posted: 07 April 2016 at 7:47am | IP Logged Quote disco4now

If I remember back one of the things you need is to set your terminal program to use CR+LF when transmitting. (setup--> terminal on teraterm.) No CR+LF at the end and it wont talk to you.

I just tried my latest one and it's settings seem to be

115200 baud, 8 bit N parity, 1 stop.

I remember some of the early ones I got where at 9600 initially.

Regards
Gerry
Back to Top View disco4now's Profile Search for other posts by disco4now
 
matherp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 December 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1765
Posted: 07 April 2016 at 8:20am | IP Logged Quote matherp

Quote:
It's powered with 3.3 Volts, TX & RX pins swapped.


Are you also pulling the CH-PD pin high? this is needed to keep the module out of reset
Back to Top View matherp's Profile Search for other posts by matherp
 


Page of 5 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.0781 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.08