Home  |  Contents 
Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: uM2(+): Wifi replaces USB for console? Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 5 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
MikeO
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 138
Posted: 18 April 2016 at 10:34am | IP Logged Quote MikeO

Lewis,

You can use this diagram.
You don't need the serial resistors.

This is my setup, you have to have X set on the left hand side or it won't flash the files. See this link, scroll down to "Install via serial upload".



This should always work ,you don't need to set the baud rate, if it doesn't start and you have boot set then you have the TX/RX lines the wrong way round.


Good luck Mike.



__________________
http://www.codenquilts.com.au


Back to Top View MikeO's Profile Search for other posts by MikeO Visit MikeO's Homepage
 
lew247
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 23 December 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 718
Posted: 18 April 2016 at 10:55am | IP Logged Quote lew247

Thanks Mike

I plan on using it on my outdoor weather board so I can program new code into it as and when needed, save me taking it down each time I want to try something new or add a new feature/clean up the code
Back to Top View lew247's Profile Search for other posts by lew247
 
lew247
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 23 December 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 718
Posted: 18 April 2016 at 11:29am | IP Logged Quote lew247

I'm pretty sure it flashed correctly
but
I can't find it - there is no wifi network detected by my laptop or phone
I was hoping to see this
esp-link creates a wifi access point with an SSID of the form ESP_012ABC (some modules use a different SSID form, such as ai-thinker-012ABC)

no network other than my normal wireless router
any ideas?

This is what came up after flashing so I'm assuming it went right




Edited by lew247 on 18 April 2016 at 11:32am
Back to Top View lew247's Profile Search for other posts by lew247
 
Phil23
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 March 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1137
Posted: 18 April 2016 at 12:01pm | IP Logged Quote Phil23

I went back to flashing with Esp Basic, then checked it was an available access point and that i could to it.

Then flashed it with Esp Link and tried again.

Did you disconnect GPIO0 and then reset it after the second flesh?

Can understand your frustration, took me a few days to get it right.
Cheers.

Worst still it is simple peeve you get it right.
Back to Top View Phil23's Profile Search for other posts by Phil23
 
lew247
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 23 December 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 718
Posted: 18 April 2016 at 12:08pm | IP Logged Quote lew247

Sorry I'm a complete idiot - I didn't check the most basic of things
As Mike said above the X must be ticked or it will only flash the file that has the X, it has to have all 3 of then ticked
Hopefully that may help someone else out

Matherp Thank you so much, your a genius! This means I can now mount my weather station outside and not have to bring it in to make changes to the software or when I want to try something new.


Edited by lew247 on 18 April 2016 at 12:22pm
Back to Top View lew247's Profile Search for other posts by lew247
 
Phil23
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 March 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1137
Posted: 26 May 2016 at 9:40am | IP Logged Quote Phil23

MikeO wrote:
Totally agree with Matherp. I have been using this program very successfully for some time, see my earlier post. One caveat, whereas MMEdit chat communicates fine I usually use Teraterm in conjunction with MMEdit and I could not get Teraterm to work reliably in this case (I have used Teraterm over TCP/IP previously ok).
Mike


Hi Mike,

I also had issues connecting to it with Teraterm.

It would connect, then drop me back to a prompt which was not the MMbasic prompt, but a prompt that talked to the ESP8266.

Got it working fine now & all I changed was service type in the Teraterm connection setup.

Don't know what it really means, someone else can maybe explain.




Cheers.

Back to Top View Phil23's Profile Search for other posts by Phil23
 
lew247
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 23 December 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 718
Posted: 27 June 2016 at 1:54pm | IP Logged Quote lew247

Thanks Peter for letting us know about this program
it works great, I have programmed a Micromite several times with MMEdit and the ESP8266 Flasher
no console connected, just the ESP - brilliant for remotely positioned micromites
Back to Top View lew247's Profile Search for other posts by lew247
 
Phil23
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 March 2016
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1137
Posted: 28 June 2016 at 12:32am | IP Logged Quote Phil23

Phil23 wrote:
MikeO wrote:
Totally agree with Matherp. I have been using this program very successfully for some time, see my earlier post. One caveat, whereas MMEdit chat communicates fine I usually use Teraterm in conjunction with MMEdit and I could not get Teraterm to work reliably in this case (I have used Teraterm over TCP/IP previously ok).
Mike


Hi Mike,

I also had issues connecting to it with Teraterm.

It would connect, then drop me back to a prompt which was not the MMbasic prompt, but a prompt that talked to the ESP8266.

Got it working fine now & all I changed was service type in the Teraterm connection setup.

Don't know what it really means, someone else can maybe explain.



I've got 3 sitting about now, on different devices.
All working fine, with just the occasional hiccup.

I still do on odd occasions try to connect to one & find it at the ">" prompt I'd mentioned above.

Done a few searches, without any luck.

A reset always gets them going again, but not possible remotely.

Does anyone know of a command that can be issued from that ESP-Link prompt to get the device active again?

Cheers

Phil
Back to Top View Phil23's Profile Search for other posts by Phil23
 
davematt
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Posted: 28 June 2017 at 2:58am | IP Logged Quote davematt

Thanks to all the above I have an ESP01 flashed with Esp Link and connected to Windows 7. Have found the module's web page with Chrome, but cannot find its IP address for use in MM Edit. Could some kind person please point the way?
TIA, Dave
Back to Top View davematt's Profile Search for other posts by davematt
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2257
Posted: 28 June 2017 at 3:11am | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

Your router should have a list all connected devices.

Jim

__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 
davematt
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 September 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 26
Posted: 28 June 2017 at 3:41am | IP Logged Quote davematt

Thanks Jim but I dont have a router. I use a 4G dongle that so far as I know doesnt have config software.
Is there another way?
Dave
Back to Top View davematt's Profile Search for other posts by davematt
 
TassyJim
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 August 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2257
Posted: 28 June 2017 at 4:49am | IP Logged Quote TassyJim

If it's a USB dongle and doesn't allow more than one device to connect to the net at once, I can't help with it.
If so, I assume you have connected to the ESP with it acting as an access point.
What web address do you enter into Chrome to connect?
If you open a command prompt and ping that address, you should see the IP address.

I assume there is a way to get the ESP to tell you it's address but I haven't played with them for a long time.




__________________
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
Back to Top View TassyJim's Profile Search for other posts by TassyJim Visit TassyJim's Homepage
 


<< Prev Page of 5 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1094 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.09