Home  |  Contents 

PCB Manufacturing
  Forum Index : PCB Manufacturing         Section
Subject Topic: AutoTRAX DEX Tips and ideas Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 2
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
MicroBlocks
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2012
Location: Thailand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2192
Posted: 17 June 2016 at 2:07pm | IP Logged Quote MicroBlocks

I just now realize that i should have send that with a PM.
I am dumb sometimes, sorry for that.

[pushing my own agenda a bit]
The concept is nice, but ..... it is missing my USB-Serial-PIC32 programmer chip, then you would not even need a pickit3 and MPLab IPE to program the chip. :)

If you design a board with it you get the hex file for free, as i made that deal with several other users of this forum.

[/pushing my own agenda a bit]

I am getting used to DEX and this is my progress of the little board. Still not good at it as it takes way to much time but slowly getting there.
Here is my v2 of the USB-Serial-Programmer as a little module that measures 17.78x12.7mm and has castellated holes that are on a 0.1" grid.
No idea yet if that will be manufacturable by our friends in Shenzhen.



And i moved to another place, so don't send them to my old address. They will have no clue what to do with them. :)


Edited by MicroBlocks on 17 June 2016 at 6:26pm


__________________
Microblocks. Build with logic.


Back to Top View MicroBlocks's Profile Search for other posts by MicroBlocks
 
bigmik
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2114
Posted: 17 June 2016 at 10:03pm | IP Logged Quote bigmik

Hi Jean,

I was going to disqualify you but I felt pity (or fear) so I let it slide. The reason for PM was to keep the forum clean,

Whilst I like your chip I have a standard that I like to support (the 6 pin header for the USB cable) but I will bear your suggestion in mind for future and the designs there were both a rework of the existing NanoMite ones.

Sorry there were no pictures in your post can you either email them to me os post them again.

Kind Regards,

Mick

__________________
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found HERE

Back to Top View bigmik's Profile Search for other posts by bigmik
 
bigmik
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2114
Posted: 25 June 2016 at 1:59am | IP Logged Quote bigmik

Hi Jean,

You might be pleased to know that I have just about finished MuP Version 3, that includes your fantastic USB-TTL/Programmer chip.



Whilst MuP2 was `almost' entirely Through Hole plated (just the VCap needed to be SMD) I have designed MuP 3 to be, optioned by the builder, to entirely THP if they wished or they can use the SMD VCap and/or SMD version of the Regulator..

The SMD VReg and TO-220 VReg are self exclusive, they can be one or the other.. NOT BOTH.

Same for the VCap, it can be SMD or THP via the holes provided.

The beauty is that there is no need for the ICSP header as your chip will handle any flashing of new MMBasic versions without the need for a PicKit3 or similar.

Anyway MuP Ver 3 will be sent off for manufacture this week sometime.

Kind Regards,

Mick



Edited by bigmik on 25 June 2016 at 2:00am


__________________
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found HERE

Back to Top View bigmik's Profile Search for other posts by bigmik
 
MicroBlocks
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2012
Location: Thailand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2192
Posted: 25 June 2016 at 12:51pm | IP Logged Quote MicroBlocks

Hi Mick, Yes i am pleased. :)
It is for me a confirmation that i am on the right track. Always difficult to find a little niche.

Thanks for using it and i hope the ones who use your MuP
- (i have a few of the v1's and they are great to use) -
also find it an easy way to work with the uMite.
Not many through hole products/kits around anymore so that is by itself also an achievement.


Edited by MicroBlocks on 25 June 2016 at 12:53pm


__________________
Microblocks. Build with logic.
Back to Top View MicroBlocks's Profile Search for other posts by MicroBlocks
 
chronic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 January 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 616
Posted: 26 June 2016 at 3:45am | IP Logged Quote chronic

looks pretty good ! And will run other software OK too :)
How soon to arrival ??
BTW I think this section should be the place for new pcb's,
but they are hidden unless they get new headings

Edited by chronic on 26 June 2016 at 3:47am
Back to Top View chronic's Profile Search for other posts by chronic
 
chronic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 January 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 616
Posted: 27 June 2016 at 5:42am | IP Logged Quote chronic

I think MB's programmer would fit into the colour maximite case ?
That would mean people could upgrade the CM firmware easily
Back to Top View chronic's Profile Search for other posts by chronic
 
bigmik
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2114
Posted: 27 June 2016 at 7:23am | IP Logged Quote bigmik

Hi Chronic, All,

I have modified MuP V3 to add an SPI header in the area that currently says MuP V3 it has the 3 SPI pins as well as Gnd and Pin(15) for a chip select.. I wont clutter this thread as I will publish it when the boards arrive and they test OK.

TIP

Now to stay with the theme of TIPS I offer this one.

In the 3D view, if you want to capture the board as it is shown on the screen without all of the background blue shades press Ctrl-C to copy the board ONLY to the clipboard.. Then just paste into your picture editor.

Kind Regards,

Mick

__________________
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found HERE

Back to Top View bigmik's Profile Search for other posts by bigmik
 
plover
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 18 April 2013
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 239
Posted: 18 June 2018 at 9:49pm | IP Logged Quote plover

bigmik
Not sure how I landed in this thread this time, I take it as an omen.

MicroBlocks a few posts above, Posted: 17 June 2016 at 2:07pm seems to have attached a picture I guess but it will not display here as it says there is an error.

Did you ever get a copy of that, it is 2 years ago but just in case I am asking as I am interested in seeing the castellated edges on a small circuit.

p.
Back to Top View plover's Profile Search for other posts by plover
 
MicroBlocks
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2012
Location: Thailand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2192
Posted: 20 June 2018 at 2:51pm | IP Logged Quote MicroBlocks

Hi plover,

I did not get the castellated edges as they were very expensive. (about 100USD more for an order)

If your quantity is high enough then it might be worth while.
I did not check prices recently, it can be a lot cheaper then about 2 years ago.




__________________
Microblocks. Build with logic.
Back to Top View MicroBlocks's Profile Search for other posts by MicroBlocks
 
plover
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 18 April 2013
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 239
Posted: 21 June 2018 at 1:31am | IP Logged Quote plover

MicroBlocks
I had been pondering over have these could be mass produced without affecting cost. Even worse I was thinking about have this done within a circular hole.

It is out of the question for me with a high cost.

Thanks for the information though.
Back to Top View plover's Profile Search for other posts by plover
 


If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Search the forums using Google.
<< Prev Page of 2
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1221 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0.02, 0, 0.11