Home  |  Contents 
Windmills
  Forum Index : Windmills         Section
Subject Topic: f n p gridtie windturbine, triple stator Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 7 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
flc1
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 November 2011
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Posted: 02 August 2017 at 2:30am | IP Logged Quote flc1



voltage switch that Dave built,finnished and in its box waiting for me to hook up to furling actuator , and an rps unit for one of the stators to measure rpm.


Back to Top View flc1's Profile Search for other posts by flc1
 
brucedownunder2
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 September 2005
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1149
Posted: 05 August 2017 at 11:00pm | IP Logged Quote brucedownunder2

Very interesting post.

I,m scouting around for those neo rotors(black ones ,is that correct?) .

It's been a long time since I fiddled with F&P , but looking yesterday at my junk ,I've plenty of bits and pieces to play with .

I think I'll try Phill's set up ,he seems to have the best mechanical skills and those blades .

I like your rpm box , do you have a pcb for it (for sale) ?

I think my mistake up to now has been going too big , I think I have to back off a bit as my exmork windgennie is just too heavy .

I'll keep an eye on your progress,be interesting to see it up and running ,post plenty of pics ,please.

good luck everybody

Bruce

__________________
Bushboy
Back to Top View brucedownunder2's Profile Search for other posts by brucedownunder2
 
DaveP68
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 November 2014
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Posted: 06 August 2017 at 5:37am | IP Logged Quote DaveP68

Hi Bruce

The F&P Black rotor caps use Ferrite magnets.

Here is a link to their specifications;
Fisher & Paykel Direct Drive Motors

brucedownunder2 wrote:
I like your rpm box , do you have a pcb for it (for sale) ?


The circuit board is a one off, custom unit I made specially to Fred's requirements. It can be replicated as most parts can be purchased from Jaycar Electronics including the plastic casing and vero board.

It uses a 555 timer, adjustable from just over 30 min to 2 hours triggered by voltage which can be set from 245 - 310 VDC. The solid state switch uses 4 power MOSFET's set up in a H bridge configuration to allow reverse polarity of the 12 VDC to control an actuator. To turn on the actuator to extend it requires +12 VDC on the red & blue wires. Then when the actuator needs to be retracted is reverses the polarity to -12 VDC.

I know Phill has been trying out some the 36 pole copper stators with the black rotor caps.

Cheers

David

Edited by DaveP68 on 06 August 2017 at 5:38am
Back to Top View DaveP68's Profile Search for other posts by DaveP68
 
brucedownunder2
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 September 2005
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1149
Posted: 06 August 2017 at 6:39am | IP Logged Quote brucedownunder2

Thanks for that info Dave ,


So, what rotors are the neo's fitted to ?

and are they a lot more powerful ,and the cogging ,is it more or about the same as the ferrites ?.

Been under the house in my workshop all day sorting some very old stuff out ,,I have plenty of F&p stuff .would be a real shame to toss it out!.

Thanks

Bruce

__________________
Bushboy
Back to Top View brucedownunder2's Profile Search for other posts by brucedownunder2
 
flc1
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 November 2011
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Posted: 06 August 2017 at 1:09pm | IP Logged Quote flc1

Yep Ill post some pics when its up n running Bruce,just sorting out some other unrelated issues at the moment, and still waiting for high voltage inverter to turn up.
Fred
Back to Top View flc1's Profile Search for other posts by flc1
 
flc1
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 November 2011
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Posted: 08 August 2017 at 3:19am | IP Logged Quote flc1

I have decided to use the 6th cut(6x2c)delta stator, rather than the star,with the cap doubler, and have a switch for the other cap doubler so I can switch it on or off for watt hour performance testing etc,yes I change my mind alot lol.
Back to Top View flc1's Profile Search for other posts by flc1
 
flc1
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 November 2011
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Posted: 10 August 2017 at 7:53am | IP Logged Quote flc1

Yea Bruce go with Phill, he has a lathe and a nice workshop etc..all the gears you would need.
I only have a arc welder and angle grinder in a farm shed, so Im limited with what I can create.
Back to Top View flc1's Profile Search for other posts by flc1
 
DaveP68
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 November 2014
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Posted: 11 August 2017 at 8:03am | IP Logged Quote DaveP68

Hi Fred

Having stated you only used an arc welder & an angle grinder in a farm shed to build a 1.1 kW peak F&P dual wind turbine that is an awesome achievement. You also did it with only a 2.5 m diameter multi blade setup which just makes it even more impressive!

Many others from what I understand have tried with better mechanical skills and using lathes etc without achieving a 1 kW peak power output from an Dual F&P.

The highest I know of is 850 W which I think was done with those crappy old 42 pole stators.

Looking forward to hearing some results from the new wind turbine once it's up and flying.

Cheers

David
Back to Top View DaveP68's Profile Search for other posts by DaveP68
 
flc1
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 November 2011
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Posted: 12 August 2017 at 9:41am | IP Logged Quote flc1




The wind turbines dumpload resistors = 8 ohms, all from f n p washing machines.
Back to Top View flc1's Profile Search for other posts by flc1
 
DaveP68
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 25 November 2014
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Posted: 12 August 2017 at 9:22pm | IP Logged Quote DaveP68

Hi Fred

Each resistor is rated 300 W, so with 12 combined to get 8 ohms the peak rating is 3.6 kW! That should be more than enough capacity for your dumpload function.

It may look a bit different, but you can't turn down free parts if they can be used for a different function like this.

Awesome job keep posting your progress photos, I'm sure they're generating lots of interest.

David
Back to Top View DaveP68's Profile Search for other posts by DaveP68
 
flc1
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 November 2011
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Posted: 13 August 2017 at 10:01am | IP Logged Quote flc1




I added some more strengthening to the hub,so had to balance it again.
I wonder if there is much electrolytic corrosion between these aluminum blades and the steel blade roots?
I greased the shafts before inserting them into the blades to hopefully slow down any corrosion.


Edited by flc1 on 13 August 2017 at 11:08am
Back to Top View flc1's Profile Search for other posts by flc1
 
flc1
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 20 November 2011
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Posted: 14 August 2017 at 8:30pm | IP Logged Quote flc1

Gday Dave
might have to fit one of your power factor correction setups to my turbine ?
Back to Top View flc1's Profile Search for other posts by flc1
 


<< Prev Page of 7 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You can vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.0781 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.08