Home  |  Contents 
Microcontroller and PC projects
  Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects         Section
Subject Topic: RTC GETTIME.... Post ReplyPost New Topic
<< Prev Page of 3 Next >>
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
GoodToGo!
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 23 April 2017
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 122
Posted: 09 September 2017 at 12:49am | IP Logged Quote GoodToGo!

mikeb wrote:
@All,

I guess that is to be expected of cheap, Chinese, knockoffs.
Try buying the genuine, Maxim, device from a reputable supplier.
5 times the price of the entire module. A case of "You get what you pay for".

Regards, Mike B.


Means you can junk 4 of them and still be ahead!

Out of interest, which particular RTC module are you using Grogster? Got a link?

Cheers,

GTG!

__________________
...... Don't worry mate, it'll be GoodToGo!


Back to Top View GoodToGo!'s Profile Search for other posts by GoodToGo!
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5061
Posted: 09 September 2017 at 4:23am | IP Logged Quote Grogster

Sure do, follow this link:

Small RTC module with on-board battery

What I like about these ones, is that they are DS3231(cloned at that price!), on-board backup battery, and they are very small physically, so they are easy to shoe-horn into a tight space if you are running low on PCB real-estate.

.....and I usually am by the time I think of adding an RTC!

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
chronic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 January 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 515
Posted: 09 September 2017 at 6:45am | IP Logged Quote chronic

I guess you have tried checking/replacing the backup battery(s) (?),
if there is some residual capacity it might run briefly and then lose it
Back to Top View chronic's Profile Search for other posts by chronic
 
OA47
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 11 April 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 443
Posted: 09 September 2017 at 7:38am | IP Logged Quote OA47

Grogster, it is interesting that the link to the supplier shows the sales history and I see that a New Zealander bought 5 units on 25/08/2017. Going to own up?
Back to Top View OA47's Profile Search for other posts by OA47
 
CaptainBoing
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 September 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 340
Posted: 09 September 2017 at 9:38am | IP Logged Quote CaptainBoing

I have 4 of these units (fleabay) and they all work ok... odd

__________________

all you need is duct tape and WD40 (if it moves and shouldn't, use duct tape; if it doesn't move and should, use WD40)
Back to Top View CaptainBoing's Profile Search for other posts by CaptainBoing
 
Grogster
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 31 December 2012
Location: New Zealand
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5061
Posted: 09 September 2017 at 1:08pm | IP Logged Quote Grogster

@ OA47 - No. Well, OK - yes.

__________________
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
Back to Top View Grogster's Profile Search for other posts by Grogster Visit Grogster's Homepage
 
GoodToGo!
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 23 April 2017
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 122
Posted: 10 September 2017 at 12:44am | IP Logged Quote GoodToGo!

Those modules look handy, will have to grab a few, say 5, then throw 4 out.

Never played with aliexpress, is it similar to ebay? Can Paypal be used or should I get a prepaid Visa card?

GTG!



__________________
...... Don't worry mate, it'll be GoodToGo!
Back to Top View GoodToGo!'s Profile Search for other posts by GoodToGo!
 
bigmik
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1964
Posted: 10 September 2017 at 8:12am | IP Logged Quote bigmik

Hi Grogs, All,

They are the same as the ones I posted back in August 2015.
I posted that it was almost a drop in for my MuP PCB (Just needed 1 10mm link wire.)

Forum Link Here

I have used around a dozen of them and never had an issue with them, The seem pretty accurate and to date I haven't had a battery go flat.


Kind Regards,

Mick

Edited by bigmik on 10 September 2017 at 8:13am


__________________
Mick's uMite Stuff can be found HERE

Back to Top View bigmik's Profile Search for other posts by bigmik
 
paceman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 October 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1161
Posted: 10 September 2017 at 1:14pm | IP Logged Quote paceman

I bought half a dozen when you posted that link Mick. Couldn't get the first one to work then found it had a dry joint to the battery. Fixed that and up it came but only for a few days and then the battery died. About half of them had stuffed batteries but the others were OK - still good though in that they're really cheap and tiny. Pity that the pin-out is a bit different but as you say it's easy to change.

Greg
Back to Top View paceman's Profile Search for other posts by paceman
 
CaptainBoing
Guru
Guru
Avatar

Joined: 07 September 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 340
Posted: 10 September 2017 at 10:07pm | IP Logged Quote CaptainBoing

I bought mine without batteries and sourced them elsewhere - this way I only start the battery when required... blimey - just checked - it was a year ago

here are the cells I got

Edited by CaptainBoing on 10 September 2017 at 10:10pm


__________________

all you need is duct tape and WD40 (if it moves and shouldn't, use duct tape; if it doesn't move and should, use WD40)
Back to Top View CaptainBoing's Profile Search for other posts by CaptainBoing
 
chronic
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 January 2012
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 515
Posted: 11 September 2017 at 12:41pm | IP Logged Quote chronic

Are they working Grogster ?
If the battery is spot-welded in, they are probably meant as throw-aways anyway. I guess the question becomes, how much confidence can you now have, that they will keep functioning or how accurate they will be.
Back to Top View chronic's Profile Search for other posts by chronic
 
paceman
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 October 2011
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1161
Posted: 11 September 2017 at 1:07pm | IP Logged Quote paceman

The tabs are spot-welded onto the battery and the tabs then soldered to the PCB. Similar arrangement of tabs to CaptainB's link except the +ve tab has a double right angle bend so that it extends down alongside the -ve tab to solder to the PCB pad. At a pinch CaptainB's could be soldered to the same position as these without a small link.

The batteries on the ones I got from Mick's link had CR1025 buttons, not CR1220's but the CR1220's would probably fit; there might be a very small PCB overlap.

Greg
Back to Top View paceman's Profile Search for other posts by paceman
 


<< Prev Page of 3 Next >>
In the news...
 
Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.8
Copyright ©2001-2004 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.1094 seconds.
Privacy Policy     Process times : 0, 0, 0, 0.11