User Manual for the Picomite (draft)


Author Message
Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2885
Posted: 12:09pm 18 Sep 2021      

We now have a User Manual for the Picomite (131 pages).  It is reasonably complete but undoubtedly will contain some errors.  

You can download it from here:
https://geoffg.net/Downloads/PicoMite/PicoMite_User_Manual.pdf
It matches the current beta (Ver 5.07.00b19).

I would be grateful for any reports of errors, omissions, typos, etc.  If you find any please post them to this thread.

Geoff

twofingers
Guru

Joined: 02/06/2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 957
Posted: 12:40pm 18 Sep 2021      

Hi Geoff,
thank you so much, very appreciated.
(I wouldn't have dared ask about it.)  

Thanks to Mick (Mixtel90) and of course Peter!

Best regards
Michael

JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2534
Posted: 02:31pm 18 Sep 2021      

Geoff,

A horribly quick glance through.

p7 add a space after screen (before /dev/...)

I can't test any of it but it looks great.

John

Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 952
Posted: 09:03pm 18 Sep 2021      

Hi Geoff,

Some feedback on the manual

- maybe add a note that while setting options, the usb connection is sometimes lost. Teraterm acts friendly and reconnects. Not all serial terminal emulators are so forgiving. Putty is not. You have to manually reconnect.

Page 8: the pico io pins cannot drive much current, maybe use a resitor of 470 ohm, not 82.
Page 10: not all pico s run at 250Mhz. That is why Peter changed the clock to a lower value default.
Page 119: the pulsin text contains reference to 40Mhz. 48Mhz is the minimum.

Thanks for writing this document..

Volhout

TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 4475
Posted: 09:41pm 18 Sep 2021      

Page 5 under "Terminal Emulator"
"Finally, the PicoMite ignores the baud rate setting so it can be set to any speed."

1200 baud will put the pico into firmware update mode so "any speed" is not correct.

Jim

palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1458
Posted: 10:57pm 18 Sep 2021      

For serial communication the manual says...
  Quote  SETPIN rx, tx, COM1
Valid pins are RX: GP1, GP13 or GP17
TX: GP0, GP12, GP16 or GP28

I have been using SetPin TX,RX and it works, so which is correct.

disco4now

Guru

Joined: 18/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 552
Posted: 10:59pm 18 Sep 2021      

The bookmarks expansions for Options,Commands,Functions,Obsolete Commands and Functions,Appendix A,B,D and E have all picked up a few unintended entries at the expanded level.

On page 47 in the BLIT command explanations, could the BLIT LOAD form be included as well.
Edited 2021-09-19 09:21 by disco4now

palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1458
Posted: 11:14pm 18 Sep 2021      

Using the command as per the manual...
  Quote  [20] SetPin GP1, GP0, COM1
Error : 0 is invalid (valid is 1 to 9)

Geoffg

Guru

Joined: 06/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2885
Posted: 12:28am 19 Sep 2021      

Thanks guys, I will fold the changes in.

@palcal:
You can define the pins in any order and the firmware will figure it out.  I think that is mentioned somewhere but I will check.

SetPin GP1, GP0, COM1
Error : 0 is invalid (valid is 1 to 9)
Peter?

Geoff

panky

Guru

Joined: 02/10/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 896
Posted: 02:21am 19 Sep 2021      

P33 SD Card section - Connecting an SD Card , the GP number is missing.
P69 Option System I2C font?
Pages 87/88, 90/91, 98/99, 113/114 all appear to miss the bottom line/top line of the table  (Firefox browser ?)
PIO annex font?

Observations: Excellent Manual - thanks          
The section talking about memory usage and the MEMORY function could perhaps be expanded to explain a little more on how memory is allocated, especially on the impact of GUI controls.
The function MEMORY could perhaps include number of GUI controls (if any)?

Doug.

palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1458
Posted: 03:22am 19 Sep 2021      

If it's of any help with my COMMS problem I have been using
  Quote  Open "COM1:9600" As #1

with pins 6 & 7 and it works OK. The manual says that is COM2

matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 07:14am 19 Sep 2021      

palcal - Please check if you are using the latest version. I can't replicate your problems and they seem to be exactly what I would expect if you use the new syntax with an older version

Also note from the manual

  Quote  Note that the pins (eg, rx, tx, etc) can be declared in any order and that the pins can be referred to by using their pin number (eg, 1, 2) or GP number (eg, GP0, GP1).

Edited 2021-09-19 17:33 by matherp

palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1458
Posted: 07:39am 19 Sep 2021      

Ok, thanks Peter, will try tomorrow.

Poppy

Guru

Joined: 25/07/2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 484
Posted: 10:08am 19 Sep 2021      

Great!
I did not recognize this little Thing until now.

Now I am going to get one for checking out!

Great effort!
THX!

palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1458
Posted: 08:52pm 19 Sep 2021      

I'll start a new thread.
Edited 2021-09-20 07:08 by palcal

matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 09:15pm 19 Sep 2021      

  Quote  Problem is COM1 is receiving data meant for COM2.


Please can you try and provide a simple program that demonstrates the problem? I can't see anything in the code that could cause this issue so without something to test very difficult to fix

palcal

Guru

Joined: 12/10/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1458
Posted: 09:23pm 19 Sep 2021      

Oops I started a new thread where is it.

disco4now

Guru

Joined: 18/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 552
Posted: 03:59am 20 Sep 2021      

Hi Geoff,
These are mentioned in the TINMAN, not sure if you left these out by design or I just cant find them, but maybe useful somewhere around pages 9/10.

  Quote  
There are also four specialised I/O ports which, by default, are "wired" to pseudo-pins rather than wired out: They can be redefined, but this may not be safe on the PicoMite in some cases.
(41) GP23 is a SMPS control signal set to the value of OPTION POWER. (ON=PWM, OFF=PFM).
(42) GP24 is a digital input, which is high when VBUS is present.
(43) GP25 is also PWM4B. It is connected to the on-board LED.
(44) GP29 / ADC3 is an analogue input connected to a potential divider reading 1/3 of VSYS.



scruss
Newbie

Joined: 20/09/2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 34
Posted: 12:00pm 20 Sep 2021      

in manual as of Saturday 2021-09-18:
  Quote  By default the function keys will not be correctly defined for use in the PicoMite's built in program editor so you will have to use the control sequences as defined in the section Full Screen Editor of this manual..

There are no control sequences defined in that section.

matherp
Guru

Joined: 11/12/2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5460
Posted: 12:40pm 20 Sep 2021      

  Quote  There are no control sequences defined in that section.


Thanks for the report - there should be (in all the other MMBASIC manuals) will get the following put in.

  Quote  You can also use control keys instead of the functions keys listed above. These control keystrokes are:
LEFT Ctrl-S RIGHT Ctrl-D UP Ctrl-E DOWN Ctrl-X
HOME Ctrl-U END Ctrl-K PageUp Ctrl-P PageDn Ctrl-L
DEL Ctrl-] INSERT Ctrl-N F1 Ctrl-Q F2 Ctrl-W
F3 Ctrl-R ShiftF3 Ctrl-G F4 Ctrl-T F5 Ctrl-Y