PicoMiteVGA PETSCII ROBOTS release candidates


Author Message
Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4723
Posted: 12:17pm 24 Jan 2025      

Thanks Tom,

I forgot to mention that. And if you play it as a shooter, you get disappointed.
You search for weapons, and use these (but also furniture, plants, boxes, fences etc..) to find an effective way to kill your ennemies the robots.

Also very helpful is the PETSCII ROBOTS user manual. Look here for the multitude of platforms. The PicoMite version resmbles the MS-DS version closest in operation and keyboard layout. So that user manual may be the best fit (it is included in the ZIP for MS-DOS).

PETSCII ROBOTS SHAREWARE

Volhout
Edited 2025-01-24 22:21 by Volhout

Frank N. Furter
Guru

Joined: 28/05/2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 922
Posted: 12:31pm 24 Jan 2025      

@thwill + @Volhout:

Many thanks to you both!

Frank

thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4202
Posted: 04:22pm 26 Jan 2025      

Hi @Volhout,

I've just observed that the music-toggle is incorrectly implemented, see lines 259-266 of robots602.bas:
Case "toggle-music"
    k$="" ' Do we need this ?
    Play stop:music=1-music
    If music Then
      select_music(3) 'only sfx
    Else
      select_music(map_nr mod 3) 'any of 3 songs
    EndIf


So initially the music is playing and music=1 (line 116).

Then the player presses M to "toggle-music", this will set music=0 which will keep the music playing because the clauses of the IF statement are swapped.

Best wishes,

Tom

Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4723
Posted: 08:30am 27 Jan 2025      

Thanks, will fix (probably update 602 on my G-drive) since the impact is marginal. A second toggle will give the desired effect. The magnet issue you mentioned earlier is far more important. That was a real bug with game impact.

I also noticed the music-off only works at console, not at PS2 keyboard, not game*mite.

Volhout
Edited 2025-01-27 18:43 by Volhout

thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4202
Posted: 09:26am 27 Jan 2025      

  Volhout said  I also noticed the music-off only works at console, not at PS2 keyboard, not game*mite.


For the PS2 keyboard you need an additional mapping to catch the shift keys, see what I've done for the MMB4L version: https://github.com/thwill1000/mmbasic-robots/blob/main/robots.bas line 2162 onwards.

And for the Game*Mite there simply aren't enough buttons, you'd need to look at something like A + B bringing up a menu containing both "Toggle music" and "Quit".

Best wishes,

Tom

Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4723
Posted: 06:56pm 27 Jan 2025      

Hi Tom,

Thanks, added to robots603 for VGA, together with some cosmetic fixes.
I have not added a menu to GM yet. On GM you can simply turn the volume down. And I am  short on program space (I already removed ATARI joystick). Maybe I need to make a drastic move and start crunching...

Thanks anyway for the suggestion....

Volhout
Edited 2025-01-28 05:01 by Volhout

homa

Guru

Joined: 05/11/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 421
Posted: 07:43pm 27 Jan 2025      

@tom

I have tried the version from github on a PicoMiteHDMI USB 2350 V6.00.01:

> run
[14] #Include "./splib/system.inc"
Error : Invalid character: #

NOTE: This repository is specifically for maintaining a version compatible with MMBasic for Linux (MMB4L). Though in theory it should also run on PicoMiteVGA and Game*Mite platforms too; if it doesn't then give me a poke.

This one works:

  Volhout said  All,

Attached version of PETROBOT has 3 executables

- robots.bas : the 2023 Christmas release
- robots2.bas : A version with bug fixes, runs on RP2040 and RP2350A on VGA and Game*MIte. Controllers are configured by "uncommenting" code.
- robots6.bas : A test version that in VGA mites tries to auto detect controllers. runs on RP2040 and RP2350A VGA (and also on Game*Mite).

petrobot .zip

Regards,

Volhout


Matthias
Edited 2025-01-28 05:46 by homa

thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4202
Posted: 08:03pm 27 Jan 2025      

@homa

I never thought anyone would try.

  Quote  PicoMiteHDMI USB 2350 V6.00.01 ...


That's not a PicoMiteVGA or a Game*Mite but I'm still interested in exploring what happens if you've got time to test; I don't have that hardware myself.

Try running using the command:
CMM2 RUN "robots.bas"


Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2025-01-28 06:05 by thwill

homa

Guru

Joined: 05/11/2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 421
Posted: 08:28pm 27 Jan 2025      

I didn't even know this command.
I went back to the study to test it  


[1953] Select Case MM. Info(PS2)
Error: Syntax
>


Footnote added 2025-01-28 17:53 by homa
Looked it up in the manual this morning:



Your learning never stops!

thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4202
Posted: 11:35am 29 Jan 2025      

Thanks @homa,

That's happening because by default the version of the code on GitHub uses MM.INFO(PS2) to read the keyboard, there is a flag USE_PS2 that you can flip so it uses INKEY$ instead which would allow it to get further.

Anyway I'm looking into "fixing" it so that the claim in my PETSCII Robots README.md of PicoMiteVGA/Game*Mite compatibility is more reality than aspirational .

I also want to fix the USB keyboard support (use KEYDOWN)
    ... and add USB gamepad support
    ... and add simulation of the PicoMiteVGAUSB to MMB4L
    ... no rest for the virtuous .

Best wishes,

Tom
Edited 2025-01-29 22:35 by thwill

PilotPirx

Regular Member

Joined: 03/11/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 88
Posted: 01:42pm 31 Jan 2025      

I`m a little bit puzzled (as always).
Does a version for the actual CMM2 exist?
It would be great!

Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4723
Posted: 02:10pm 31 Jan 2025      

Hi PilotPirx,

AFAIK Peter has once made a port of PETSCII ROBOTS that runs on the CMM2. I'll see if I can find a link to it. It was based on version 25 or 24, not the latest. Since I did not have a CMM2 at that time, I have never tried it.

link

Volhout
Edited 2025-02-01 00:15 by Volhout

Amnesie
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 503
Posted: 11:01pm 02 Feb 2025      

Hi Volhout,

I wanted to try your latest version (for picoMiteVGA) robots2.bas

but getting Error:


[1759] Play modfile path$("music/get_psyched-sfx.mod") 'sdx combined with music
Error: File too large for modbuffer


I am using latest PicoMiteVGA version:

RP2350A Edition V6.00.02b6

With
OPTION MODBUFF ENABLE

Any ideas?

Greetings
Daniel

Volhout
Guru

Joined: 05/03/2018
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4723
Posted: 06:06am 03 Feb 2025      

Hi Daniel

Option modbuff enable 192

If you do not add the 192, it enables default size which is 128, and that is too small.
For pettscii the minimum size is 180, but general everyone uses 192 now.

Volhout
Edited 2025-02-03 16:09 by Volhout