Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 15:22 17 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Solar : 15 degree east facing panels on a shed

jdinow

Posted: 03:19am 28 Oct 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I'm a newbie located at Hallidays Point, NSW & last night signed up for & paid deposit to have installed (initially) a 3.25kW system by EM Solar (VIC mob) with a 10kW inverter on a 15 degree sloping colorbond roof facing 10 degree north of east. They tell me this will only reduce the output down to 92% of ideal (that being 29 degree tilt north facing). Does this sound realistic? Has anyone had experience of real world results of a similar system?

I can still change the setup (& $ permitting may increase it to 5kW) & at this stage panels will be REC 235 PE series with the inverter being SMA SMC10000TL, which should allow me to upgrade to 10kW of panels & still get the 60c/kWh. Country Energy informs me there are a lot of "grey areas" on systems paid for before the midnight 27 October cutoff, as the NSW government has not defined the details of how applications must be received within "21 days".

I possibly intend a DIY upgrade & understand (according to CE) I only have to advise them of the (electrician) "certified" upgrade capacity of the panels & don't have to apply for a system increase.

Appreciate thoughts in this "clouded" environment.
Cheers,
Pete R

Even if you're on the right track... you'll get run over if you just sit there.

KarlJ

Guru

Posted: 07:39am 30 Oct 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yep
Borrow the money and put the 10KW up now.
no questions.
if you have secured the 0.60c GFIT it will be a winner.