Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 16:54 29 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Other Stuff : P&F Micro Hydro - charge controller question

flyingfishfinger

Posted: 03:38am 15 Sep 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,
I'm new to this space - we recently purchased a property with a small stream on it. I was able to pick up a P&F washer for almost nothing after I found the conversion articles on it, so I wanted to give micro hydro a shot.

I'm thinking of wiring it as 7x2C to charge a 12V battery depending on the water flow (we are taking our "summer survey" of that in the coming weeks), but I have some questions regarding a DIY charge controller in general

1) For a water turbine, I know that we don't want any sudden changes in velocity, hence the need for a dump load. However, I'm not 100% certain WHAT should stay constant.

Is it output power, current, rpm, or something else, assuming a constant water flow?

2)I found a PWM charger that looks like it should work with hydro, given an adjustment to the dump load algorithm. Depending on the answer to the above question, that should be fairly simple. is there anything fundamentally wrong with my thinking?

I found this controller I might like to start with (schematic / architecture, not specifically this board): https://www.opengreenenergy.com/post/arduino-pwm-solar-charge-controller-v-2-02

I'd appreciate any thoughts or advice on the matter.

Thanks,
Rafael

Warpspeed
Guru

Posted: 04:50am 15 Sep 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think first build your dam, pipework, and turbine, and get that rotating.