Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 08:49 28 Apr 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Other Stuff : Electrical fault-finding nightmare....

Grogster

Admin Group

Posted: 06:07am 27 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Wow....this is impressive - in a bad way...

Nightmare....

Quite disturbing, what someone with a little knowledge - but no understanding of the regulations - can do.

EDIT: I suppose I should point out, that I am not a registered electrician myself, but I have done plenty of wiring on my own house - which is allowed here in NZ.
But the point being, that even though I am not TECHNICALLY qualified as an electrician, I know all the regulations and adhere to them 100%

This kind of house, is a fire waiting to happen IMHO.
Edited 2024-01-27 16:15 by Grogster
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!

SimpleSafeName

Posted: 02:20pm 27 Jan 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Actually, I went through the apprenticeship waayy back in 1975, and got my Journeyman's and Master's tickets.

And there was plenty of "early code" installations back then (in other words, plenty to complain about).

A few examples:

Lots of "Knob and Tube" wired homes. Probably still are a bunch out there.

Some "modernization" work where the gas lamps were converted to electric lights and the wires were pulled through the (abandoned, and hopefully purged) gas lines.

Motors did not come with junction boxes (aka "peckerheads" in electrician parlance). You would run a conduit close to the motor and use a weatherhead on the end of the conduit (this would be done indoors as well as outdoors).