Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 11:17 03 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Other Stuff : Handcranked Alternator

Dingdoc

Posted: 04:53am 06 Oct 2009
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I’ve recently made a couple of hand cranked F&P alternators as demo units for the school science labs (where I work as a Labbie). They have proven to be extremely effective in demonstrating energy conversion and alternator/generator principles in the science curriculum.
The students (and teachers) have been surprised how much effort is required to produce around 100w to light the lamps and it gives a good appreciation of energy ‘production’.

To mount the F&P motor on the heavy particle board base, I cut the bearing hub out of the plastic tub using a reciprocating saw, keeping a fairly large radius to act as a mounting flange. The steel shaft was cut by hand with a hacksaw just below the rib near its centre and re-fitted to the bearings before screwing it to the base board.

The stator was re-fitted after re-wiring it for 12v as per the instructions on this website.
IMPORTANT : I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND USING THE STATOR WITH THE STANDARD WIRING CONFIG AS IT IS CAPABLE OF PRODUCING LETHAL VOLTAGES.

The crank handle was cut from a short length of 90 x 45 pine with a 42mm hole cut in one end using a hole saw. This proved to be a tight fit over the slightly ground down plastic nut on the motor. A long wood screw near the outer end of the arm into the rotor helps to stop it slipping when turned. A long 6mm bolt and piece of drilled broom handle finished the job.