Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 16:31 08 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Other Stuff : Windspire’s Ax-Fx Stator

MacGyver

Guru

Posted: 04:42am 06 Feb 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I was clicking around the Internet looking at VAWT systems and ran across THIS from the Windspire Company.

Click the link and move down the PDF to just past half way and you'll see a very interesting way to wind the stator. I'm no expert on generators for sure, but it looks to me like it's one very long undulating coil, which if I'm not mistaken, will produce high voltage in low wind and even higher in high wind. This is "my" assumption, so if it's wrong, someone chime in and make the correction so others aren't led astray, please.

At any rate, I thought it was a clever adaptation to the biggest downfall over VAWTs, that being they are not nearly as fast as HAWTs in the same wind. For all the "un-luck" I've had with VAWTs, you'd think I would have by now washed my hands of it. Believe me, I've tried, but I'm still intrigued by their simplicity.

. . . . . Mac

Nothing difficult is ever easy!
Perhaps better stated in the words of Morgan Freeman,
"Where there is no struggle, there is no progress!"
Copeville, Texas

Bryan1

Guru

Posted: 05:08am 06 Feb 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

G'day MacGyver,