Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 04:06 29 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : EV's : My Tesla EV

Jaffasoft

Posted: 01:17am 03 Nov 2010
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,
I'm a novice at this and looking into converting my Mazda van into a EV! Am i MAD?
Not sure a Van would have to much wind drag.

I'm envisaging all kinds of ideas such as lots of room for a large battery bank to continue to ad battery power to, one large home made solar panel to span the roofs surface should get about 4 * 36 cell panels and design that so that when parked camped etc can lift it on a hinge to get more angle recharge sun in. And also maybe a wind turbine that i can rig up in camp where practical for an added amount of recharging.

The panels on the roof would get some charging while traveling to i guess and could have a couple of extra panels in the Van that get set up on the ground at various times. That could be six, seven *36 cell solar panels all up. often parked for a day or two three a week and just little drives around town so maybe 200-300 kay a long trip would be enough more the better!

Not going to happen over night but planning bits now, been looking at ordering solar cells and on the hunt for a Smartdrive. This forum has been a great help for learning things so well done to the maker. And don't be scared to invite me in so i wheel in and camp at your property for a week and we convert one of these things lol.

Am i Mad to think that it might be worth my while I'm happy with 90 kay an hr but 100 would be the norm. Am i pushing my luck to try and do this and what would be the difficulties in rigging up the EV Motor in a Van where it goes in under the passenger seat.