![]() |
Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Webserver in MMBasic
Author | Message | ||||
halldave![]() Senior Member ![]() Joined: 04/05/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 121 |
has anyone created a web server, ftp server or any of the other ethernet based servers in MMBasic with any of the ethernet modules |
||||
akashh Senior Member ![]() Joined: 19/01/2014 Location: IndiaPosts: 115 |
Hi halldave, I have been working for over two years on a web based scripting language and platform that I call Wattmon. This isn't in basic but in PHP which is pretty easy to use. I am nearly done porting a beta version to duinomite which works with the enc28j60 module over uext, in case you are interested. You can see more about it here in case you are interested: http://wattmon.com/ I have seen a couple of references here to using sim900 modules for gsm based web servers... Akash |
||||
Oldbitcollector![]() Senior Member ![]() Joined: 16/05/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 172 |
I was just playing with this concept last night using one of those serial wifi adapters connected to Com1. The module does the hard work and a very simple webserver can be created by looking for the GET command and returning a series of PRINT#1 statements with website data. My Propeller/Micromite mini-computer project. |
||||
MicroBlocks![]() Guru ![]() Joined: 12/05/2012 Location: ThailandPosts: 2209 |
I did that a while ago with some arduino stuff. For a GET i had HTML files on an SD card and read them line by line and send them to the serial port. Parsed them for specific 'fields' and replaced those with values. A typical line would be: [code] <span class="temperature">{TempA}<span> [/code] I would then replace "{TempA}" with the value and send it to the serial port. You could even have a form that gets posted and read all the values. You would then receive a POST. Very handy for example for configuring your program. Microblocks. Build with logic. |
||||
plasma Guru ![]() Joined: 08/04/2012 Location: GermanyPosts: 437 |
nice idea TZA. @ oldbitcollektor : is your module working some weeks without reset/ error |
||||
Oldbitcollector![]() Senior Member ![]() Joined: 16/05/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 172 |
I've never run this module for weeks at a time, but it's well designed and I can't think of any reason why it shouldn't. The only downside to these modules is that they are rather power hungry (3v). I didn't have my voltage regulators bolted down to my board until last night when I started working with this module when they started running hotter than I was comfortable with. My Propeller/Micromite mini-computer project. |
||||
Grogster![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 31/12/2012 Location: New ZealandPosts: 9489 |
I have wanted to do this, but have never got around to it. Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops! |
||||
halldave![]() Senior Member ![]() Joined: 04/05/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 121 |
I have purchased a $3.99AUD delivered ethernet module from ebay using and ENC28J60 chip There are lots of evilduino code examples for DHCP, DNS, WebServer, Twitter clients etc https://github.com/thiseldo/EtherShield/tree/master/examples Drivers in C https://github.com/thiseldo/EtherShield Might have a go converting it to MMBasic Seems also that if you run at 5V which it's spec'ed at it runs hot, apparently 3.3 volt is a better option David |
||||
akashh Senior Member ![]() Joined: 19/01/2014 Location: IndiaPosts: 115 |
Having worked with the enc28j60 I would not think it would be trivial to get going on mmbasic. Communication and configuration is ok, but then you have to be able to process the Ethernet packets and build a stack that can handle the mac layer, ARP packets, IP, and TCP. then if you want to respond to HTTP that's another layer. All I am saying is that unless Geoff implements support in C I would say its better to stick with a UART module that can do all that for you... |
||||
halldave![]() Senior Member ![]() Joined: 04/05/2014 Location: AustraliaPosts: 121 |
![]() |
||||
viscomjim Guru ![]() Joined: 08/01/2014 Location: United StatesPosts: 925 |
Hi Akashh, Do you know of such a uart module that would work with the uMite? |
||||
akashh Senior Member ![]() Joined: 19/01/2014 Location: IndiaPosts: 115 |
Something like this: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/UART-WIFI-Module-support-mult iple-security-authentication-mechanisms/538027598.html Although it's wifi only, most people have WIFI at home. I have never tried this but it looks like it could work too: http://www.aliexpress.com/item/serial-uart-wifi-module-Embed ed-sta-ap-wifi-module-HLK-RMO4-startkit-free-shipping/195092 7194.html - it has wifi, serial and Ethernet all in one for $20 |
||||
![]() |
![]() |
The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia. | © JAQ Software 2025 |