Home
JAQForum Ver 24.01
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 12:03 12 May 2025 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : My project: A simple LED tester.

Author Message
OldMMUser
Newbie

Joined: 05/08/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Posted: 07:01am 11 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello,

I used my CGMMSTICK1 for this simple project:

5 n = 100
10 SetPin(1),1
30 GoSub 100
32 Print "LED Voltage is: ",Format$(v, "%.2f")
40 Pause 500
50 GoTo 30


100 avg = 0
110 For x=1 To n
120 avg = avg + Pin( 1)
130 Next x
140 v = avg/n
150 Return

My LED voltages, yours MAY vary!

No LED ~ 3.30 (Self Test)
Red ~ 2.54
Yellow ~ 2.58
Green ~ 2.61
Blue ~ 2.90
White ~ 2.92
UV ~ 3.09

2014-08-11_171258_LED_CIRCUIT.zip

Test those LED's in your junk box! Reversed, open or shorted LED won't hurt this.
Edited by OldMMUser 2014-08-12
 
OldMMUser
Newbie

Joined: 05/08/2014
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Posted: 07:28am 11 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hello again,

Please note that if you use this setup with a "flickering" yellow LED
used in "Electronic Candles" it makes a 'pretty good' hardware random number
generator!

Enjoy!
 
WhiteWizzard
Guru

Joined: 05/04/2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2927
Posted: 08:18am 11 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nice 'discovery' regarding the random number generator!

Going to use your discovery to select my next lottery numbers
 
CircuitGizmos

Guru

Joined: 08/09/2011
Location: United States
Posts: 1427
Posted: 09:19am 11 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Nice! That is an interesting approach - determining likely color based on voltage drop.
Micromites and Maximites! - Beginning Maximite
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2946
Posted: 08:24pm 11 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi OldMMuser,

A novel idea but I wonder about your logic of having the Analog Input at the junction or R1 and R2.. Should it not actually be at the junction of R2 and D1 (at D1's Anode)? That would possibly explain why your voltages are a bit higher than I would have expected them to be about 0.8v lower than what you show there.

Take for instance a `standard' RED Led of 1.7v forward voltage that means that your 2k (2 x 1k) resistor would drop the other 1.6v.

Using Ohms law: (V=IR) then 1.6/2000 = .0008A or 0.8ma

With 0.8ma flowing in R2 (and R1) your Analog input would be 1000x.0008 or 0.8V higher than the actual drop at the LED..

Take 0.8 off your RED led reading and guess what ... you have 1.74V

I would change your circuit to read at the junction of R2 and D1 instead then you will read the actual forward voltage of the LED.

Now another point, I am not certain but the forward voltage may change slightly (not dramatically) at a higher current draw.

Anyway good Idea, I like it.

Regards,

Mick


Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 07:03am 12 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

> the forward voltage may change slightly
> (not dramatically) at a higher current draw.

Right. I use LEDs to bias amplifiers, and can
adjust the voltage (to some extent)with the
value of the resistor feeding it.
 
bigmik

Guru

Joined: 20/06/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2946
Posted: 04:50pm 12 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Hitsware,

  hitsware said  
Right. I use LEDs to bias amplifiers,


Aren't LEDs a bit `noisy' for use in an amplifier or is that not an issue these days with more modern manufacturing processes?

Regards,

Mick

Mick's uMite Stuff can be found >>> HERE (Kindly hosted by Dontronics) <<<
 
hitsware
Guru

Joined: 23/11/2012
Location: United States
Posts: 535
Posted: 12:47am 13 Aug 2014
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Bypassed with a cap. Plus the advantage of the right choice of voltages.
I use them in class AB output stage where noise is not so critical, but have seen them used in even phono preamp stages.


 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

The Back Shed's forum code is written, and hosted, in Australia.
© JAQ Software 2025