Home
JAQForum Ver 19.10.27
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 15:19 12 Dec 2019 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Latest Windoze 10 upgrade thing....

     Page 1 of 2    
Author Message
Grogster

Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6929
Posted: 10:41pm 25 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Anyone having any issues with the latest major upgrade of Windoze 10?
One of my W10 machines was forced to do this the other day, but it completed fine without errors.

BUT.....

I got called in today, to find out why a rest-home had no internet or PABX - the server room computer had performed the FORCED update to W10 SE, and now the system is stuck in boot/BSOD/reboot cycle forever.  As all the internal network runs from that server, no internal internet connections will work for any of the staff, none of the nurses can issue medications, and no external phone calls work either as the PABX is also routed via the server - which now won't boot cos the major upgrade has broken something.  What bliss......

NONE of this would have happened, if MS gave the user the option of accepting the update or not, but because it is thrust on you weather you want it or not, once that one-hour default time is up, and you HAVEN'T clicked 'wait one-hour' or one of the other delay options, the system just reboots and does the upgrade without you.

This is annoying enough on standard W10, but in W10SE(Server Edition), this is complete insanity, as a good 98% of the time, server computers are left on, but they are NOT attended by a user to be able to delay the forced update - so it just happens without you, and this is now the result.

It is not really my problem to fix, as they have their own I.T. guys, so I am involving them, but I will ask them why they don't use some kind of Linux for the main server - Linux excels in that department, and a Linux-based server will just run 24/7 for as long as it has power, and you just don't get this Windoze crap.  
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 11:25pm 25 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I don't have the memory to perform the upgrade
so I'll need another usb stick ( hopefully just while the upgrade performs )
 
BrianP
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 242
Posted: 12:32am 26 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Guys...

GO HERE

https://www.carifred.com/wau_manager/

Works a treat (at the moment...)

B
 
SimpleSafeName

Regular Member

Joined: 28/07/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Posted: 02:40am 26 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Or Windows 10 in a VM running on Linux. That's what I do.
 
Grogster

Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6929
Posted: 03:21am 26 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I met with the IT guy today, and asked him why the server was not on Linux, and he said: "I wanted to, but it was not my choice."

The company he works for is probably a MS certified partner, and therefore, uses MS software anywhere they can.....I'm sure most of you know the drill there.

As far as I know, he's still trying to fix it, and was talking about having to re-image the OS drive from a backup to get the server running again.

@ BrianP: Thanks!  That looks interesting.  I will check it out.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
Paul_L
Guru

Joined: 03/03/2016
Location: United States
Posts: 548
Posted: 11:55am 27 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You guys should all be watching AskWoody.com.

The factotums there, namely Woody Leonard, Fred Langa, Tracey Capen, Susan Bradley, Brian Livingston, @Kirsty (MVP), and @PKCano probably know more about windows than anyone outside of microsoft. The nursing home server incident which could be life threatening should be posted to the forum there.

Paul in NY
 
BrianP
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 242
Posted: 10:42pm 27 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

If you want even more paranoia you should also be watching Steve Gibson's weekly Security Now podcast on TWIT TV (This Week In Tech).

https://twit.tv/shows/security-now

B
 
Grogster

Guru

Joined: 31/12/2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6929
Posted: 11:02pm 27 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just a little update - they re-imaged the system drive and the server is going again now fine, everything is back to normal.  But I expect that Windoze will promptly want to upgrade that old image again, and.....

I did forward Brian's link to the I.T. guy, and perhaps he will use that to prevent that from happening again.
Smoke makes things work. When the smoke gets out, it stops!
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3136
Posted: 01:15am 28 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Server versions of Windows shouldn't update without warning.
There is usually plenty of time for the system managers to schedule the updates.
They can delay updates for up to 12 months I think. Don't have a need for servers any more so not sure of the precise delay options.

If you manage PC's, Windows or Unix, you try the update on a sacrificial beastfirst  and then roll it out to your babies.

Last week I had to resurrect an old PC that had failed to start.
In this case it was a faulty power supply causing grief as it died.

The owner is happy and was able to retrieve important data which will save them a few thousand $s

Windows for Workgroups is more forgiving in these cases.
I have been nursing that system for 25 years now!

Jim
It all started with the ZX81....
VK7JH
http://www.c-com.com.au/MMedit.htm
 
BrianP
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 242
Posted: 08:42am 28 Oct 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

The problem is: Microsoft doesn't necessarily know what they are doing
I've had a Win2008 server decide reboot after a mediocre update & f*** up the backup in the process. This same server has survived many much more important patch & security update notifications in the past without going ahead & doing it.

Than again, maybe MS does know what they do & just don't care...

B
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 07:10pm 19 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just done ( yet another ) update .
Windows folder is up to over 20 G .

!!!!!!!! RIDICULOUS !!!!!!!!!!!

Drive is 32 G .....
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 527
Posted: 10:17pm 19 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes, the WInSXS sub folder, users have been complaining about this since Vista.

23.8 GB, 196,879 Files, 50,841 Folders on my Win10 64 Windows folder.

As I've got 387 GB free on that boot drive, I just shake my head and move on, it sucks for smaller systems though.

There are all kinds of crap spread about this folder from smoke and mirrors (like it's not really that size) to various ways to attempt to reduces it by forcing a cleanup of dozens of instances of the same file storage pointers and old update package rollback hoarding. Win 10 was supposed to handle this folder more efficiently???
Edited 2019-11-20 08:18 by KeepIS
It's all too hard.
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 04:51am 20 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Yes ......... I think Bill Gates gets a kickback
on every Windows P.C. ( by memory size )
 
BrianP
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 242
Posted: 07:05am 20 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware2 said  Just done ( yet another ) update .
Windows folder is up to over 20 G .

!!!!!!!! RIDICULOUS !!!!!!!!!!!

Drive is 32 G .....


You have tried disk cleanup (select clean system files)?

B
 
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 527
Posted: 08:13am 20 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Could certainly give him some extra GB of space on his small drive, I do this regularly a few days after every major update, unfortunately in my case it didn't do anything much to the elephant in the corner, the WInSXS sub folder.

That 23.8 GB is the Windows folder size with every optimisation suggested by Various Windows forums and having removed all previous install rollback files and old system files from both inside and outside of the Win folder.

Mike.
It's all too hard.
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 268
Posted: 09:53am 20 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I just bricked my Fusion5 W10 tablet.

Downloaded the restore stuff but wasn't able to repair. Reinstalled W10 but it doesn't know about the drivers that the tablet requires. No WiFi, BT, Touch, sound, etc.

Just purchased a new unit and about to try "Double Driver" to grab a copy of the drivers from the new unit and copy to the other.

Windows is a PITA! Never have problems with Android.

Edit: Forgot to mention that the manufacturer "cannot supply drivers".

Great tablet. Bricking was my fault but I just learned about the importance of backing up drivers. Never seen this mentioned before.
Edited 2019-11-20 19:57 by Tinine
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 06:18pm 20 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

> You have tried disk cleanup (select clean system files)?

Yes.
And Then !
Had to plug in temporary USB stick to do the ' upgrade '
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 06:25pm 20 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

> Never have problems with Android.
Yes .........
I've got one of these
And it comes with Android ( though not advertised ),
and it is pretty slick >
 
BrianP
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 242
Posted: 12:58am 21 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware2 said  > You have tried disk cleanup (select clean system files)?

Yes.
And Then !
Had to plug in temporary USB stick to do the ' upgrade '


I can remember that once-upon-a-time I had a Windows version running on a sub gB drive (a long while ago...)

B
 
OA47

Guru

Joined: 11/04/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 644
Posted: 05:42am 21 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  Yes, the WInSXS sub folder, users have been complaining about this since Vista.

23.8 GB, 196,879 Files, 50,841 Folders on my Win10 64 Windows folder.

As I've got 387 GB free on that boot drive, I just shake my head and move on, it sucks for smaller systems though.


On the system I am using at the moment it has a 64GB SSD primary drive and this folder is around 9GB. Is it necessary to have this folder on the primary drive or can I move it to the DATA drive?

OA47
 
     Page 1 of 2    
Print this page
© JAQ Software 2019