Home
JAQForum Ver 19.10.27
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 17:58 11 Dec 2019 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Latest Windoze 10 upgrade thing....

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
KeepIS

Guru

Joined: 13/10/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 527
Posted: 05:53am 21 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You would have to do some searching on that, but it's such an integral part of Windows that I doubt you could do any sort of registry hack to shift it.

Mike.
It's all too hard.
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 268
Posted: 03:12pm 21 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware2 said  > Never have problems with Android.
Yes .........
I've got one of these
And it comes with Android ( though not advertised ),
and it is pretty slick >


That does look slick....I want one  

Where to purchase....direct from Jetway?

Cheers!

Craig
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 04:42pm 21 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Tinine said  
  hitsware2 said  > Never have problems with Android.
Yes .........
I've got one of these
And it comes with Android ( though not advertised ),
and it is pretty slick >


That does look slick....I want one  

Where to purchase....direct from Jetway?

Cheers!

Craig


Look here :

I got mine here :
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 268
Posted: 01:43pm 22 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware2 said  
  Tinine said  
  hitsware2 said  > Never have problems with Android.
Yes .........
I've got one of these
And it comes with Android ( though not advertised ),
and it is pretty slick >


That does look slick....I want one  

Where to purchase....direct from Jetway?

Cheers!

Craig


Look here :

I got mine here :


Heck, shipping pretty much doubles the cost.

I guess these Android TV boxes are being used as standalone PC's...Apparently already rooted as well.
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 04:17pm 22 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Tinine said  ...Apparently already rooted as well.


Yes ....... I've been looking @ those
What do you mean by ' rooted ' ?
Yet Another !
Edited 2019-11-23 02:33 by hitsware2
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 268
Posted: 04:42pm 22 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware2 said  
  Tinine said  ...Apparently already rooted as well.


Yes ....... I've been looking @ those
What do you mean by ' rooted ' ?
Yet Another !



Like when you get, say, a Samsung phone and it comes with a bunch of Samsung (bloatware) apps that are impossible to uninstall.

"Rooting is a process that allows you to attain root access to the Android operating system code (the equivalent term for Apple devices id jailbreaking). It gives you privileges to modify the software code on the device or install other software that the manufacturer wouldn't normally allow you to"

Cheers!

Craig

Edit: I don't know if Android really exploits the cores but it certainly feels like it. I have an octacore tablet that is way snappier than a quadcore of similar spec.
Edited 2019-11-23 02:47 by Tinine
 
Boppa
Guru

Joined: 08/11/2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 807
Posted: 08:55pm 22 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Many places indeed use these as PC's, my optometrists office uses small ones screwed to the mounting plate of LCD monitors as web surfing/ display computers so you can look at their range etc

I use one of these camping sometimes

Runs happily off a 5v usb 'charger' in the cigarette lighter, and is a tenth of the power draw of the laptop, and has a HDMI input I can plug into the reversing camera monitor or my LG 19" monitor- which just happens to run off a 12vdc 4a PSU at home... or a 12vdc  supply from the batteries with a second ciggy lighter socket...
Connects to the interwebs via a wireless link to the dongle or mobile hotspot, has inbuilt movie player etc

 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 02:00am 23 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

How doe's one ascertain if the unit is " rooted "
I see no sign of anything like a terminal on mine .
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 268
Posted: 12:37pm 23 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  hitsware2 said  How doe's one ascertain if the unit is " rooted "
I see no sign of anything like a terminal on mine .


I guess the easiest way would be to attempt to install a "requires root" app from the Play store. There are plenty but I can't think of one right now. Will look when I get off the road.

Cheers,

Craig

Edit: Another way is to see if you have any apps that won't let you uninstall them. The "uninstall" button will be greyed out.
Edited 2019-11-23 22:39 by Tinine
 
hitsware2
Newbie

Joined: 03/08/2019
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 02:35pm 23 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

With my unit if I try to use the play store ,
I get a ' no carrier ' error .
I have installed apps from other sources though .
( null keyboard ) for instance .
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 268
Posted: 03:10pm 23 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I picked this particular model after watching this

Irritating background music alert  
 
Tinine
Senior Member

Joined: 30/03/2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 268
Posted: 03:56pm 23 Nov 2019
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

That problem he has with the physical keyboard selecting "q" when he hits Enter?
Pretty sure that would disappear if he installed "External Keyboard Helper". Works for me and hides the on-screen keyboard altogether.

Cheers,

Craig
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2019