Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 07:24 02 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : CMM2: performance struggles with MMBasic

Page 1 of 2    
abraxas

Posted: 04:59pm 02 Jul 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi everyone and let me preface that I love the CMM2 project and I'm excited to develop software for it so whatever I say below please just take it as a way for me to try and be helpful and not criticize. I do software for a living so I have a full appreciation of how hard it is to make software...

With that said, I'm having real issues trying to get MMBasic to perform without introducing some serious ugliness in my code and even then it only helps so much.

As some of you may have seen I've set out to write a modern, flexible BoulderDash engine for CMM2. So far I've been stuck trying to optimize graphics rendering and while things like BLIT and SPRITE commands are phenomenally fast, the Basic interpreter is not. It's seriously holding back the performance of my rendering loop. I have two version of my rendering sub implemented - one is what I would consider a "cleanroom" implementation that calls other functions, subs etc. Its main part iterates over visible tiles (240 of them since the viewport is 20x12) and figures out which need to be BLIT due to animation, movement or viewport changes.

The BLIT commands are executed in microseconds which is great... but the IF statement that runs in a tight loop takes a whopping 70ms to execute 240 times unoptimized and about 26ms after hand optimizations.