Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Active Topics
Local Time 02:09 20 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Printing to 'lineprinter' ie hard copy

Page 1 of 2    
Herry

Posted: 08:19pm 08 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

While breathlessly waiting for my CMM2 kit, I am now looking (via VB6) at very old 1999 code under BASIC (QB before compiling). Is one of the inconsistencies LPRINT?  What is the MMB version of print to a hard copy?
Senior?!  Whatever it says, I'm a complete and utter beginner...

Sasquatch

Posted: 08:29pm 08 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There is no dedicated printer interface on the CMM2.  You could print to a file or to a device (possibly a printer) on one of the serial ports.

See the manual for:

OPEN fname$ FOR mode AS[#]fnbr
OPEN comspec$ AS [#]fnbr
Print #nbr
CLOSE [#]nbr [,[#]nbr]

Also see the section on "Sequential File Access"
-Carl

Herry

Posted: 08:44pm 08 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Carl. That's a shame. I used BASIC to run an entire service office many years ago (rather than just games) and it would have been good to emulate that. I'll have a try with your suggestion. I imagine the printer will be connected via the console USB  socket, and for ease of programming, the necessary code be encapsulated in a  subroutine (perhaps called LPRINT!)?

Sasquatch

Posted: 08:58pm 08 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Well, NO,  You can't connect a printer to the USB socket.  You would need a printer with a serial port (most of the old line printers had serial and/or centronics parallel)  or you could print to a file on the SD card and then print to hard copy from a PC.