Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 00:31 06 Mar 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Games from the 1970's

Author Message
IanS
Newbie

Joined: 26/07/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Posted: 08:32am 25 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi,

back in the early 1970's before the invention of the micro-computer I owned a Honeywell H-1112 12 bit computer for which I wrote a basic interpreter and converted some of those early text only games for it. Here are two that I have converted for the Colour Maximite. Mastermind is self explanatory and Qubic is a 4x4x4 tic-tac-toe game where you choose your square as layer,row,Coloumn sor 111 is the top left square of the first layer and 444 would be the bottom right hand square of the 4th layer. Here are the download links for those who would like a blast from the past.

www.spencerweb.net/Downloads/MASTMIND.BAS

www.spencerweb.net/Downloads/QUBIC.BAS

Have fun,
Ian
 
IanS
Newbie

Joined: 26/07/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Posted: 09:04am 25 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

links not shown in blue so maybe I should have added the http: etc. Not used to posting on this board so will try it again :-

http://www.spencerweb.net/Downloads/MASTMIND.BAS

http://www.spencerweb.net/Downloads/QUBIC.BAS

if this doesn't work perhaps someone can tell me how to create a working link.

Ian
 
berighteous
Senior Member

Joined: 18/07/2020
Location: United States
Posts: 110
Posted: 09:10am 25 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

You can use the "Add Hyperlink" button to create a link.  It's the icon with the world and a chain link on it 4th from the left in the row of buttons above the message box.
Edited 2020-08-25 19:11 by berighteous
 
IanS
Newbie

Joined: 26/07/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Posted: 09:44am 25 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  berighteous said  You can use the "Add Hyperlink" button to create a link.  It's the icon with the world and a chain link on it 4th from the left in the row of buttons above the message box.


thank you for that and as they say 3rd time lucky :-

Mastermind.bas

Qubic.bas

Mastermind tries to show how clever the computer is at this game and
Qubic can be beaten but it plays a pretty strong game.

Ian
 
capsikin
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 341
Posted: 11:35pm 25 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Just to check is this the Colour Maximite 2 or the older Colour Maximite?
 
IanS
Newbie

Joined: 26/07/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Posted: 07:17am 26 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  capsikin said  Just to check is this the Colour Maximite 2 or the older Colour Maximite?


I orignally modified them for the colour maximite but then added a couple of minor things when I ported them to the Colour Maximite 2 so they run on the two but you would only need to change a couple of statements for them to work on the oroginal colour maximite.

Ian
 
capsikin
Guru

Joined: 30/06/2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 341
Posted: 12:55am 27 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks, I've added a link to this thread on the fruitoftheshed page Example games and other programs for the CMM2
 
IanS
Newbie

Joined: 26/07/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Posted: 08:01am 27 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  capsikin said  Thanks, I've added a link to this thread on the fruitoftheshed page Example games and other programs for the CMM2


That's great I enjoy playing them and I hope others may do too.

Ian
 
thwill

Guru

Joined: 16/09/2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3782
Posted: 09:59pm 28 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Hi Ian,

Qubic.bas line 38:
If j1=1 Then GoTo L2770

But there is no label "L2770" in the code.

Best wishes,

Tom
Game*Mite, CMM2 Welcome Tape, Creaky old text adventures
 
IanS
Newbie

Joined: 26/07/2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Posted: 06:49am 29 Aug 2020
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  thwill said  Hi Ian,

Qubic.bas line 38:
If j1=1 Then GoTo L2770

But there is no label "L2770" in the code.

Best wishes,

Tom


Hi Tom,

yes I know, normally all the values are between 111 and 444 and if you input 0 it will print out the board and 1 was for something else which I think I never implemented. Might have been to suggest a move but as I say I never implemented it on the version for my old Honeywell 112 and so it wasn't ported to the colour maximite and then the colour maximite 2. Though that goto instruction is still in there and could be removed.

Ian
 
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024